Skip to content

How Weekends Should Be

January 16, 2012

Hello! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend. Mine was pretty much perfect, but more on that in a bit. I just wanted to let you know that I’m playing with a new blogging schedule for the next few weeks. I’m heading into a busy time of year with work, exams, half marathon training and other more fun things. I don’t think it’s realistic for me to try to post every day or rush posts, but I do want to keep the blog alive. So, I’m going to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays – I hope you keep reading!

Anyway, back to my weekend. After a busy week commuting to Sheffield every day last week I was really looking forward to spending the weekend in Leeds pottering about. Peter came up to see me, which has been good as usual, but I’ve also had plenty of time to do the things that I like doing. Saturday morning got off to a lazy start with a lovely lie-in and then I watched Saturday Kitchen for some foodie inspiration. Then I did the 60 minute Yoga For Runners Download, which I’ve done a couple of times before. The download is an audio file, but it also comes with a pdf file showing the sequence of poses, which was really useful to look at the poses that I’ve never done before. Having said that, I think you need to have some yoga experience to do this workout because there’s not a lot of explanation.

This particular yoga session is really tough. It’s quite similar to the ashtanga class that I usually do on a Monday, but the flow is faster and relentless. I’ve definitely improved since I’ve been doing yoga practice at home – my yoga teacher even commented that she thought that I was more flexible than before Christmas. I do have problems with very sweaty palms and feet that slip on my yoga mat though, making downward dogs very awkward. I need to find a really good sticky mat.

After yoga I headed into town to the cinema to watch “The Artist”.

The Artist

I tried selling it to Peter by telling him that it was a black and white silent film. Somehow that didn’t appeal to him, so I went on my own. Call me an introvert (I am), but I love going to the movies on my own. I like experiencing the film without having anyone else’s opinion affecting mine. I’m not sure that makes sense, but I used to go the cinema solo all the time and I really want to get back into the habit, although my bank balance might not be happy.

I really liked the film, although it took me a while to get used to the fact that there’s no spoken dialogue and it took a bit of extra effort to follow the plot (that could just be my slow brain). I loved the story though and thought that the characters were sympathetic and well-developed. It was refreshing to see a movie that’s a bit different. The next film I want to see is “Shame”. I think it’s probably as far removed from “The Artist” you can get (PG rated vs. 18 rated), but I have eclectic tastes.

When I got home Peter and I caught up on last week’s Sherlock. It was The Hound of the Baskervilles and I found it really scary, so I’m glad that I didn’t watch it alone! I can’t wait to watch this week’s episode – it’s such a good series.

This morning I braved the cold to go out on a 7 mile run. It was below zero (less than 30 Fahrenheit) and really frosty. I was a bit worried that it might be icy, so I choose a very flat route along a main road and did a couple of laps. It was fine in the end and the only patches of ice were where people had poured water over their windscreens to deice them (grr – so inconsiderate). I tried to go as steady as possible, but the cold weather did spur me on somewhat, so my average was 09:25 min/mile. I mistakenly didn’t put my contacts in for the run, so when I got home I was blind for 10 minutes while my glasses de-misted.

For lunch I decided to recreate one of Peter’s favourite childhood meals – pasta, peas and tomatoes with cheese sauce. He’s quite particular about how it has to be and I struggle to make cheese sauce on my own, so he helped me out.

16Jan12_1

Pasta, peas and tomatoes with cheese sauce

Serves 4

  • 30g butter (I used goats’ butter)
  • 4 tablespoons plain flour
  • 375ml milk
  • 110g medium goats’ cheese (our version was very cheesy)
  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • garden peas
  • Enough pasta shells for 4
  1. Melt the butter on a gentle heat
  2. Add the flour and stir into the butter until a smooth paste. Cook gently for 2 minutes
  3. Add the milk slowly, stirring the whole time and cook gently until thickened
  4. Add the cheese and beat into the sauce until completely melted and smooth.
  5. Add the sauce to the cooked pasta and peas and then stir in the chopped tomatoes

A healthy recipe? No. Tasty? Oh yes! Just what I needed after that cold run.

Can anyone recommend a really good non-slip yoga mat?

What was your favourite meal as a child? Mine was probably fried egg and chips or chicken kiev. I haven’t recreated any of those recently and I’m not sure that I will!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. parentingalive permalink
    January 16, 2012 6:22 pm

    Oh that looks like a great meal for a toddler that my picky little ones would actually like! Thanks for posting – delicious photo! LOL!

    Bravo on your 7 mile run!

  2. January 16, 2012 7:07 pm

    Of course I’ll keep reading, I think it’s a good idea to make yourself a schedule so that blogging doesn’t get in the way of real life!
    I wasn’t sure about The Artist but certainly sell it, maybe I will go after all 🙂
    That pasta looks delicious! My favourite meal as a child was probably pasta too and I’m still addicted to the stuff!

  3. January 16, 2012 7:49 pm

    Sounds like a perfect weekend! My fave meal as a child was corned beef hot pot, I couldn’t get much different now 😉 I think its good to have a blogging schedule if your busy, I will certainly keep reading!

  4. January 16, 2012 8:27 pm

    Your food photography is so good; I can see just how creamy the pasta dish is and it looks brilliant! Congrats on running in this weather too, I’ve been getting the horses done as quickly as I can because it’s so painfully cold!
    And I’m the same; I can’t post every day and I’d rather not post just for the sake of it… I’ll keep reading 🙂

  5. January 16, 2012 8:54 pm

    Sounds like a perfect weekend after a very busy week!

  6. January 16, 2012 10:35 pm

    Wait…the Sherlock series that is on Netflix watch instantly?? My husband and I have been WAITING for the new ones to come out! So so good.

  7. January 16, 2012 10:42 pm

    man I used to love chicken kiev’s as a kid, I may try and get some veggie ones!!!

  8. January 16, 2012 11:05 pm

    I got a thick warrior mat for christmas and I think it’s sticky, although my yoga workouts aren’t usually very sweaty. But when I’ve done post run stretching on it it’s been great, and also it’s so thick I fell asleep on it once 😀

  9. January 17, 2012 11:15 am

    Sounds like another fantastic weekend! 🙂 We caught up on Sherlock too! The series has been amazing! Sounds like you’ve got a sensible plan worked out re. the blog. I’ve had to cut down on blogging too as I just wasn’t managing to fit everything into my (already) very busy day. I’ll definitely carry on reading your posts 🙂 xx

  10. January 17, 2012 11:21 am

    I need a non slip mat too! Still have not found one!
    I think blogging less is fine- I don’t blog every day, and other blogs I read don’t either- but they pop up in my blogger dashboard thingy when they do post, so I see the new ones.
    If you are busy then it makes sense to have a schedule to follow.

  11. January 17, 2012 1:13 pm

    My non slip mat isn’t bad – I can’t remember the make though! WIll check when I get home.

    As you know my blogging is very sporadic (although I always intend to do it at least every other day!!) so I’m sure that every other day will be just fine.

    The meals I remember most from my childhood are a bit odd. Firstly rice pudding…my mum used to make a HUGE stodgy one and we’d have it for tea instead of having anything savoury. She also used to do boiled bacon with floury potatoes (overdone in the pressure cooker tll they fell apart!) with veg and a white sauce. It was just scrumptious. My third one is my ‘poorly’ meal, which wasn’t really a meal at all…cheesy mashed potato, grilled so the top was crunchy…guaranteed to make me eat if I had even a smidgeon of appetite!

    Rosexx

  12. January 17, 2012 2:07 pm

    I loved the artist, I thought it was absolutely fantastic, and I want the dog who starred in it, so cute! I am also really keen to see Shame this week. I can’t think of anything really specific from my childhood, I guess maybe roast dinners but even then I used to only eat the veggies and potatoes 😛 Probably a lot of cereal too!

  13. January 17, 2012 4:39 pm

    First of all…yummm to that recipe! I have been loving goat cheese lately, and this si something I know I would enjoy 🙂
    You know how I feel with this whole blogging thing, so doing it when you can is essential! Otherwise it will start to feel like a chore

  14. January 18, 2012 1:24 am

    So nice of you to make him a childhood fave! I had a very bland palate and used to eat pasta and butter mostly!

Leave a Reply

