Skip to content

Friday Fitness Update

January 27, 2012

It’s Friday evening, so it’s officially the weekend. I’m doubly happy because I have some exciting plans this weekend, including a visit to the theatre in London. Since my exam on Monday the rest of the weekend has shot past without event. However, I’ve enjoyed the normalcy of going to work, coming home, and then having some time to myself in the evening.

Getting back into a routine has also been good for my fitness routine. I’ve been quite tired this week and could have easily curled up on the sofa instead of doing some exercise, but I can honestly say that I’ve enjoyed every single workout I’ve done.

Sunday – 6 mile run

I did a tempo-style run to work on my race pace for the half marathon in March. Last time I set out too fast, so I’m trying to get a better feel for what the right pace is so that I can finish without dying and run the whole way (I had to walk during the last few miles in Peterborough). I choose a flat route, so that I didn’t have to contend with hills as well. The run looked like this:

  • 1 mile warm-up
  • ½ mile ~8:30 min/mile
  • ½ mile easy
  • Repeat this interval
  • ¾ mile ~8:40 min/mile
  • ¼ mile easy
  • Repeat this interval
  • 1 mile cool-down

Monday – yoga

I was completely done in after my exam, but I forced myself out of the house to my usual 90 minute ashtanga class. There were a few new people, so we went a bit slower, which I was grateful for. It was still a brilliant workout and I’m feeling a lot stronger now after nearly a year of practicing yoga.

Tuesday – hill training

It was cold, wet and miserable, but I soon got warm doing some hill training at running club. We ran to the bottom of a long hill and then sprinted back up a short distance, jogging back down, before repeating over a longer distance. We covered 5 miles in total and I had an amazing runner’s high. I’m the sadistic sort of person that actually likes running up hills (although I have limits!)

Wednesday – Level 1, Jillian Michaels’ Six Week Six Pack

I had some Amazon vouchers, so I picked up this DVD along with “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism”. I’ve done this level of the Six Week Six Pack twice now and I’m very impressed. The idea is to do it five days a week for three weeks, before moving on to level 2. I haven’t got the time or inclination to do it five times a week, so I’m just fitting it in a part of my routine. As a consequence I’m not expecting a six pack to magically appear in six weeks, but I still think it’s a very good core workout.

The workout starts with quite a vigorous warm-up, followed by a 15 minute circuit which is then repeated more quickly. The circuit includes standing ab exercises, mat work and lots of variations of the plank. There are some cardio intervals (burpees, plank jacks and mountain climbers), but it didn’t really get my heart pumping very hard. I did sweat quite a bit though and some of the exercises were very challenging. I’ll let you know how level 2 goes when I get to it.

Thursday – 6 mile easy run

I’m actually taking a set-back week with my mileage by cutting back my mileage by about 20%. I’m doing this to keep my body and mind from getting too tired. I’m really enjoying running at the moment, and I want to keep it that way. So, this 6 miles is my long run for the week and I will probably do another 4 miles on Sunday or Monday.

Friday – Rest

I’m going to be honest. I had planned to do the 60  minute yoga for runners download, but the lure of a disco nap before my busy weekend was too much. My last rest day was over a week ago, so I’m overdue and my body feels like it needs a break. I have another rest day planned for tomorrow, although I’ll be walking around London.

Have you had any good workouts lately?

Do you take setback weeks?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Bronagh permalink
    January 27, 2012 6:28 pm

    Looks like a great workout week to me, I don’t think I’d consider that much of a set back week! I’ve had an easy week workout-wise because I’ve been feeling a bit fluey/coldy but still managed 5 days of at least doing something so I suppose I should be happy enough with that. I’m taking an extra rest day today and trying not to feel too guilty about it, I can always run tomorrow instead when it’s daylight and hopefully a little warmer than this evening.

  2. January 27, 2012 6:45 pm

    That looks like a good week to me 🙂 When I was marathon training I had a set back week every now and then, and when my runs got super long I did one really long one per fortnight, and then the other weekend did a long one, but maybe 2 or 4 miles less if that makes sense, as it was taking more out of me when they got over 14 miles.

  3. January 27, 2012 8:19 pm

    Thats a brilliant week to get back in to things. I’ve missed a few posts so hope the exam went well and you feel positive about the outcome.

  4. January 27, 2012 9:10 pm

    Level 2 of Six Week Six Pack is a lot better than Level 1, particularly in terms of the intervals. It’s a great challenge with a 5kg weight too, if you have one about? Using one of those for either level makes my abs want to scream, although as abs are mostly made in the kitchen my six pack is sadly buried under some wobblyness.

    I think you’ve done fantastically fitting in all of your workouts 😀

    xxx

  5. January 27, 2012 9:29 pm

    That’s an impressive week, much, much more than mine! I’ve been working late/absolutely knackered every night so haven’t done nearly as much as normal… next week I’m making more effort 🙂

  6. January 27, 2012 9:42 pm

    Wow that’s a lot of exercise! I’m impressed that you enjoy hill running 🙂 I certainly do not!

  7. January 28, 2012 1:33 am

    Week done on a great week! You are so brave for running outside in the cold.

  8. January 28, 2012 1:05 pm

    Oh I really miss my Ashtanga class hearing you talk about it, but I’m starting a new yoga class on Monday night so I’m hoping that will be good too! I like to take set back weeks from time to time just to give my body a break and then I feel like I can come back harder afterwards. I’m going to be all about the yoga and strength training soon though!

  9. January 29, 2012 7:14 pm

    Wow you’re always so inspiring with all of the workouts you do Sarah! I’d really love to take up yoga, I might try to find a class sometime soon. And thanks for reviewing the DVD, it sounds really good, I’m sorely tempted! I hope you had a lovely weekend, can’t wait to here about the theatre 🙂

  10. January 29, 2012 11:41 pm

    Nice work! You’ve had a very productive week with exams and exercise and then a great weekend to look forward to as well!

    I love the 30 day shred. I’ve done it all the way through in the past and it certainly gets tougher as it goes on but you do see results. I was doing it in the mornings so that I could do it more often but haven’t done it for ages. I probably should think about doing it again as it definitely made me a lot more toned overall.

    Hope the weekend has been fun!

    Rosex

  11. Errign permalink
    January 30, 2012 4:08 pm

    To be honest, my workouts have been crap lately. I really miss running 😦 haha I’m hoping some of the new classes at school will be fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

