Skip to content

Cooking the Books

January 13, 2012

I’m back! I’ve been on a finance course in Sheffield all week (hence the reference to accounting in the title), which has added at least three hours to my working day, so I haven’t had any time to blog. Whatever free time I’ve had in the evenings has mainly been filled with exercise. I decided to prioritise my fitness routine over other things I like to do because I’m conscious that my half marathon is coming up in a couple of months and I really need to get into training. I also needed something to do as a stress reliever after a day of number crunching and navigating the commute. I just feel better when I exercise, so I’m really pleased that I managed to stick to my plan.

My week in fitness looked something like this:

Sunday – 5 mile run. I did a mile warm-up, followed by four sets of intervals. The intervals consisted of half a mile at approx. 08:30-08:45 min/mile and then half a mile easy.

Monday – yoga class I love my yoga class! It was easier than usual to ease us in after Christmas, but it was still a challenge.

Tuesday – hill training (running club) We did just over 4 miles in total, most of which were hills intervals. I was pretty tired afterwards, but what doesn’t kill me will make me stronger!

Wednesday – Level 2, 30 Day Shred This is perhaps my favourite level of the Shred and I love that it’s over quickly!

Thursday – 6 miles (running club) We did the same route as last week, but managed it with a 09:22 min/mile average instead of 10 min/mile. There were some faster runners that I was able to chase, which I think is really beneficial (as long as I’m not too tired).

Today – a well deserved rest day! I’m going window shopping at the local shopping centre later – that’s all the exercise I’m getting.

I’m planning on doing some yoga tomorrow and a 7 mile long run on Sunday. Last time I did a half marathon I trained with the running club, but this time our schedules don’t match and I’ll have to do more long runs on my own. I also might end up only going to the club on Tuesdays and doing my own thing on Thursdays to fit in with my plan.

Moving on to my other favourite thing … food! I missed out on What I Ate Wednesday, but I took the photos, so I thought I may as well share them today. The best thing I had for breakfast this week was a bowl of overnight oats.

13Jan12_1

I soaked oats, goji berries and chia seeds overnight in some oat milk and water. In the morning I zapped them in the microwave for a minute and then stirred in lots of soya yoghurt. I topped it was some apples that I cooked in the microwave. Overnight oats are a bit chilly for this time of year, so warming it through a bit and adding a hot topping balances it out.

I took my lunch for the first three days of my course and they mostly looked like this:

13Jan12_2

Romaine, cucumber, red pepper, sweetcorn, brown rice and hummus. Yesterday and today I succumbed to the deliciousness of Marks and Spencer salads. My bank balance couldn’t have supported that habit for the whole week.

I’ve needed snacks to get me through my course. This one was particularly tasty – oat cakes and mature goats’ cheese with a sliced pink lady apple.

13Jan12_3

One of my goals for the New Year was to be more consistent with my weekly diet. That means less overeating at the weekend and eating more during the week to give my body what it needs. So I’ve been trying to add more sustenance to my evening meals. I amped up my usual omelette by adding some red kidney beans and mature goats’ cheese.

Mexican bean and goats’ cheese omelette

13Jan12_4

Serves 1

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 80g red kidney beans
  • 25g mature goats’ cheese
  • 1/4 green pepper, chopped
  • 4 closed cup mushrooms, chopped
  • cayenne chilli powder to taste
  • oil for frying

I fried the pepper and mushrooms in an omelette pan until they were tender. I then added the beaten eggs, cheese and beans to the pan and cooked the mixture on a gentle heat for about 3 minutes. I then transferred the pan to under the grill and let the top of the omelette cook until set and starting to brown. I served mine with lots of broccoli and carrots.

If you’re short of time what do you prioritise?

Have a great weekend!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 7:21 pm

    You definitely deserve a rest day! That’s quite the week of exercise- good for you 🙂

  2. January 13, 2012 7:38 pm

    Well done on the exercise in spite of the busy schedule! I tend to prioritize exercise as well, but sometimes if I really feel burned out, I just need half an hour to flop on the couch and watch some TV.

  3. January 13, 2012 7:39 pm

    I have to say a very big well done to getting your exercise in while you were so busy, the inclination to plop on the couch and have a chocolate or glass of wine (or both 😉 is so easy. Well done to a great week.

    • January 13, 2012 10:10 pm

      I’ve been having my fair share of chocolate as well as doing the exercise. I have a glass or two of wine lined up for the weekend.

  4. January 13, 2012 7:47 pm

    I’m just like you, I tend to try and prioritise exercise cause I know I’ll feel worse without it! Although you’ve done so well keeping up the runs, they would have exhausted me! I think you could totally justify the M&S salads with you being so busy of course 😉

  5. January 13, 2012 8:23 pm

    mmm kidney beans in an omelette! I’d never have thought of that.
    I’m pretty much always short of time and what I prioritise depends on how I feel that week and what events I have coming up.
    The kids always have to come first, then hubby, then work, then my exercise, then the housework (hence my house is always a pig sty!)

    Rosexx

  6. January 13, 2012 9:48 pm

    That sounds like a great week’s workouts and hope you enjoy a well-deserved rest day and weekend! Your porridge looks delicious; I always make mine the night before and reheat it, it’s almost better than making it fresh, I reckon 🙂

  7. January 13, 2012 10:22 pm

    You have been doing wonderfully with your workouts! Nice job Sarah 🙂 A rest day is quite deserved, and I hope it leaves you feeling fantastic!

  8. January 14, 2012 2:26 am

    Wow sounds like some great workouts, you inspire me with how much you exercise!
    And those overnight oats look delicious 🙂
    You deserve a nice relaxing weekend!

  9. January 14, 2012 3:01 pm

    I’ve never heated my overnight oats, is it better than regular oatmeal?
    I like these workouts, you cover just about everything!

  10. January 14, 2012 4:51 pm

    Well done for keeping up those runs and the exercise. That snack with goats cheese and apple looks lovely.
    I usually try to keep up my exercise as I know I feel better for it- the only times I won’t fit it in would be parents evening days, because they are so long- but I do it on the other days that week as usual. I like to prioritise time with Andy too- even if we sit down to watch a TV show together for an hour in the week it is nice to spend the time chatting and watching.

    • January 15, 2012 1:56 pm

      Yes, sometimes exercise doesn’t come first. I try to prioritise social contact over exercise sometimes otherwise I would become a hermit!

Leave a Reply

