Skip to content

That 11 Things Post

February 3, 2012

I’m pretty sure that I’m the last blogger to do the 11 things post and I’ve been tagged by three times now, so I better get to it! I actually love this survey and I think it’s such a fun way to learn more about the people behind the blog. I’ve shared a few random facts about me before, so I’ll try to think of 11 things that you might not already know.

1) I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. At 27, some would argue that I am already a grown-up, but I’m not too sure. When I was younger I wanted to be a pharmacist, but then I realised that I didn’t really like chemistry that much.

2) On a related note, I’ve had a ton of different jobs, mainly as stop gaps between doing other things. I’ve temped a lot, which has involved stapling pieces of paper together for three weeks solid, working at a car mechanics, doing customer service in a call centre (terrible, terrible job), and as an analyst for a marketing company (brilliant job).

3) You’re learning a lot about my career history here … I was a manager for one of the major supermarkets and for a time I was the bakery manager. I don’t bake at home (I really should), but I do know a lot about bread.

4) I enjoy driving and find it useful downtime to empty my mind and sort out in my head all the things that have been bothering me. Maybe I could be a truck driver?

5) I really hate being told off, so as a consequence I’ve always been a goody two shoes. I got over it to a certain extent after a few years of working in customer service, but I would still get upset if a customer was particularly aggressive.

6) When I was at university my college offered free sessions with a poet to help to build confidence with essay writing. It was a really useful, if slightly bizarre experience. Once I was set an essay about whaling in the Arctic, so we studied and wrote poetry about how it felt to be a whale.

7) I think I’ve mentioned my bizarre geography field trips at university before, but I have an endless bank of stories about them. Once we went to Majorca for a week and visited a volcanic beach. We had to write a poem about the landscape and one guy wrote that it looked like a ryvita. I don’t think we took it very seriously!

8) I’m a TV addict, although I don’t get too much time to watch it anymore. I’m also trying to make the effort to switch it off earlier and read in bed instead.

9) I’m a Weight Watchers Gold Member (does anyone else snigger when they hear that?). I don’t go to meetings anymore, but I found them really motivating when I was losing weight. I’ve kept the weight off for three years now, so something must have worked.

10) My parents believed in showing me as much of the country as possible to appreciate the UK. This led to weekend breaks in such delightful locations as Hull. Actually, I think it really helped to ignite my interest in different places which eventually led me to study geography.

11) I have two toys from my childhood that I still have with me. Freddy Teddy, which I got for my first Christmas, and Harry the Pound Puppy, which I got for my sixth birthday. Harry has been through the wash a few times, so he’s a bit faded! When I was younger I used to take them on holiday with me – they even came on holiday to Spain.

I’ll do the other questions quick-fire style because I have three lots to get through!

From Jess @ Almost Over Now

What is a song that never fails to make you cry?

Adele, Someone Like You

Related to that, what’s the most moving moment you can think of in a TV show or film?

Nearly all of Forrest Gump

Favourite girl and/or boy’s name?

Girl – Elizabeth (my middle name), Boy – Edward. Apparently I’m all about the Es.

Favourite character from a work of literature (dramatic, poetic or prose?)

Elizabeth Bennett (see above response)

Which do you prefer: cardio, strength or flexibility (including yoga and pilates)?

Tough one – I’d probably say cardio.

What would you consider to be your greatest achievement in life so far?

Travelling to China on my own and staying with a Chinese family in a town where very few people speak English.

And what’s an achievement, goal or dream that you are currently chasing?

Living in the same place as Peter.

Protein, Carbs or Fats?

Carbs

Favourite musical?

Evita

Do you have any siblings? Do you get along with them? If you’re an only child, do you enjoy that status?

I have three half brothers and a half sister.

Do you have any food phobias?

Tripe, understandably I think.

From Lucy @ Porridge and Parsnips

What is the most memorable thing you have ever done?

This is a really tough one. Perhaps my graduation?

What is your favourite type of baked good?

Scones topped with really nice jam.

What is your favourite city/place in the UK?

Chester, because it’s my home town.

How much exercise do you do a week? Any type that you particularly enjoy?

I exercise 5-6 times a week. I really love yoga and running at the moment.

Did you have any childhood nicknames?

No, but some of my university friends call me Swar because that’s how my name came out in a drunken text once.

How many blogs do you have in your Google Reader?

104, although not all of those bloggers post anymore, so I probably only read about half of them.

What would be your ideal job/occupation?

Dunno (see above)

Do you watch much TV? Favourite programme?

Yes! (see above). At the moment I love watching Glee and Breaking Bad (rather different themes)

What do you eat for breakfast?

Porridge, smoothie or overnight oats.

What was your favourite subject when you were at school? Did you like doing homework??

I was a bit of a swot, so I liked nearly everything. My favourite was geography, least favourite was PE. I didn’t particular enjoy homework, who does?

Now this is an important one…do you like parsnips?

No, sorry Lucy!

From Sophie @ Love Live and Learn

What is your favourite thing to bake?

I don’t bake – I should

Arts or Sciences?

I’m going to cheat and say humanities / social sciences.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would you choose?

I think I want to stay in the UK, but I would prefer it if we had the climate of California!

Favourite quotation?

“What would you do if you saw an endangered animal eating an endangered plant?” my university lecturer circa 2003.

Which famous person would you most like to meet and why?

Richard Armitage, so he would fall madly in love with me and we could run away together (sorry Peter)

Sweet or savoury?

Sweet

Which film do you always turn to and why?

Strictly Ballroom, because it’s funny, romantic and has a happy ending.

Thanks for tagging me – that was fun! I’m not going to tag anyone else, because I think most people have already done it. Instead I’m going to ask three questions that you can answer in the comments.

1) What did you want to be when you grew up? Is that what you do now?

2) What’s the best and the worst job that you’ve had?

3) What was your favourite childhood toy? Do you still have it?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2012 1:52 pm

    Good questions, Sarah. I’m…a lot older than you and I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. I think writer would be the answer. It’s why I love blogging. I write every day now and if I could support myself doing it, that would be great. That won’t happen of course! I didn’t know you were a WW Gold member! We call it Lifetime here and I am as well. Almost 24 years at goal. I love it. It’s a wonderful program and I still attend the meetings weekly. It helps keep me on track. Oh,and I DO like parsnips!

  2. February 3, 2012 2:04 pm

    Yuck, the thought of tripe makes me want to puke! I think when I was younger I wanted to be a journalist or an artist, clearly not what I do now or even what I want to do! My current job is my far my fave job and my worst was probably working for Ted Baker, most of the girls were proper bitchy!

  3. February 3, 2012 4:44 pm

    I’ve never seen or been anywhere near tripe so I think I am lucky in that respect. I suspect the smell would be the worst thing. I wanted to be a vet when I was younger, then a graphic designer, then an author, then an artist. Sadly all of those dreams did not come to fruition. I wouldn’t want to be a vet now anyway because I’d be too sad about having to put animals down.

    My favourite toy was a My Little Pony,white with a red mane, that I named Diamond (it was a freebie from somewhere, I can’t recall where) That wasn’t it’s actual name but it had dice on the flank so it was probably called ‘lucky’ or something similar 😉 Anyway, it fell down the back of a cupboard somehow and ended up with this huge scuff mark on it, which upset me so much when I was little, and still annoys me to this day! The mark wouldn’t come off either because it was white. Clearly scarred my for life 😛

    Worst job? Kid’s ‘petting’ farm – had to watch stupid toddlers treating the animals like toys and then found out that the chicks/piglets etc. were sold for meat once they weren’t ‘cute’ any more. Never left a job so quickly.

    xxx

  4. February 3, 2012 4:51 pm

    Fun questions again- I don’t like parsnips either! It is more of a fear actually- I feel my throat closing up when I think about them!
    When I was little I wanted to be many things- a zoo keeper, a hair dresser, a marine biologist (well I thought all you would do was go out in boats and watch dolphins all day), a teacher, a speech therapist, a baker- the list goes on! As I am a teacher now I have managed it!
    Best job- teaching. It has it’s hard points, but ultimately very rewarding. Worst job- working for BHS in their “restaurant”- I hated it so much and after 2 weeks was left in charge of the kitchen, cooking, the sight of the black puddings was so awful, and the industrial washing up thing was horrible, all the staff were horrible- I left after about 4 weeks!
    My fave toys are my koala bear which my Grandad gave me when I was born- it is a cuddly toy and you can wind it up and it plays a song, plus another teddy which I won at my Dad’s school Fayre.

  5. February 3, 2012 6:14 pm

    Ok, here we go – –

    1. A vet – an ambition I didn’t fulfil – I think I decided to save all the brainy genes for passing on to Peter and his brothers 😉 (ok, so I just wasn’t clever enough to get all A grades 😦 )

    2. Best job – difficult, this one – when it was going well, teaching in a primary school – very fulfilling. I also enjoyed my paper round (in good weather) and working on a plant nursery (when it wasn’t too hot.)
    Teaching (when it wasn’t going well) was my worst nightmare 😦
    My worst job, though, had to be cleaning and drawing slaughtered chickens – I wonder if the lasting images of that place contributed to my becoming a vegetarian – – –

    3. Do you know, I really can’t think! Mum was always having a tidy-up of the toy box, so things would disappear without a trace or explanation, but I think the one I was most excited about receiving as a gift was probably my toy typewriter. I can’t type to save my life to this day!
    I do still have Teddy by my bed – he’s 55 years old :$

  6. February 3, 2012 9:06 pm

    That’s so cool that you travelled to China on your own and stayed with a family. That takes a lot of guts to do that!
    I wanted to be so many different things when I was growing up but the common theme was teaching … dance teacher, school teacher, lecturer. I’ve had a try at all of them. I don’t even think about what I want to be ‘when I grow up’ now as the thought of being stuck doing the same thing of the rest of my life would be far too depressing. Instead, I like to try new things and switch jobs every 3 – 5 years to keep life interesting. I’m now on sabbatical from running my own research consultancy (my best job ever) and I’m in a ‘writing cook book & teaching kids meditation phase’ 🙂
    I was going to say that my worst job ever was working in promotions, delivering free samples of Tampax door to door (during one Uni summer break), but actually that was way more fun that the temping jobs I’ve done where I’ve been stuck in an office all day. I hate offices and their artificial lighting and recycled air. It totally does my head in!
    Favourite childhood toy – a My Little Pony… and yep I’ve still got it 🙂
    Sorry for such a ridiculously long comment!
    Have a great weekend! xx

  7. February 3, 2012 10:04 pm

    I do love reading these, I feel like I’ve learnt so much more about you in this post Sarah 🙂 I was a goody two shoes at school too, I was only told off properly about twice! 😛 Elizabeth Bennett is a fabulous character, I’m a huge Pride and Prejudice fan (the book especially although the film is definitely up there). I loved your favourite quote! I love it when lecturers are engaging like that, you must have had some good ones! Have a fantastic weekend 🙂

  8. February 3, 2012 11:23 pm

    Fun getting to know you better!

  9. February 4, 2012 2:21 pm

    I like these posts; I like the poetry bits and that your parents took you round the country; I’ve hardly seen any of it!
    I didn’t know what I wanted to do till about five years ago and was worried a bit that I’d left it too late but my boss said in some ways it was better having had other jobs, as you get more “life experience”…and remember the Baz Luhrmann quote “Some of the most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to be – some of the most interesting 40-year-olds I know still don’t” 🙂
    I’ve still got my dog and seal from my very early childhood called Woof Woof and Seal, clearly I was an unimaginative child!

  10. February 4, 2012 4:23 pm

    Fun post!
    Best job: working at a pet store when I was in high school haha.
    Worst Job: UBS – my commute was a nightmare!!

  11. February 5, 2012 12:58 am

    It’s great getting to know people better… and I am glad you took the time to fill this out! Duchess my stuffed animal horse is my favorite childhood toy and I still have her 🙂

  12. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    February 5, 2012 9:32 pm

    It makes me feel a lot better that you still don’t know what you want to be when you grow up (and 27 is definitely not grown up!), because i have no clue. I also don’t like parsnips, it’s one of the only vegetables that i don’t.
    The best jobs i’ve ever had were either as a care assistant or on the checkouts at Waitrose, and i’m sure the worst will be driving a van!

  13. February 6, 2012 4:08 am

    That bakery management job sounds like a dream! Also, I have a half brother and half sister, too, and no full siblings 🙂

  14. February 6, 2012 1:35 pm

    Lol at holidays in Hull! However, I do like that your folks took you all over the UK. That’s what I call a ‘proper’ childhood!

    1) What did you want to be when you grew up? Is that what you do now?
    I wanted to be a teacher, I even got a place at Uni but then I flunked one of my A levels, retook it and flunked it again (economics – what a pile of poop!!). Obviously I don’t do that now but if I had any sort of degree I’d probably have retrained in it by now. Several of my best friends are teachers so I must be a ‘teachery’ type!

    2) What’s the best and the worst job that you’ve had?
    My best job was my previous role as an IT Helpdesk Manager/Consultant. I loved being able to sort people’s problems out and had some great customers who were really lovely to work with. My worst job was in a sausage and pie factory when I was a student. I ended up in the sausage room and it traumatised me for life (not to mention left me with RSI). That was one place where I NEVER took advantage of the staff discount!

    3) What was your favourite childhood toy? Do you still have it?
    My favourite childhood toys were two teddies called Sugar Ted and Uncle Paul. I still have both of them but you can’t touch Uncle Paul as all his fur disintegrates into dust when you do!

    This is a great post. I think you should get tagged again so we can learn 11 more things about you!!!!

  15. February 6, 2012 1:52 pm

    I love reading these posts! When I was growing up I wanted to be a lawyer, funny how things change.

Leave a Reply

