Skip to content

A Year of Blogging

January 20, 2012

Thank you for all your birthday wishes to my blog on Tuesday. I’ve enjoyed writing Every Day’s a Picnic because it’s given me to opportunity to do some writing that isn’t stuffy work e-mails, memos and options papers. I also feel very much part of a community and have interacted with some wonderful people. I’ve learned a lot from other bloggers, without whom I probably wouldn’t have started running, putting peanut butter in my porridge, or making smoothies with green stuff in it!

I didn’t do a recap post at New Year, but it seems appropriate to look back at my year now that my blog has turned one. It’s really interesting looking back at my very first posts where I declare that I’ll never be a runner, whereas now I’m training for my second half marathon. I started my blog with lots of encouragement from Peter after I’d been reading other blogs for a few months. I set it up when I was at Peter’s parent’s house and we had a long brain-storming session to try and decide on a name – did anyone else find that the trickiest part of starting a blog?

January

I went to Cuba with my Mum and had a very relaxing time.

image

As well as keeping a little bit active.

image

February

I decided that I wanted to start running, but I was diagnosed with sesamoiditis, as well as IT band syndrome , so I was advised to stay off all impact exercise until I was healing. Sesamoiditis is inflammation in the joint underneath your big toe. In my case the bone was broken – ouch! I was really upset about it, but the upside was that I took up yoga while I was recovering, something that I still vey much enjoy doing now.

March

I debated whether it was ok to have chocolate for breakfast.

image

What was I thinking? I have chocolate in my porridge or smoothies at least twice a week now!

It was the beginning of spring, so I made friends with a very cute lamb.

image

April

I was finally able to get into running properly after getting fitted with some orthotics to correct my “deformed” foot (the podiatrist’s words!). I did the Zest 10k plan from “Running Made Easy”, which was a great place to start. You don’t need any fancy gadgets because it just works on time and effort levels. I made the most of the spring weather to kick start my training.

image

May

I went to Edinburgh with a friend where we ate lots of cake …

image

… and did lots of sightseeing.

image

June

I took part in my first race! I completed the Leeds Run For All 10k in 57:22.

image

July

July was a busy month with yet another exam, but I did manage to fit in my second race. I did the York Run For All 10k in 54:25.

image

I also started the Olympic Gold Challenge where I’m aiming to run 2012km before the start of the London Games in July. I’m doing OK – I’m nearly halfway through now.

August

It was my birthday in August and I went out for a lovely meal with Peter to celebrate.

image

I also joined a running club.

September

Not much happened in September, but I did hang out with these guys.

image

image

October

I went to Buckingham Palace on one of the hottest days of the year.

image

I completed my first half marathon in Peterborough in 2 hours and 1 minute … one pesky minute!

image

And went to the Cotswolds with friends, where I had a wonderful time and over indulged in lots of treats.

image

November

I PRed in the Leeds Abbey Dash 10k in 50:46.

image

December

I went to Rome with my parents and ate delicious Italian food.

image

And saw the sights.

image

It’s been wonderful to look back at all I’ve done this year and I count myself lucky that I’ve had such a good one. Once again, thank you for reading, commenting and generally being awesome Smile

What have been your highlights of the year?

If you’re a blogger, how did you choose your blog name?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 8:29 pm

    My marathons were the highlights of my year…and the Manchester meet-up. Ah, I miss my marathon memories 😦

    I forget how much of a huge arc you’ve had this year in both nutritional outlook (you seem to have become a lot more relaxed but also balanced and happier?) and running (from injury to serious success). A good year indeed!

    Blog names…well, (pull up a chair, you’ll wish you’d never asked this question), my first was called ‘Beyond Bananas’ (and funnily enough there is another blog with this name now!) as a rather blackly humorous reference to my mental health problems and my love of bananas (I was eating 2-3 every day at the time!), my second was ‘Scarecrows in Shadows’ (reference to my as then hidden food demons which were slowly revealed in a series of posts on that blog…how very EMO of me), and my third (first on WordPress, now Blogger) Almost Over Now was named after my favourite/ultimate running song (although it is called ‘Rock Star’ by NERD, Jason Nevins remix, but the line meant a lot to me. At the time, I thought I could cope with anything, pain or troubles, if I told myself it would almost be over. Shame that hasn’t ultimately been the case. Blog names are quite easy for me…they just ‘happen’ in my head, and seem to click in my mind even if they seem naff to other people.

    xxx

  2. Lexi permalink
    January 20, 2012 9:30 pm

    Reading this reminded me how much I enjoyed reading your blog this year! You write so well 🙂

  3. January 20, 2012 10:06 pm

    It’s great to be able to look back at all the highlights like that and congratulations on what you’ve achieved in the last year… hope the next one’s even better! I really like the picture of you in the crowd at the York run 🙂
    It took me forever to come up with my blog name too, believe it or not…!

  4. January 20, 2012 11:38 pm

    I love this recap since I only started reading a few months ago! I agree, picking a name is very difficult. My bf actually picked mine for me and bought the domain without telling me about 7 months before I finally decided to start the blog. Sneaky!

    Happy Friday!

  5. January 21, 2012 11:54 am

    What a lovely recap 🙂 I think my highlights would be holidays and also races- the last .2 miles of the marathon, and the sherwood forest run I did were my fave 2 I think.
    Choosing a blog name was pretty hard- I wanted it to be about running and also baking, and even though I prefer brownies and cookies they sounded a bit weird to me. Plus I was pink cupcake on some internet forums so I was already half way there.

  6. January 21, 2012 2:51 pm

    Happy blog birthday again! So lovely to see your year recapped, looks like you’ve had a great time. Very jealous of your holiday in Cuba!

  7. January 22, 2012 9:34 am

    What a lovely post – you have really progressed over this year 🙂

    My blog name just happened once I had decided on the reason for me to start blogging. Maintaining for me is full of ups and downs and is, indeed, a Rocky Road.

    Here’s to a great 2nd year x

  8. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    January 22, 2012 9:27 pm

    It’s so cool to see how much faster you’ve got in your 10ks, big inspiration right there!
    I really wanted to call my blog “Sarah loves sandwiches” but thought having two S’s together would be weird to type haha, overthinking…
    In the end i think Sweet Potato Sarah was a better fit anyway 😀

  9. January 22, 2012 11:13 pm

    Goodness me I hadn’t realised that you only started running in the last year AND that you’d had an injury in that time too!

    I love reading your blog and your recap is great. I’m also very jealous of your trip to Cuba. I’d love to go there.

    As for blog names, a friend of mine at running club came up with mine and it’s become my running group name too!

    Rosexx

  10. January 23, 2012 3:48 pm

    What a wonderful recap! I’ve been reading your blog for quite a long time now, it must almost be since you started it and I’ve enjoyed every post 🙂
    You’ve had a brilliant year and I really think you deserve a congratulations for the running, I didn’t realise you only took it up at the beginning of last year – your half marathon training is impressive!
    I love this community and I’m glad I *met* you Sarah 🙂 I hope you have another brilliant year of blogging!

  11. January 26, 2012 12:49 pm

    What an amazing year you’ve had! I’m finding that blogging is a great way for me to capture and appreciate all those special moments that we have throughout the year, be them big or small. A lot of the moments I would have forgotten if I’d not blogged about it. Before the blog, I only used to take photographs on holiday. Now I love taking the camera out on local outings. It’s definitely helped me to realise just how much beauty we have on the doorstep and appreciate it more 🙂

Leave a Reply

