Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–Weekend Eats

January 18, 2012

Happy What I Ate Wednesday everyone! Just in case you’ve been hiding under a rock for the past six months or so, WIAW is a celebration of all things food. If you follow the link below you’ll be directed to Jenn’s blog where you’ll find instructions on how to join in, as well as an opportunity to gawp and paw over lots of yummy blogger food.

WIAWbutton

This week I’ve decided to show you what I ate on Saturday as a change to my usual weekday fare. One of my New Year goals is to work on getting some consistency in my weekly diet. Over the past few years, particularly while I’ve been maintaining my weight loss, I have fallen into the trap of overeating at the weekends and under-eating during the week to make up for it. It’s a vicious circle because I felt deprived by the time Friday evening came around, so indulged in whatever I wanted, and then felt like I had to be extra good Monday-Thursday.

I still believe in the 80/20 rule of eating healthily 80% of the time and having less healthy things when I want to. However, I think that I need to find more balance because I’ve been feeling full and sluggish after the weekend and hungry in the week. So far, things have mostly been going well. When I met up with my friends last week I had a couple of big meals, but I didn’t snack in between and my food the next day was healthy. This week I would say that I hit the balance just right.

Breakfast

18Jan12_1

This was a delicious bowl of bircher muesli with soya yoghurt and a chopped apple mixed in. I made the muesli the night before by soaking some oats, goji berries, almonds and pumpkin seeds in apple juice. It was subtly sweet and so creamy. I am making this again asap!

Snack

On Friday evening I had a bit of a spending spree at the health food shop and picked up these Apple Crings.

18Jan12_2

They were really crispy, but when it comes to apples I like to bite into a nice fresh one.

Lunch

18Jan12_3

I decided to treat myself to lunch out before going to the cinema. This was a toasted wholemeal bagel filled with hummus, falafel and salad. It might not look like much in my dodgy photo, but it was delicious. I’d forgotten just how tasty falafel was, as well as being very filling. The bagel was pretty small, but I was completely satisfied afterwards.

Snack

18Jan12_4

Another health shop buy. I’m not a huge popcorn fan, but I feel like it’s an essential cinema snack … well it’s either that or the pick and mix. I loved the chilli flavour, but I did make the error of rubbing my eyes straight after finishing the pack – ouch, ouch, ouch!

When I got home from the cinema I went halves on a blueberry muffin with my housemate. I haven’t had a muffin in ages and it was yummy.

Dinner

In the evening I made a veggie chilli for me and Peter. There are loads of different ways to make a tasty chilli and to be honest I just winged this recipe by throwing in whatever I could find. It turned out really well, so I will share the recipe.

18Jan12_5

Bean and vegetable chilli

Serves 2

  • 1 tin mixed pulses
  • 1 onion, diced
  • teaspoon chopped garlic
  • 2 small carrots, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 2 teaspoons cocoa powder
  • 100ml red wine
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed chilli

I fried the onion and garlic (I used frozen chopped garlic … what a revelation!) in a little oil until the onion turned translucent. I then added all the other ingredients and cooked on a low heat for an hour. I think chilli is better the longer it’s cooked. I would have let it cool slightly and then reheated it if I’d had more time.

I served my chilli with some mature goats’ cheese and brown rice.

Do you eat differently at the weekend?

Do you struggle to find balance with your diet on a day-by-day basis?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 2:37 pm

    ooh I have never thought to put chocolate in chilli, its one of my staple meals. so good for freezing. I tend to eat different on a sunday will have a different breakfast as usually cook my boyfriend a fry up so will have some paoched eggs and veggie sausages. My routine isn’t relaly chnaged as I tend to work weekends and I guess that you have them off so they feel a little different for you.

  2. January 18, 2012 2:37 pm

    I eat pretty much the same across the weekend as I do in the week. I think cinema muchines are essential. I have a flavour of that popcorn in the back of my cupboard. I think I should dig it out sometime soon.

  3. January 18, 2012 4:06 pm

    Yum I love chilli when it is cold outside. I think I tend to eat more at the weekends because I have more time, but I think I eat probably pretty similarly, just maybe more at the weekends if I go for a long run or something.

  4. January 18, 2012 4:41 pm

    Strangely enough I’ve recently been thinking about how I tend to eat less during the week and more at weekends but to be honest I find that works ok for me as I tend to nibble more on an evening at weekends than I do during the week, but I don’t feel ‘forced’ to eat better during the week it just kind of happens naturally but I can see why you want more balance if you feel more sluggish versus hungry. That chilli looks yummy!

  5. January 18, 2012 6:30 pm

    I am much more snacky on the weekend than I am during the week and tend to not really sit down to a proper lunch. Overall, I eat less at the weekend because I am out and about more!

  6. January 18, 2012 6:50 pm

    I struggle with my eating full stop, but that’s probably because I don’t have a ‘job’ with conventional hours. During the week, most people are occupied and/or in a position whereby it’s not professional to be nibbling on things all the time, but the general tendency to relax and have more access to food and the week-ends means that it’s a common problem for people to have the same imbalances that you’ve identified.

    Love the bircher muesli – something I’ve never tried but looks absolutely delish.

    xxx

  7. Lexi permalink
    January 18, 2012 9:17 pm

    I know what you mean about the weekend – I often overindulge with alcohol and sweet treats with the justification that I will work it all off in the week! The best deterrent has been what you talk about here, taking notice of how it makes me feel afterwards rather than how it is at the time. Your chilli looks yummy, by the way!

  8. January 18, 2012 9:57 pm

    I know what you mean about those apple crisps; they’re nice but I’d rather have a real one! I love that Diva popcorn too but in the eyes?? Ouch 😦
    Happy birthday to your blog too, congratulations!

  9. Errign permalink
    January 18, 2012 10:20 pm

    As far as diet, it can really vary if I’m working or not and how busy I am.

  10. January 19, 2012 1:05 am

    I do find myself letting go more on the weekends, and the more I do it, the easier it becomes! That chili recipe sounds fab 🙂

  11. January 19, 2012 4:38 am

    I try to eat as normally as possible, because I often fall into the same trap of undereating during the week to compensate for overeating on the weekends. It’s actually easier for me to eat healthy on the weekends since I have more time to cook!

  12. January 19, 2012 6:28 am

    Your lunch looks great! I love using bagels in the place of bread!

  13. January 19, 2012 1:15 pm

    mmm, I’m also lusting after your lunch!

    I do eat differently at the weekends because I tend to be out and about with the kids on a Saturday and then recovering from a long run on a Sunday. We like to have a ‘family’ type meal on a Sunday too which we don’t get the opportunity to do during the week.

    Rosexx

  14. January 19, 2012 1:25 pm

    I love bircher muesli! It’s so wonderful to eat, the cafe Eat does a lovely blackberry bircher muesli 🙂 Your lunch looks great, I haven’t had falafel in ages. I definitely eat differently on weekends when I’m at uni because I have more time to cook. I try to balance out my week but my main problem is snacking really!

  15. January 19, 2012 5:29 pm

    Great eats! 🙂 Haha, that Diva popcorn sounds great!

  16. January 20, 2012 1:38 am

    I was just looking for a veggie chili recipe! It looks so good, can’t wait to try it!

  17. January 20, 2012 11:07 am

    Your chilli looks so delicious! Perfect for colder winter nights.
    It’s great to hear that you feel you’re getting a better balance in your weekly eating routine. I used to binge a lot in the evenings at weekends, eating crisps and take aways but in the past couple of years I’ve really gone off high fat junk food. Now, we tend to eat out once at the weekend but choose healthier foods like Thai or Nepalese. Film snacks have been replaced by nuts or some raw dark choc. I feel much better for it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

