Skip to content

Silencing My Inner Scrooge

December 24, 2011

It’s Christmas Eve! I’m sitting in my parents’ sitting room in my pyjamas and a big cardigan, enjoying being in the comfort of home. It’s been a couple of days since I posted. Yesterday I was hanging out with my parents and relaxing. On Thursday I had a post planned out in my head, but the traffic in Leeds city centre foiled my plans. I left work quite early and went to get the bus home, but there was a huge queue of people already waiting. I joined the queue and waited for half an hour, before deciding that I would probably be better off walking home. It’s about 4 miles, so it’s not exactly a trek, but it ate into my blog writing time and I ended up rushing straight out to running club.

I was cursing the late night Christmas shoppers whilst I stomped home and felt completely Scrooge-like. I’ve been a little bit bah-humbug all week, which was probably not helped by the fact that I’ve been home alone all week and I haven’t bothered to decorate the house with anything Christmassy. I have done a few things that have started to get me into the Christmas mood though. On Tuesday night I went out with my running club on a 6 mile tour of the Christmas lights in the town. That basically involved weaving in and out of all the housing estates to find the houses where the owners had made an effort with the outside decorations. It was a social run for all abilities, so we averaged about 10:30 min/miles, but it was a lot of fun to take things easy and to be able to chat to other members.

On Wednesday evening I decided to take matters into my own hands and sat wrapping all my presents whilst watching this film:

From “Meet Me in St. Louis”

“Meet Me in St Louis” was one of my favourite films when I was younger and I used to watch it over and over again. Somehow a few weeks ago I was reminded of it and immediately ordered a copy. I haven’t seen it in about 15 years, but I still remembered the story, the song and even some of the dialogue. It’s not really a Christmas film, but it does have that brilliant Christmas song in it, so I felt a lot more festive afterwards.

On Thursday night, after my walk home, I headed out for my running club’s annual “Sherry Stumble”. Over 50 of us turned up, all dressed up as Santa, which must have been a very strange sight for the local residents. The race was two laps around the town, making 4.5 miles in total. We stopped for sherry after the first lap (I had squash because I was driving) and then we stopped at a local pub about three-quarters of the way round the second lap. I had a small mulled wine to go, served in a Slush Puppy cup with a lid and straw, and then headed out of the pub and up a giant hill. I’ve been up that hill tons of times, but it felt so much easier with a mulled wine in my hand! At the end there was more sherry and a mince pie. After Tuesday’s gentle run I was in the mood to get a bit of speed up, so I managed the course in 41:22 minutes. I was very impressed with that time, especially as I had a couple of pit stops. Afterwards we went to a local social club for pizza and a few drinks. It was such a fun evening and I had a huge smile on my face the whole way round the course, despite the killer hills.

Now I’m back in Chester among my parents’ decorations I feel much more ready for tomorrow.

24Dec11_1

My Mum is slightly obsessed with Santa, so this is what our fireplace looks like:

24Dec11_2

I can count ten. There are more where they came from …

24Dec11_3

As well as a Christmas moose reindeer (I’m pretty sure it’s actually a moose).

24Dec11_4

When I got home yesterday I was greeted by the raw chocolates that I won in Sharon’s giveaway.

24Dec11_5

Not a great photograph, so I’ll show you one of Sharon’s.

image

Source

I also got some heart-shaped chocolates. Sharon made them herself with almonds, brazils, and gojis, with orange essence in the orange segments and vanilla in the hearts. So far I have just tried one heart because they are special and I want to savour them. My Mum and Dad shared an orange segment and it got their seal of approval, even though they usually have more conventional taste in chocolate. Thank you Sharon!

I’m going to do a gentle 4 mile run around the gorgeous country lanes now. Then I’m going to relax and enjoy Christmas eve with my family and some mulled wine!

What’s your favourite film to watch at Christmas?

What have you been doing to put you in the festive mood?

Have a fabulous Christmas Day tomorrow everyone!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2011 10:54 am

    I have so many favorite Christmas movies! 🙂
    Congrats on winning Sharons giveaway! 😀

  2. December 24, 2011 11:26 am

    I must admit to being an inner and outer Scrooge in past years, and I’m a bit of a vicarious celebrator as we never recognise xmas at home. I do love reading all of the blog recaps though – the furthest I go is to wear reindeer antlers for a race 😉

    I would have loved to have seen all 50 of you dressed as Santa – I wish there was a photo!

    Merry xmas for tomorrow 🙂

    xxx

  3. December 24, 2011 11:59 am

    That is a moose for sure! 🙂 I love The Snowman, hands down wins every time for me for the best Christmas film. Home Alone comes second! 🙂
    You are getting speedy with your running. And have a lovely Christmas 🙂

  4. December 24, 2011 12:47 pm

    I love the ideas your running club has! Love that reindeer too 🙂
    Have a lovely and happy Christmas xx

  5. December 24, 2011 12:48 pm

    I love Meet Me in St Louis! What a perfect film to watch to get you in the festive spirit! I watched it with my son for the first time last year and he was singing the songs non stop for about a week 🙂
    So glad the chocolates arrived in time for Christmas. Sorry if they got a bit mushed up… they’re definitely best kept in the fridge.
    I’m still in the middle of preparations for Christmas – I’ve made the nut roast and raw chocs for the tree, I’ve wrapped the presents… but still got quite a lot to do. Better get on with it!
    Have a wonderful break over Christmas and best wishes for a Happy New Year xxx

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    December 24, 2011 1:35 pm

    It’s crazy how much of an influence the decorations & lights can have on our “inner scrooge” haha. I’m glad you’re with your parents for the holiday.

    Merry Christmas, Sarah!

  7. December 25, 2011 1:30 pm

    So glad you’re all cozy at your parent’s house now. Love the Santas! My favorit Christmas movie is actually a cartoon, “Mr. Magoo’s A Christmas Carol.” It has wonderful music and for years was unavailable on video. Now it is. I just love it. Merry Christmas, Sarah!

  8. December 25, 2011 1:38 pm

    I can completely understand you on this… I have had many occasions where I am tempted to be a “scrooge.” but then I realize it’s not worth it at all, and to enjoy the time as much as I possibly can now 🙂
    Enjoy your holiday Sarah!

  9. December 27, 2011 10:01 pm

    Those festive runs sound like a blast! I agree that the Christmas crowds get to me, too, and it’s hard to rise above it and enjoy the festivities sometimes, but I’m glad you feel better about it now!

  10. Errign permalink
    December 27, 2011 11:39 pm

    Happy Holidays! 🙂 I didn’t really celebrate this year and felt okay with that until the day was over and then I was bummed out that I had been a Scrooge!

  11. December 28, 2011 12:13 am

    Aw, I love that Judy Garland song! My grandfather used to love Judy Garland- all of her songs remind me of him 🙂

  12. December 30, 2011 8:45 pm

    Those chocolates looks really lovely! Yum!

Leave a Reply

