Skip to content

A Wonderful Trip Down Memory Lane

January 8, 2012

Hello! I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend. Mine has been brilliant so far, especially yesterday when I met up with some of my best friends in Cambridge for a trip down memory lane and to see off one of them who is going gallivanting around the world with her husband for six months.

We met up at one of our favourite places to eat when we were at university, Dojos. It has smartened up quite a bit since I last ate there many years ago, but the food was just as good, and just as plentiful. It’s primarily a noodle place, but they do do rice based dishes as well. I love soup noodles, so I chose something from that page.

P1070170

This was a Malaysian-inspired dish of chicken, prawns, bean curd, fish cake, pork, vegetables and rice noodles in a prawn broth.

After gorging ourselves on noodles (I ate every bite and loved it!) we walked to Newnham, which is the college where we lived and spent three years of hard work, but great fun. We walked the whole length of the very long corridor, finding our old bedrooms and hangouts.

P1070171

This is the original college building. In my third year I lived in one of the tower rooms – the one on the first floor on the left as you look at it.

P1070180

P1070195

P1070196

It was marvellous to re-live very happy times and I my heart felt so full of great memories.

We spent the afternoon in several pubs chatting and catching up with the latest gossip. In the evening we went to Varsity, a Greek restaurant, for meze. I was hungry and ready for food by then, and boy did the food keep coming!

P1070203

Tzatziki, taramosalata, hummus, feta salad, olives and peppers, plus some pitta bread which I didn’t take a photo of.

P1070204 Breaded prawns and squid with a chilli dip.

P1070205

Pork kebab, spicy sausages and grilled holloumi.

P1070206

And a really tasty moussaka to finish.

I was well and truly stuffed after that, but really happy to have spent a day with some of my favourite people.

Do you ever spend time visiting old haunts and happy memories?

I have to commute to another office next week, so my blogging might be a bit erratic. If I’m not around for a few days, I hope the start of the week treats you well!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    January 8, 2012 3:10 pm

    Those noodles look amazing!
    Awww i bet it was ace seeing everyone from uni again, and such a lovely thing to do with your friend leaving soon 🙂
    Hope the rest of your weekend is just as good.

  2. January 8, 2012 3:41 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time! Catching up with friends is always so much fun! 🙂 Hope your having a nice Sunday!

  3. January 8, 2012 4:32 pm

    That mezze looks gorgeous! I actually haven’t set foot back in my old uni town – Sunderland since I left, not intentionally just never needed to – I should go back for a walk down memory lane!

  4. January 8, 2012 7:27 pm

    My old uni town is my hometown so I go back there all the time. It must have been nice to have a look around and reflect on old memories.

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    January 8, 2012 8:24 pm

    Wow, your college campus is gorgeous compared to mine! So artistic and timeless!

  6. January 8, 2012 8:40 pm

    Sounds like you have had a great day.

  7. January 8, 2012 9:05 pm

    Oh my goodness! Your campus is absolutely gorgeous – beats Hogwarts any day 😉 The grounds are just stunning and it’s no wonder you have fond memories associated with it.

    I tend not to look backwards in terms of my school and University days because they weren’t happy times, not at all…I do like to remember races that have gone well though!

    So happy you had an enjoyable week-end 😀

    xxx

  8. January 8, 2012 11:54 pm

    Wow those buildings and the grounds are gorgeous! What a pretty campus and area 🙂 Looks like you had a fun time, it’s always so nice to visit places that hold a special place for you
    Oh and that last pork dish… oh gawddd,yum!

  9. January 9, 2012 9:57 am

    Wow those photos are so pretty. My campus from uni got sold off, knocked down and turned into houses so that is a shame! But I do love meeting up with my uni friends and chatting about old times!

  10. January 9, 2012 1:37 pm

    Sounds like a great day! Love trips dowm memory lane. I’ve never been to Cambridge, but have always wanted to go.

    xxx

  11. January 9, 2012 6:55 pm

    What a pretty school! So fun to relive old memories and catch up with good friends 🙂 That Greek food looks so delicious!

  12. January 9, 2012 9:05 pm

    I read the first bit as “soap noodles” and thought, interesting…! Sounds like you had a great time, it must have been lovely to go back to your college with the same people – and lovely to have halloumi as well, it’s great!
    Hope this week’s not too stressful 🙂

  13. January 9, 2012 11:13 pm

    I had no idea you went to Cambridge!
    I’ve been to Newnham College heaps of times, we used to go for walks around there, the grounds and buildings are so beautiful 🙂
    All of the food in this post looks so tasty!
    I’m glad you had a great day 🙂

  14. January 10, 2012 10:54 pm

    Oh my goodness that food looks amazing! It sounds like you had a really lovely weekend visiting your old haunts.

    Hope your commute isn’t too horrid this week. The roads seem to have been a nightmare everywhere

    Rosexx

  15. January 11, 2012 4:07 am

    i still live in my uni town so i still see all the places i loved as a student 🙂 it’s great to remember fun times 🙂 that mezze looks so delicious!

  16. Errign permalink
    January 11, 2012 11:10 pm

    What a great memory re-living trip, with some excellent looking eats! 🙂

  17. January 12, 2012 11:53 am

    Happy New Year Sarah! I’ve finally made it back into blogging world!
    Sounds like you had an amazing weekend and it must have been so nice for you and your friends to revisit your old haunts. I love the old beautiful buildings at Cambridge 🙂

Leave a Reply

