Skip to content

New Year, New Fitness Routine

December 31, 2011

Hello – long time, no see! I’ve had a lovely Christmas with my family and I’m now in Lincolnshire with Peter and his family. I’ve been off work, so I’ve been out of routine and blogging hasn’t really happened. I have to admit that I’ve quite enjoyed the break, although I’ve been doing plenty of blog reading and commenting when I’ve had some down-time. I did take some photographs on Christmas Day, but I used my Dad’s camera and then promptly forgot to download them onto my computer. My own camera has a flat battery, so this is a rather wordier post than I would have ordinarily liked.

Healthy living wise I’d give myself 8 out of 10 for exercise. I stuck to the plan that I gave myself for Christmas weekend, including 45 minutes of yoga on Christmas Day and a 6 mile run on Boxing Day. The weather has been so mild for this time of year, so it’s been relatively easy to get outside and run. This week I didn’t have a plan, because I wanted to fit in exercise around activities with Peter. I’ve managed a 30 minute tough speed session, and yesterday we walked to a neighbouring town about 9 miles away, including lots of inclines to work those quads. That’s the longest walk that I’ve done in about a year because of my foot injury, so I was exhausted afterwards. I find that walking tires me out in a completely different way to running. I’m pleased with how well I’ve recovered, although my back is quite sore today, so I think I’ll take a rest day. Tomorrow I hope to see in the New Year with another short run.

Food-wise, I’d give myself 5 out of 10. There is plenty of chocolate and other good food to tempt me at Peter’s house and I have definitely indulged more than usual. If I’m completely honest, I do feel a little bit of guilt, but I’m trying really hard to fight that feeling, because I know that when I go back to work next week it will be easy to slip back into my normal routine and any extra pounds will come off.

Anyway, back to the main point of the post. During the month of December I have been exercising regularly, mainly running, but really I’ve just been keeping things ticking over rather than making any progress. I’ve also really been enjoying yoga lately and having been practicing more at home. I’ve had a niggling shoulder injury for a few months and this month I decided that I needed to actually take some rest and let it heal, so I haven’t done any strength training. I feel that yoga has helped to keep me as strong as possible while I can’t lift weights. I’ve been measuring how well my shoulder is healing by the number of downward-facing dogs I can do in a practice, and I’m pleased that the number has been increasing.

So, there are several things that I want to achieve through my new fitness routine:

  1. Make progress with running;
  2. Let my shoulder heal;
  3. Continue to benefit from and make progress with yoga.

To achieve my first goal, I’ve entered Liverpool Half Marathon on the 18th March and I want to run it in under two hours. I was so close at Peterborough in October – I did that in 2:01:04! It’s been more of a struggle to run in the winter, so I’ve decided to run three times a week instead of four, and to replace one of those sessions with quality cross-training. I haven’t decided what cross-training I will do, I might even do something different each week. The point is that I want to spend 45-60 minutes once a week building my strength and aerobic capacity through an activity other than running.

I will start updating my running page with my weekly training again, but a typical week might look like:

Monday Yoga
Tuesday Running club (coaching)
Wednesday Cross-training
Thursday Running club (long run)
Friday Rest
Saturday Yoga
Sunday Run

 

What are your fitness goals for 2012?

Are you back into a normal eating and fitness routine yet, or are you still in the holiday spirit?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    December 31, 2011 12:39 pm

    That’s so great that you’re incorporating more yoga into your new healthy living plans for 2012. I stick to it probably about once a week, but its something that I would love to make more of a habit of.

    Have a very happy & healthy new year!

  2. December 31, 2011 1:27 pm

    Your routine looks great, I could certainly do with a bit more yoga in my life.
    Just wanted to wish you a fantastic last evening of 2011 and wishes that 2012 be your best year yet xx

  3. December 31, 2011 1:34 pm

    Great new fitness routine! I’m still working on mine.. 🙂

    Have a wonderful 2012!!!

  4. December 31, 2011 7:23 pm

    Nice goals! I aspire to combine yoga with my running.

  5. December 31, 2011 8:45 pm

    Happy new year 🙂
    That weekly plan looks great- I need to get back to doing some yoga as I did start to see an improvement but after my summer holiday I never got back into a routine so only do it sporadically. I never really set goals as such, but I did want to get some faster half marathons (I have booked Brighton and Silverstone) but as I am not running at the moment and not sure how long I will be off it for, I think I may have to put it forward to 2013 and just concentrate on getting back running again!

  6. January 1, 2012 11:27 am

    Your new routine looks great! I’m still working on mine but it will still be focused towards strength training as I love it. Happy New Year! x

  7. January 1, 2012 1:39 pm

    Your new routine looks great! I really need to incorporate more yoga into my life… what a good idea to have as a part of the workout schedule
    Happy New Year 😀

  8. January 1, 2012 4:58 pm

    I’m hoping for a sub 2 hour half marathon as well! You’re so close- you only have a minute to take off. I’m positive you can do it!

  9. January 1, 2012 5:01 pm

    Sounds like you’ve done brilliantly with exercising over the holidays. I even managed a couple of outside runs with the weather being so good too! I’ve just started to get back into my healthy eating routine today, I haven’t felt guilty, just a bit blah! I need to blog my fitness goals I think, I’d really like to run more races, especially 5 and 10k ones!

Leave a Reply

