Skip to content

Entertaining Sarah

February 13, 2012

They say that talking about yourself in the third person is a sign of madness … I’ve been home alone all weekend, so it is possible that I’ve started to go crazy. Actually, every now and then I like having a stretch of time where I can be completely self-indulgent and do the things that I like to do, and that’s what I’ve done over the past two days. Although I have had a lot of time to relax I also feel like I have accomplished a couple of things.

For a start, I finished reading “The Shining” yesterday. I asked Jess to recommend a Stephen King novel for me to read because I know that she’s a big fan. I had my reservations about reading it while I’ve been in the house alone, but surprisingly I’ve slept fine. I didn’t even have to resort to putting it in the freezer (that will mean something to “Friends” fans).

Joey puts The Shining in the freezer

I’ve always avoided horror books (and films for that matter) because I’m usually a huge scaredy-cat, but I loved The Shining and I couldn’t put it down. I’m actually on a roll with reading at the moment. I go through stages of whipping through books, and then I can go months where the most taxing thing I read is a copy of Hello in the dentist’s waiting room. I’ve recently joined Goodreads, which I love so far. It’s a social networking site for book lovers where you can rate books that you’ve read, get recommendations and see the books that your friends have read. Follow this link if you want to be my friend (I feel very needy now … but please be my friend!). When I was listing the books that I’ve read I realised that I’ve read six already this year, which is very good going for me.

I’ve also been entertaining myself in the kitchen. I think that I will share all of yesterday’s eats in this week’s What I Ate Wednesday, but I did have some yummy food on Saturday as well. I had an extremely satisfying lunch of wholewheat toast, baked beans, an egg with ketchup, and some salad.

13Feb12_1

Those are some of my home-sprouted beans and seeds. I always feel ridiculously proud of myself when I manage to grow some sprouts, but I’ve got no right because it’s so darn easy. This was a sprouting mix that I bought at the health food shop, so I’m not exactly sure what’s in it, but I think that the chickpeas are probably my favourite.

On Saturday night I decided to treat myself to a proper meal. I wanted something healthy and filling to fuel me for the 10 miles I had planned for Sunday morning. The lentil and vegetable curry I made fit the bill!

Lentil & vegetable curry

13Feb12_2

Serves 1 (hungry person)

  • 100g butternut squash, diced
  • ~10 small cauliflower florets
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 70g red lentils
  • 15g raisins
  • tin of chopped tomatoes
  • handful of spinach
  • teaspoon chopped garlic
  • spices – coriander, turmeric, chilli, salt

If you’ve been reading for a while you’ll have realised that all my recipes are basically the same – put everything in a pan, simmer for a while until cooked and then eat. It was pretty much the same for this curry, except I added the spinach and salt at the end. Apparently salt can affect how well lentils can absorb water, so it’s always best to add it at the end of cooking.

This recipe served one Sarah, but if you served it with some rice or a naan it would easily serve two. I was quite stuffed after finishing it all of! I had mine with one of my favourite alcoholic drinks – Aspall’s cider.

13Feb12_3

I love all of Aspall’s ciders, but this one was pink because of the blackberry flavouring, so I thought that it was appropriate with Valentine’s Day coming up.

I have to admit that motivating myself to exercise over the weekend was tougher than usual, but I’ve been really glad that I got on and did it because I enjoyed both workouts. On Saturday I tried Jillian Michaels’ “Banish Fat Boost Metabolism” for the first time. I was expecting something similar to “The 30 Day Shred”, but I was surprised that it was all cardio. I wasn’t complaining because I love cardio and there were a few resistance moves thrown in. The DVD was made up of six sets of circuits that were all moderately tough and definitely got me sweating. There was a lot of jumping and squatting, so I was quite sore on Sunday morning, especially around my hamstrings and backside.

Sunday morning was time for my long run. I’m not really following a plan for the half marathon I have coming up next month, but I’m on track with the kind of plan that I have in my head. I wanted to do 10 miles, but I didn’t fancy any of the killer hills around my house, so I headed into Leeds. It backfired because I ended up going on quite a hilly route anyway, although I don’t mind hills really, I just dread the thought of them. On some runs it’s my heart and lungs that complain, and on some it’s my legs. Yesterday, thanks to Jillian, it was my legs that were hurting, while my lungs were happy as Larry. I’ve been stretching to try and get some of the knots out of my hamstrings, and I’m hoping that yoga later will help me out.

What’s your favourite book genre? Do you like horror?

What’s your favourite tipple (alcoholic or non-alcoholic)?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 4:14 pm

    I love reading and may have to join and be-friend you on that book reading site. Shamefully I haven’t finished one book this year as a result of my darn thesis. I can’t wait to finish it just so I can get back into my reading again.

  2. February 13, 2012 4:26 pm

    I’ve added you as a friend! I love that website.

    I definitely want to try sprouting my own beans, they look awesome. Was it a chain health shop you bought them at or a local one?

    I’ve only ever seen Aspall cider vinegar and didn’t know they did drinks so I thought you were drinking vinegar as a beverage for a second there! I’m glad you weren’t, and that looks delicious. I’m a bit of a lush so I can’t decide on a favourite drink, but the other day I tried Innis & Gunn rum cask oak aged beer which was just amazing.

  3. February 13, 2012 5:30 pm

    I’m a big scaredy-cat too when it comes to horror, especially with films! But I have been tempted to read The Shining before and I might now that you’ve recommended it, we’ll see… Six books this year is great, that’s about one a week! I’m on a roll with reading too at the moment, I love getting lost in books. I might join Goodreads in the holiday when I have a little more time on my hands 🙂

    Your curry looks delicious, I love that you put raisins in it, I love raisins in savoury dishes! My favourite alcoholic tipple is probably a glass of Baileys and ice but only as an evening treat. I wouldn’t want it too often!

    Thanks for writing about that DVD, I’ve been wanting to get another Jillian Michaels DVD but can’t decide between that one and the 6 Weeks to Six-Pack one!

  4. February 13, 2012 7:21 pm

    I really need to start reading again but I’m so funny with books. The last ones I read were the hunger games which I loved, I need to find something else now! That curry looks lovely as well 🙂

  5. February 13, 2012 8:52 pm

    I like just pottering by myself some of the time too; I’ve got to have space! Sounds like a nice peaceful weekend and with lovely food – you can’t beat beans on toast and your lentil bowl looks great.
    That book site sounds good too; on my way over and I’ll be your friend 🙂

  6. February 13, 2012 8:59 pm

    I’m so happy you enjoyed The Shining 🙂 You’re most certainly not a scaredy cat if you can sleep with the lights off after having read it 😉 Horror is by far my favourite genre but I do love fantasy too – I wish a new Song of Ice and Fire book would come out, as I’ve read all of the existing ones now. I need something new to distract me when insomnia strikes.

    Banish Fat is a good DVD – I do love the scissor kicks and burpees. I am a strange person for looking forward to burpees, I know. I think Ripped in 30 is the ultimate Jillian DVD – Levels 3 and 4 are killers.

    I love hot chocolate soy milk. I just discovered that today and got through almost the whole carton. Doh.

    xxx

  7. February 14, 2012 12:52 pm

    My meals are like that too! 🙂
    Hmm, I like crime books the best I suppose. I do not like horror- I get myself worked up- I tried to read Dracula and kept panicking about what would happen on the next page so I didn’t even get half way through!

  8. February 14, 2012 2:13 pm

    I’m also not into horror movies or books.. its just not for me! Your lunch looks delish and filling! 🙂

  9. February 14, 2012 2:22 pm

    I do not do horror, I’m such a baby!! I give you credit for reading that while home alone. I saw the movie when I was like 12 and it still haunts me!

  10. February 14, 2012 9:38 pm

    You’ve probably already seen this site (seriously, I’m so out of the loop!) but I love Your Next Read (http://www.yournextread.com/). You type in a book you like, and it suggests similar books.

    I’m not a big fan of horror, but I did enjoy Woman In Black (meant to be seeing the film this week!). Right now, I’m just looking forward to being able to read for pleasure again! I’ve had too much course reading so far this term to have the time.

  11. February 15, 2012 8:59 am

    I love reading, I’ve really got back into it lately and have been polishing off a fair number of books. I like adventure books- stuff like into the wild, mountaineering/climbing books-into thin air, the white spider. I actually like to read my kindle on the bike/elliptical in the gym, and find books like that quite inspiring.I’m also a big fan of Russian literature- Dostoeyevsky, Tolstoy etc

  12. February 16, 2012 2:02 pm

    The curry sounds wonderful! So glad we’re friends on Goodreads. I may think about linking it that way. I didn’t when I mentioned it. I’m enjoying hearing that you’re on a roll with your reading too!

  13. February 16, 2012 6:42 pm

    I think it’s great that you managed to have a bit of ‘me time’ last weekend. That’s such a rarity these days!
    I’m so impressed that you’ve managed to read 6 books already this year. I think I’ve probably got 6 books on the go at the moment… but haven’t managed to finish a single one yet. Maybe it would be better if I read one at a time durh!
    BTW your curry looks amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

