Skip to content

Veggie Food For Meat-Eaters

January 23, 2012

Hello again! I hope everyone had an excellent weekend. I’m fresh from my 12th professional exam, so I was revising for a good portion of my weekend, but it wasn’t all bad. On Friday I managed to spend some quality time with my parents. I went shopping in Chester with my Mum in the morning and in the afternoon I went to the cinema with my Dad to see “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” (my Mum thought that it would be too violent for her). I’ve read the book and seen the Swedish film adaptation, so I wasn’t that fussed about seeing it, but my Dad fancied it and there’s been some good reviews, so I went along. I’m glad I did because I really enjoyed it. It was quite a long film, but it kept my attention throughout, which is a good sign! I couldn’t shake off the image of the original Swedish actors, but the actors in this version were very good too.

The other good thing to happen this weekend was my delivery from iHerb arrived. I was lucky enough to win a $25 voucher from Jemma @ Celery and Cupcakes and I couldn’t wait to spend it because I’ve been wanting to order something from iHerb for ages. When I got on the site I was faced with too much choice and spent forever trying to decide what to get. In the end I went for some Kashi cereal, Justin’s maple almond butter which I’ve heard lots of good things about, and some vanilla stevia.

23Jan12_5

23Jan12_6

Plus some Snackimals to make up my allowance.

23Jan12_4

So far I’ve tried some stevia in coffee and porridge and I’m very impressed with the fact that it doesn’t taste artificial at all, unlike other sweeteners. I’ve also tried the snickerdoodle snackimals, mainly because I had no idea what a snickerdoodle is and I was intrigued. I loved them and can’t wait to tuck into the other flavours.

As usual, I’ve been staying with my parents while I’ve been revising because they have a lot more room for me to spread out all my papers, plus it’s nice to have some moral support. My Dad is a good cook and I like going home to eat his food, but my Mum suggested that I also cooked a couple of vegetarian meals for us. I’m not vegetarian or vegan, but I eat meat quite rarely, so eating meat every evening when I go home can be quite over-facing. Plus, it’s a chance for my parents to try something a bit different. I actually went the whole hog and made two vegan meals for us, which (I think) they liked.

Quinoa, coconut and vegetable stew

23Jan12_2

Serves 3

  • 200g quinoa
  • 400g tin of coconut milk
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 chilli, diced
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 1 large courgette, diced
  • 10 closed cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 30g pumpkin and sunflower seeds, plus extra to garnish

I fried the onion and garlic in a little oil until translucent and then added the other vegetables (apart from spinach), chilli, quinoa and coconut milk. I simmered until all the vegetables were cooked, the quinoa had become “squiggly” and the stew was thick. I then added in the spinach and seeds and stirred them in until the spinach wilted. I served with a few more sunflower seeds as a garnish.

On Saturday night I made one of my favourite vegan dishes – African sweet potato and red bean stew.

23Jan12_3

There’s lots of versions of this stew around on various blogs and forums. I used my Dad’s slow cooker and followed this recipe, although I didn’t add any peanuts and I didn’t use cumin. Because I’m such a vegetable fiend I served the already vegetable-packed dish with carrots, cauliflower and leeks.

I also made myself some yummy lunches to lift my spirits while I was revising. This one was a particular success.

23Jan12_1

I made the salad with some mixed leaves, cucumber, sweetcorn and grated carrots with a tablespoon of hummus mixed in. I served it with a wholemeal bagel and more hummus.

Now I’m back in Leeds contemplating an afternoon nap to celebrate the fact that I only have three exams left (as long as I’ve passed the last two that I’ve taken) – see you on Wednesday!

What vegetarian/vegan meal would you serve to someone who usually eats a lot of meat?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 4:13 pm

    Gosh I think I would choose a mixed bean chilli- I think a lot of people like chilli anyway, and so it is not that different from having some meat in there. It is quite hearty and filling, plus lots of flavour from the spices. Plus you can have lots of add ins like guacamole, nice bread, some rice, stuff like that. I love the sound of the coconut with the quinoa- I have never used coconut milk or cream (only Kara stuff not the real milk) but I am liking coconut more and more.

  2. January 23, 2012 6:27 pm

    Chilli or curries do seem to go down well with omnivores, but sometimes I wonder if that sends out the wrong message that veggies need ‘masking’ with lots of spices and/or strong flavours? Then again, I am no cook, so my opinion is pretty much void on the subject!

    I would love to try that coconut quinoa – looks gorgeous!

    xxx

  3. Lexi permalink
    January 23, 2012 7:10 pm

    Another one for veggie chilli, or a nice dahl with naan breads 🙂 Veggie sausage and bean stew with smoked paprika also goes down well with meat eaters normally!

  4. January 23, 2012 7:38 pm

    Glad you had fun shopping the iHerb aisles. I haven’t tried those snack animals yet. They sounds amazing!

  5. January 23, 2012 8:17 pm

    Glad you enjoyed iHerb! I’m terrible for using quorn for James as he’s no fan of beans. For other people I’d definitely go for a curry or a chilli. Hope your feeling good after your exam!

  6. January 23, 2012 8:58 pm

    Hope the exam went well and woop that there’s only three left… hope you had a nice relaxing remainder of the weekend, you deserve it!
    I love cooking vegan/vegetarian food for people who don’t believe it’ll taste good; that bean stew looks so lovely and thick, off to check it out… and I’ve never quite known what a snickerdoodle is either 🙂

  7. Bronagh permalink
    January 23, 2012 11:21 pm

    Your coconut quinoa dish looks so tasty, I think I’ll be copying that recipe very soon indeed 😉 I also rely on lots of beans when I cook veggie meals for my boyfriend and I. He really doesnt seem to miss meat so much if there’s a ton of beans or potatoes involved. Smoked tofu also goes down a treat, I guess because it’s quite ‘meaty’ in a way.

  8. Errign permalink
    January 24, 2012 1:52 am

    I think hearty things like lentil stews or chilis are the most adaptable to meat eaters and also fake meat products in spaghetti or something. I recently made my dad dairy free stuffed shells with tofu ricotta and he enjoyed them, both because they were something different and because they didn’t taste “weird”.

  9. January 24, 2012 3:13 am

    That African dish looks awesome, and reminds me of my study abroad in Ghana…we ate a similar dish all the time and I loved it! Also, congrats on the exams! Keep it goin’, girl!

  10. January 24, 2012 12:56 pm

    If I’m cooking for meat eaters, it tends to be either risotto, vegetable lasagne or mac’n’cheese! Not the healthiest dishes, unfortunately, but they’re crowd pleasers. One of my openminded friends loves quinoa-stuffed peppers, though 🙂

  11. January 24, 2012 8:06 pm

    That stew looks so good! I think it’s great that you were cooking for your family 🙂 I think I’d make some sort of quinoa salad for meat lovers since it’s very hearty and satisfying, and healthy.

  12. January 24, 2012 10:28 pm

    I’ve made a thai green curry with quorn for my veggie friends and served it to my husband and he never even realised! We also eat a fair bit of risotto without any meat in it as I sometimes do extra roast veg just for that purpose.

    Rosex

  13. January 24, 2012 11:20 pm

    I usually make chilli or a curry if I’m cooking for my non-veggie boyfriend! I really liked the girl with the dragon tattoo, I was kind of against seeing it, as I hate it when Hollywood remakes films in English for people who are too lazy to read subtitles, but I thought David Fincher did it justice. I’ve just got back from seeing Shame, which I thought was fantastic.

  14. January 25, 2012 12:43 pm

    Wow I’m jealous of your iHerb order. Now it’s payday I might have to treat myself to some stuff!

    I think a good beany stew or falafel would make a good non meat meal for meat eaters. I’m always experimenting with non meat dishes!

  15. January 26, 2012 12:34 pm

    Gosh you’ve had to sit through a lot of exams! That must be pretty tough, what with working and all. I hope the next one goes really well for you.
    What a great weekend of eats! I hope your parents enjoyed them all. They look amazing! I haven’t made a stew in ages and particularly love the look of your African one.
    I wasn’t sure about seeing the new Girl with a Dragon Tattoo film because I love the Swedish version so much, but the thought of watching Daniel Craig for a couple of hours will be enough to entice me 😉

  16. January 26, 2012 12:37 pm

    Vegan lasagne seems to be becoming my ‘signature’ dish for when we have meat-eating guests to stay. It’s really tasty in it’s own right, and doesn’t need any meat or meat-replacement substance like veggie mince. I make it with roasted veg and tofu & spinach ‘ricotta’. I’ll post the recipe soon. I’m just waiting for my friend to bring me back some frilly lasagne noodles from the USA as they look far prettier in pictures than our flat lasagne sheets 🙂

Leave a Reply

