Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–Chilly Business

February 1, 2012
tags: ,

Hello and happy What I Ate Wednesday! I hope everyone in the UK is keeping warm while the weather is so bitter outside. We’re lucky that it’s very dry here in Leeds, so there’s been no snow, ice or frost yet. I nearly bailed out of running club yesterday because of the cold temperatures, but I forced myself to go and I’m very glad that I did! It was a core-conditioning session, which I’ve never done before, but really enjoyed. We started with a 2 mile warm-up, followed by some sprinting drills. We then did a simple circuit of conditioning exercises in the leisure centre car park.

  • 15 tricep dips
  • 7 burpees
  • 16 mountain climbers
  • 15 squats
  • sprint

We did as many circuits as we could in 15 minutes, which was five for me. The advantage of the freezing temperature was that I wasn’t overheating, which made the session more enjoyable. It’s a cliché – I don’t always feel like getting out there and working out, but 98% of the time I’m very glad that I did, and ultimately that’s what motivates me when I consider staying in and watching TV instead.

WIAWbutton

I have to admit that I’ve been particularly bad at regularly taking photos of my food lately, so this week’s WIAW is a bit of a montage of what I’ve been eating over the past couple of weeks.

Breakfast

Breakfast is without a doubt my favourite meal of the day, so I thought that I would show you two of them. I wake up every morning and don’t even consider pressing the snooze button on my alarm clock because I’m too excited about what culinary delights await me.

I bought a huge sweet potato last week, which was too much for one meal. I used a third of it in a stew and then roasted the rest of it. Half of that went into the freezer and then ended up in a delicious sweet potato and apple smoothie.

1Feb12_1

I used the rest in porridge, which turned out really thick, creamy and satisfying.

1Feb12_2

I used nutmeg in both the smoothie and the porridge because I think that it goes perfectly well with sweet potato.

Lunch

This is an example of what I take with me to work most days.

1Feb12_3

I usually eat a salad and an orange for lunch, and then eat the rest as snacks. I was planning to run after work, so I ate the Trek bar mid-afternoon to give me an energy boost.

Dinner

1Feb12_4

I made this omelette after yoga on Monday and served it with some romaine, cucumber and sweetcorn.

  • 2 eggs
  • green pepper
  • mushrooms
  • borlotti beans
  • herb goats cheese

This was so filling that I didn’t fancy anything for dessert, even chocolate!

I’ve realised that with blogging a bit less I’ve not written about a few exciting things. First of all I got a place in the Great North Run! I’m really excited to run in such a big race with a fantastic atmosphere and I’m looking forward to working towards a PR. I also entered Sheffield half marathon just because. Sheffield is notoriously hilly, so I won’t specifically aim for a PR. Instead, I’m going to use it as motivation to keep my mileage up during the spring.

What’s your favourite use for a sweet potato?

What motivates you to workout when you don’t feel like it?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 7:25 pm

    (Touch wood) We’ve had no snow/frost here in Sheffield, either! They’re predicting snow for the weekend across Yorkshire, though, so next week may be a different matter.

    That circuit sounds killer, I love to hate burpees.

  2. February 1, 2012 7:38 pm

    Yey for getting in the GNR! Perhaps we will be able to say hi? I was tempted to get some sweet potatoes this week but opted for butternut squash instead, I’m planning on a smoothie with it in the morning and I’m looking forward to it already!

  3. amosthebordercollie permalink
    February 1, 2012 9:46 pm

    Are dogs allowed on the Great North Run and half marathons, Sarah?
    I’d love to go with you 😀

  4. February 1, 2012 11:31 pm

    Your omelet looks fabulous! What a great combination of items in there and that’s good it kept you full 🙂
    Sweet potatoes in smoothies, as fries, or just plain baked topped with nut butter are all favorites of mine!

  5. February 2, 2012 10:34 am

    Congrats on getting into the GNR that is an amazing accomplishment. I’m need to get some races sorted out for this year.

  6. February 2, 2012 11:03 am

    How exciting about the GNR! I did apply but have not heard so I think the answer must be no. Ah well.
    I love a baked sweet potato- used to love it with cottage/ cream cheese, but after I tried it with almond butter that was the best. Or in soup, it makes such lovely smooth soup.

  7. February 2, 2012 1:49 pm

    Ive never thought of putting sweet potato and apple together – love this combination!

  8. February 2, 2012 7:56 pm

    Your omelette looks incredible, Sarah. I’d eat that every day of the week. Yum. Weather here in New Jersey has been quite above average temperature wise. In the 60’s. Although I hear it’s going to get colder. Maybe our warm weather will travel East to you! Hope so!

  9. February 2, 2012 8:50 pm

    I made your sweet potato and apple smoothie recently and I LOVED it. It’s perfect smoothie weather here and it totally hit the spot!

  10. February 2, 2012 9:34 pm

    Congrats on getting into the GNR! It’ll be such an amazing achievement to complete the run and get one of those cool medals 😉
    I’ve never thought of putting sweet potato into my breakfast bowl. I tend to leave vegetables to the lunches and dinners. I’ll have to give it a try one day and see how it tastes. Probably our favourite way of cooking sweet potato is to make sweet potato chips. We had them tonight with a delicious socca topped with roasted mushrooms, red onions and sweet corn. Another favourite is black bean and sweet potato soup.

  11. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    February 2, 2012 10:10 pm

    Oooh i was in Leeds the other day and it was so cold! I felt like my ears would fall off haha.
    You always make the best looking omelettes, i’ve never thought of putting beans in them before.

Leave a Reply

