Skip to content

WIAW–Hydrated!

February 8, 2012

It’s Wednesday, which means it’s What I Ate Wednesday time! This month Jenn is bringing a “Love Your Veggies” theme to WIAW. I love my veggies 365 (366 this year) days a year, so you won’t notice much difference in my eats. I also thought it would be interesting to track how much I drink in a day for a change as well.

image

Morning

8Feb12_1

Last week I treated myself to a visit to Waitrose, which made me very happy, even if my wallet didn’t like it too much! It also meant that I was finally able to get hold of the Dorset Cereals Gingerbread Porridge that everyone has been raving about. I made mine in the microwave with a few more oats and soya milk. I then added some soya yoghurt, muesli and a pink lady apple. I thought the flavour was very subtle (probably due to the extras that I added), so maybe next time I will sprinkle a little extra ginger powder on top.

Snacks – another pink lady apple and Bear Cocoa Cherry Granola.

Drinks:

  • Large mug of lukewarm water first thing
  • Large glass on Citrus Nuun after yoga
  • Large mug of rooibos chai
  • 2 x large mugs of hot water

Afternoon

8Feb12_2

Lunch was a standard salad of chinese leaves, cucumber, green and yellow peppers, sweetcorn, garlic stuffed olives, brown rice, and lemon & coriander hummus. I also ate an orange afterwards.

Snacks – clementine, small handful almonds and raisins.

Drinks:

  • Large mug of white tea
  • Large mug of hot water
  • Large glass of water

Evening

8Feb12_3

This is perhaps the nicest meal I’ve made for a while. I based it on the special I had the last time I went to Rainbow Café in Cambridge.

Mediterranean vegetable and goats’ cheese stew

Serves 1

  • 1 carrot, sliced
  • 1/2 small sweet potato, chunked
  • 1/2 courgette, sliced
  • 1/2 leek, sliced
  • 5 closed cup mushrooms, halved
  • 60g borlotti beans
  • 6 pitted black olives
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 20g herb goats’ cheese
  • oregano
  • salt & pepper to season

This is just an easy one pot meal, so I just put all of the ingredients (apart from the cheese) in a pan and let it simmer for about 45 mins. To serve I crumbled the goats’ cheese on top.

Snacks – blueberries, soya yoghurt & muesli

Drinks:

  • Large mug rooibos tea
  • Hot chocolate

I admit that I have an ulterior motive for tracking how much I’m drinking. I have a problem where about 80% of the time, when I stand up I get a “head-rush”. By that I mean I feel a little dizzy and I usually black-out for a couple of seconds, then I’m back to normal again. I don’t normally feel like I’m going to pass-out, although I did pass-out once when I was hung-over (I’m calling that self-inflicted!). I’ve been to see the doctor about it a couple of times and I’ve been diagnosed with postural hypotension, which for me means that my blood pressure is normal when I’m sitting, but drops considerably when I stand. The first time I went I was also diagnosed with iron-deficiency anaemia, which was sorted out with supplements. The head-rushes have continued even though my iron and blood count is now normal (I got re-tested again a couple of weeks ago). So, there is no obvious cause and it’s just something that I have to live with.

One thing that can make it worse is dehydration (probably why I passed out the morning after one too many cocktails), so I’m trying to make double sure that I’m drinking enough. I also sweat quite a lot when I work out, so I’m working on replacing electrolytes as well as fluid. Apart from that, I’m learning not to leap out of my chair and instead get up sedately.

How much fluid do you drink in a day, do you think it’s enough?

Have you had issues with low blood pressure? If so, do you have any self-help tips that I could try?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 8:05 pm

    Hmm my first suggestion would definitely be to drink more fluids, second to make sure you’re fueling enough. I used to have that problem when I lived in the south during the summer.Hope you figure it out soon, Sarah!

  2. February 8, 2012 8:38 pm

    Salt helps low blood pressure, as does adding more protein in yoru diet. I had that problem too. I drink way too much water in a day (25-30 “cups”), but I feel like I need it.

    • February 8, 2012 8:41 pm

      Thanks for the tips. I don’t like salt that much, but I’ve been trying to add in more. I’ve not heard that about protein, so I’ll give it a try.

  3. February 8, 2012 9:00 pm

    I’ve heard increasing caffeine can help… maybe more tea instead of water so you get the liquid benefit as well?
    I drink litres and litres of tea, coffee and no-sugar lemon squash every day; not the healthiest fluids but at least I’m hydrated 🙂

  4. February 8, 2012 9:06 pm

    I’ve been quite bad with drinking, been busy and forgetting to take my water bottle with me so probably getting under a litre. making a consoiucs effort to drink more. love the look of the stew goats cheese really has to be the nicest cheese ever.

  5. Errign permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:21 pm

    I have low bp issues on flights. It’s something to do with my heart and head not interacting well together in the altitude that causes me to pass out. My doctor recommended increase fluids and salt intake and also to move around before standing (like clasping my hands together and tugging them against each other).

  6. February 8, 2012 11:22 pm

    Your dinner left me salvating! How yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  7. February 9, 2012 10:13 am

    I do drink a lot of tea and water by itself is rather lacking in these cold temperatures that we have been experiencing, but I’m trying. Your dinner looks so good!

  8. February 9, 2012 10:49 am

    I love Waitrose but, like you, see it as a treat rather than a place to do my weekly shop. Oh if only I was rich!
    It’s interesting that you mention the standing up/head rush issue. My hubbie has been experiencing this for a number of years. He actually went to the doctor about it (the only time I remember him going to the doctors so it must be bad!) but she basically laughed at him and told him he was worrying over nothing. She rang him later to apologise for the tone she’d taken with him!
    He’s still suffering from the dizzy spells when he stands up but the doctor experience has put him off from ever going back. At the dentist in December, he passed out after having an injection and the dentist mentioned that he could have low BP. The postural hypotension condition sounds a real possibility. I’m going to encourage him to go and get his BP checked out. Thanks so much for mentioning this condition. It will be interesting to hear whether hydrating more relieves your symptoms.

  9. February 9, 2012 11:32 am

    I love shopping at Waitrose, there’s always such lovely food, but it is rather expensive!

    I wish I could help with your low blood pressure problem but I know nothing on the topic, I hope you manage to sort it out! And I drink quite a lot but most days it’s mainly just water, I only have juice when I’m back home really as it’s quite pricey (I don’t like squash).

    Your dinner looks delicious, I love the rainbow cafe 🙂

  10. February 9, 2012 12:01 pm

    That dinner looks amazing- exactly the type of meal that I love- all mixed together and then with the goats cheese on top… yum.
    I generally drink a lot- I take a refillable bottle of water to work (750ml) and I often fill it up or top it up at lunch time. I also have lots of herbal tea, and glasses of water with every meal. I noticed that I don’t drink as much on Sundays (when we visit Andy’s parents) so I try to make sure I do, otherwise I felt worse on Mondays.

  11. February 9, 2012 4:32 pm

    I have a hard time forcing myself to drink too much. That being said, I still try and fill up my nalgene bottle twice every day (32 oz).
    I love anything with goat cheese!

  12. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    February 9, 2012 6:21 pm

    I’m so rubbish at drinking enough water, i can often go until dinner time without having any and then need about 4 glasses with my meal and will drink loads in the evening….probably not very good!
    That stew looks really tasty btw 🙂

  13. February 10, 2012 10:11 am

    Sorry about the postural hypotension. Drinking plenty of fluids is defo good- that’s what I encourage my patients to do as it brings up the blood pressure. I have suffered from PH in the past and for me it was partly because I wasn’t getting enough calories in. Once I started eating more it improved (I think it may be something to do with blood sugar levels also)… xxx

Leave a Reply

