Skip to content

Snow Day From Life

February 6, 2012

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a good weekend and aren’t snowed in if you’re in the UK. I was down in Cambridge for the weekend and I would say that it was the perfect mix of exercise, good food, fun and laziness.

I knew that heavy snow was forecast on Saturday evening, so I decided to get up as soon as was reasonable on Saturday morning and complete my planned 9 mile run. It’s 6 weeks until Liverpool half marathon, so I’m trying to get serious about increasing the length of my long runs. I’ve been hovering around the 7/8 mile mark for a while and I want my longest training run to be 12 miles. It was bitterly, bitterly cold when I set off, probably around minus 8 degrees. I have an amazing pair of wind-proof gloves, but even though I was wearing them, my hands were very painful. I kept them moving and eventually they warmed up and the run actually felt very comfortable. Apart from the freezing temperatures, the weather was glorious with not a cloud in the sky.

I’m actually a fan of running in the cold because I find it much more comfortable than the heat. Also, Cambridge is pancake flat, so I felt like I was flying. I completed the run with an average of 9:20 min/miles even though I was making an effort to go steadily. I hope that I can keep up a pace like that even when the weather starts to get warmer and I get sweatier.

We had a birthday party to go to on Saturday evening, so I took a disco nap in the afternoon. I love naps and I used to take them daily. Unfortunately I don’t really have time for naps anymore, but I would take one at my desk at work if I could get away with it. When I was in China all the students would nap after lunch for an hour – I think we should instate that policy in the UK.

We headed out to the party just as it started snowing, and there was already a covering when we arrived 15 minutes later. It was a party to celebrate a special birthday of one of Peter’s colleagues. It was a four-course meal held at one of the colleges and I am tempted to say that it was the meal of my life!

Here’s the menu:

6Feb12_1

And the wine that was served with each course:

6Feb12_2

I could definitely get used to eating like this, although my waistline might start expanding rapidly. I particularly loved having the wine matched to each course and they were all delicious. Although every dish was scrumptious, the winner for me was the pasta starter. It was small and delicate, but was like a party in my mouth. The crème brulee was fantastic too – very rich and creamy, but a small enough portion so not to be over-powering.

We were the last ones to leave because we were chatting and didn’t have far to travel home. When we left the snow was up to my calves and I was dreading walking home in bare legs and little flat shoes. Luckily we managed to share a taxi home, so I only had to navigate from the taxi to the front door.

On Sunday I woke up fairly early, but forced myself to stay in bed for a while to help to avoid a hangover. We took a snow day from life for the rest of the day, mainly watching ancient episodes of The Simpsons. I left Cambridge earlier than normal because my car was well and truly covered in snow and I wanted to take it slowly on the drive home. The roads were really clear and other drivers had obviously avoided going out because I got back in double-quick time. Now I feel rested and ready for the week ahead!

Can you think of a meal that you’ve had that really stands out?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    February 6, 2012 5:11 pm

    Sounds like the perfect weekend 😀
    I would definitely get behind some sort of campaign to instigate compulsory power naps – especially on Mondays!

  2. February 6, 2012 5:42 pm

    What a cozy and fun weekend! I agree, I love small rich portions of food because it’s just the right amount to get the flavor without feeling too stuffed.

  3. February 6, 2012 6:42 pm

    Sounds like such a lovely weekend! The menu at the college sounds fantastic…yum!

  4. February 6, 2012 8:52 pm

    Woah… I am veryyyyy impressed that you went out in those temperatures! Oh my word that is COLD! and i thought I was being all brave and stuff by going out in 15 degrees or so. Ha you win! So awesome that you completed the miles and then had a great rest of your weekend as well 🙂

  5. February 6, 2012 9:10 pm

    That sounds like a perfect weekend – much respect for you going out running on Saturday morning, it was freezing!
    the dinner sounds brilliant too; I think one of my best that springs to mind was my birthday last year – sea bass in a delicious sauce for main and then the most amazing home-made honeycomb ice cream… the thought still makes me drool 🙂

  6. February 6, 2012 10:07 pm

    The snow missed us!!! I know what you mean about cold hands, mine freeze up. what gloves do you have? ive got the nike thermal ones which are okay. I think one of my most meroable meals has been at yo sush I just love fresh sushi from the conveyor belt.

  7. February 7, 2012 8:31 am

    That sounds lovely- and well done on your speedy run. You have lots of time to get up to 12 miles before your half.

  8. February 7, 2012 6:40 pm

    Awesome weekend! I agree I like running in the cold too, although I think it reaches a certain point (mainly when it is windy as well) where it is just too cold to bear! Good job getting out there, and you’ve got plenty of time before your half to get lots of training in 🙂

Leave a Reply

