Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–Nice Weather For Ducks

January 4, 2012

I’m going to talk a bit about the weather today … well, I am British after all and it’s practically a national pastime. After I published yesterday’s post I had to draw on all my motivation and determination to drag myself out the door and off to running club to do the monthly 5k time trail. It was extremely windy and I could hardly open my front door to get out! Unsurprisingly, running club was quieter than usual and the horrid weather had obviously put quite a few people off. There were other crazy people there though, so the time trail was on.

The winter time trail route is up and down an industrial estate road three times, which is uphill one way and downhill the other (duh!) Unfortunately, it was the uphill bit that involved running into a very tough headwind. I quite enjoy the challenge of pushing uphill and into the wind, although my heart was nearly beating out of my chest and I knew it wasn’t doing my time any favours. I ended up finishing in 26:16 minutes, which is way off my PB of 25:00, although I think everyone was much slower than usual. I was inspired to set another little goal to work towards during 2012. I would like to do a 5k in as close to 24 minutes as I can. I’m not really sure what I’m capable of, so it’s not so much a firm goal as something to aspire to.

When I’d finished the time trail was when the fun really began. I waited around at the end for everyone to finish before running the half a mile or so back to the car. It started hailing really hard and the wind was driving it right into my face. I ran back screaming “ouch” every few seconds because it was really painful! My face was bright red when I got back to the car.

Anyway, on to happier things – it’s What I Ate Wednesday today and WIAW has reached it’s 50th birthday! Head over to Peas and Crayons to have a look at all the fabulous food posted by other bloggers and to find out how to join in.

image

Breakfast

4Jan12_8

An apple and banana smoothie made green with some sweetheart cabbage. I’m trying to wean myself off raw spinach because of it’s effect on iron absorption. Ideally I would have used kale, but the supermarket didn’t have any. The cabbage worked out fine though.

Snack

4Jan12_7

Celery and sugarsnap peas with hummus

Lunch

4Jan12_6

A salad of romaine, cucumber, yellow pepper, sweetcorn and mixed quinoa. The different coloured quinoa looked pretty cool, but tasted just like the ordinary stuff (i.e. amazing!). I added a few almonds to this to make it a more substantial lunch.

Pre-run snack

4Jan12_1

Two rice cakes topped with almond butter and one topped with marmite (I went back for another marmite topped one afterwards), plus a pink lady apple.

Dinner

4Jan12_5

A steamy plate of Cauldron Lincolnshire sausages (veggie), a small potato, and broccoli and carrots topped with nutritional yeast.

Dessert

4Jan12_4

Alpro plain soya yoghurt, plus two chocolates from a box of Hotel Chocolat chocolates that I got for Christmas.

4Jan12_3

The square one was a milk chocolate cherry florentine and the other was a milk chocolate bauble with salted caramel pieces (yum yum).

Have you ever ran in extreme weather?

If you could make up a chocolate flavour what would it be?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 6:22 pm

    Big props to you for running in such dire weather…i went on a half hour walk today and could hardly hack it lmao 😀
    My ideal chocolate is the orange cream in a tin of roses…mmmm

  2. January 4, 2012 7:18 pm

    Those Cauldron veggie sausages are great. I love dark chocolate orange and dark choc with cherries…yum!

  3. January 4, 2012 8:39 pm

    It’s blowing a gale up here too – my splits look ridiculous running into the wind vs. with the wind behind me. I’ve run in most conditions I think, although through a full-on blizzard last year was certainly the most ‘interesting.’

    I would have some kind of mocha chocolate for sure – chocolate and coffee are just made to be together.

    xxx

  4. January 4, 2012 9:03 pm

    oh I have that box I got it half price in their sale hehe. Loved the cinammon praline one. My fave chooclate is banoffe and only hotel chocolate do it, its so nice!!! I am a bit of a wimp in extreme weather tend to stick to the gym

  5. January 4, 2012 9:09 pm

    Well done for running, wish I had your motivation!
    I am so sad that I hate quinoa! 😦 I’ve been trying it every few months as I know it’s so good for you and everyone raves about it, but I’ve had to admit defeat, I just can’t stomach it. Great eats as always 🙂

  6. January 4, 2012 9:56 pm

    I do know what you mean about enjoying the challenge of running (or cycling in my case) when it’s really windy but yesterday must have been mental! So much respect to you for doing it 🙂
    When it comes to chocolate, caramel, honeycomb and orange are my favourites… and broccoli with nutritional yeast and ketchup is the best!

  7. January 4, 2012 10:35 pm

    Well done you for running in that (although if I could be running I would have joined in the crazy!)- I got caught in a hail storm once and it was horrible- I just had to stop and cover my face as I was worried it would go in my eyes and do some damage, plus it hurt my skin so much. And earlier this year I got soaked to the bone, I have never been so wet in my life- that was not fun as it took days for my trainers to dry out.
    Ah well, makes us stronger in the end.
    Hmm, chocolate flavours…last year I had some gingerbread “puddles” from hotel chocolat and they were very tasty- rather unusual. So something like that.

  8. January 5, 2012 12:28 am

    Oooh hail! That’s intense! I’ve run in heavy rain before, which I actually quite enjoy as long as it’s not absolutely freezing at the same time.

  9. January 5, 2012 12:53 am

    Yeeshe you are a brave woman Sarah! I do venture out into extreme weather sometimes, but I have to really be willing myself too! I seem to have become an increasingly worse wuss too haha
    I am okay with going out in freezing temps, but if it’s windy, hailing, sleeting… it’s a no no!

  10. January 5, 2012 3:03 am

    I went running in a thunderstorm once but I had to call my sister to come pick me up because I was terrified of getting struck by lightning. I would be pretty miserable running in the wind- it makes it so much harder! And hail?! It doesn’t hail here, so I would probably be too scared to leave the house, haha.

  11. January 5, 2012 8:03 am

    You were so brave running in that wind! Glad we didn’t get any hail up here. I think your time was amazing considering that! I’m a bit of a wuss when it comes to running in extreme weather, I think its cause I know I have the treadmill option if I need it!

Leave a Reply

