Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–Sunday Roast

January 25, 2012

Hello! How is it Wednesday again? It seems to come around quicker and quicker every week. Wednesday is of course a good day, because it’s What I Ate Wednesday time!

WIAWbutton

Last week I showed you what I ate on Saturday, this time I thought that I would show you Sunday. I was revising all morning, so the food was a highlight to cheer me up and get me through.

Breakfast

25Jan12_3

I like to vary what I have for breakfast, but I would say that this is my stand-by for when I fancy something quite plain, but very nourishing and comforting. I made this porridge with some oats and wheatgerm that my parents had in their cupboard. I cooked them with some soya milk, sliced bananas and vanilla stevia. I added a good spoonful of cracked linseed after cooking. I love how linseed gives a lovely thick texture to the porridge and adds some fabulous omega 3.

Lunch

I went on a 6 mile run before I had lunch. I felt like I was flying during the first half, but maybe that was because I had very strong winds behind me! When I turned the corner to return home it felt like I was running through treacle. I did some long intervals and overall I averaged 9:09 min/mile. My training runs are definitely getting faster. I was starving when I finished, so I grabbed a small bowl of broth that my Dad had made. I was so hungry that I completely neglected to take a photo.

After showering I had a proper lunch of toasted granary bread with herb goats’ cheese and scrambled eggs.

25Jan12_2

Look how yellow those eggs are. They are proper free-range eggs from my Dad’s workmate. I find supermarket eggs so disappointing now, even the organic varieties are never as rich as this.

Dinner

Sunday at my parent’s house usually means a Sunday roast. I always request lamb when I’m home because it’s probably my favourite roasted meat. I like to keep the trimmings simple with lots of fresh vegetables as usual.

25Jan12_1

This time we had sprouting broccoli, leeks, roasted butternut squash and a roasted potato. I poured some gravy over the meat after I took the photo.

I also look forward to a baked apple when I go home. My Dad still has some left over from the bumper harvest in the autumn. I can never take a decent photo of a baked apple, so I didn’t try this time, but it was stuffed with raisins, dates and ginger, and I served it with some soya yoghurt.

Is there a particular meal that you enjoy eating with your family?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 7:48 pm

    Looks delicious! Food at parents’ homes is always the best. I love my mum’s cheese assortment and they always have yummy leftovers, too!

  2. January 25, 2012 8:59 pm

    leeks! i was wondering what that was in the middle. can’t say i’ve ever had these – should try!

  3. January 25, 2012 9:43 pm

    Banana porridge is always good. I always have flax seed in it too, it makes such a difference!I know people’s toast taste differs but those look like the perfect slices to me 🙂
    Lamb’s my favourite roast too and nothing beats mums’ cooking!

  4. January 26, 2012 1:18 am

    What a lovely and perfect family meal! I had actually had something similar with my mom the night before I returned to school!
    I like to have lobster with my family during the summer 🙂

  5. January 26, 2012 9:03 am

    Everything looks lovely! We always have buffet meals when we eat together as a family, my Mam makes quiches and pies and there’s always hummus and veggie sticks for me!

  6. Bronagh permalink
    January 26, 2012 11:42 am

    Delicious foods! I just *love* how yellow your scrambled eggs are, just goes to show the colour that ‘proper’ free range eggs should be. I wish I knew of someone or some place local that sold eggs like that.

  7. January 26, 2012 11:54 am

    I love oats with bananas, the textures go so well together. Sunday roasts are one of the meals I miss most when I’m away from my family, yours looks delicious! My favourite meals to eat with my family are my dad’s lasagna, roasts and steak and chips 🙂

  8. January 26, 2012 12:30 pm

    Delicious! I love the texture that ground/cracked linseed adds to porridge too! The omega 3 boost is a great bonus too 🙂

  9. January 26, 2012 12:37 pm

    I always forget about adding things like linseeds to porridge but they do give it a lovely texture.
    I had rather different tastes from the rest of my family growing up (they all love meat, fish, and will try new meats and things too) – the thing I loved was when my Dad made pumpkin soup. But if we go around for dinner now I love it because often my Dad and brother will try out new recipes, and it is always fun to see them cooking, plus they always make something fab and veggie for me too. 🙂

  10. January 26, 2012 1:37 pm

    The thought of lamb always reminds me of my Grandmother…she always used to make it with buttered noodles…yum. Even though I don’t eat meat anymore, it still makes me smile to think of that.

  11. January 26, 2012 8:50 pm

    I’ve never even heard of linseed! I could probably stand to eat more omega-3s, so I’ll keep an eye out for it.

  12. January 27, 2012 2:35 pm

    I agree, the eggs at the food stores in the US are disappointing too..
    I love baked apples! Haven’t had one since October and probably won’t have another until end of august at least.

Leave a Reply

