Skip to content

WIAW–Sunday, Long Run Day

February 15, 2012
tags:

Hello, it’s What I Ate Wednesday time again! I’m on a week-long training course in preparation for my next exam, and oh my goodness, it’s dull! I’m sure that a few of my brain cells have curled up and died, so today I will keep the words to a minimum and let the food talk for itself. This is most of what I ate on Sunday, although there were bites and nibbles of other things. The WIAW theme for the month of romance is “love your veggies”, which isn’t difficult at all for me.

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

15Feb12_1

Creamy porridge cooked on the hob with goji berries, raisins, sliced banana, Kara coconut milk, and topped with peanut butter.

15Feb12_2

Post-run snack of rice cakes topped with Mac Cheeze from VeganQueenRunnerBean.

15Feb12_3

Huge salad with romaine, cucumber, yellow peppers, sweetcorn, sprouted beans and seeds, Sabra hummus “extra”, tomato salsa, and a toasted Food Doctor pitta bread.

15Feb12_4

15Feb12_5

Wholewheat noodles with stir-fried veggies (carrots, broccoli, red pepper, mushrooms), with a baked fillet of salmon on top.

Plus, lots of this evil stuff …

23Jan12_5

It’s so moreish that I finished the box in no time at all. I won’t be buying it again because it’s one of those things that I don’t think that I’m able to resist. I’m quite glad that it’s gone and done with and I’m back to my usual muesli, which I find easier to eat just a little of.

Are there any foods that you avoid having around because they’re too tempting?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 6:53 pm

    Yep, I agree on that kashi stuff, its addictive! I’ve stopped buying cereals cause they are a bit of a trigger food for me at the moment. Hope your training course gets more interesting!

  2. February 15, 2012 7:06 pm

    I think the more pertinent question when it comes to me is ‘Are there any foods that you CAN have around because they’re NOT too tempting?’ Seriously, everything is a nightmare for me at the moment: cereal, bars, even peanut flour. Nothing is safe 😦

    I think the only way to stop me from overeating would be to literally only have in the house what I’m having for the day, and then cut up my credit card so I can’t get my hands on anything else.

    You have SO much more self control than you give yourself credit for: I’d need a magnifying glass to find that teeny tiny spoonful of PB!

    xxx

  3. February 15, 2012 7:53 pm

    Yep I totally can’t have granola around, it’s completely addictive. Cereal as well is a no go, although I’m trying to cut out processed foods after watching forks over knives, so hopefully I will be able to resist them in future!

  4. February 15, 2012 8:26 pm

    First of all, great job on your run! And also, good luck with all fo your preparing for… I am sorry it’s boring as anything though, ugh 😦
    I am soo with you on certain types of cereal.. I go way too crazy and can’t help but eat a much bigger than necessary portion. And then I feel terrible about myself and just nasty. I can’t keep candy, like gummy stuff or candy corn in the house

  5. February 15, 2012 9:44 pm

    Firstly I don’t even really like porridge and yet your breakfast is making me wish I had that bowl right now! I love Food Doctor pita breads, it’s the seeds that they have in them 🙂 Your dinner looks so delicious, seriously Sarah you eat so well! And that Toasted Berry Crumble sounds amazing, I need some now, I’ve been having cravings for granola this week.

    Sorry your course is so dull, almost at the end of the week! I hope it improves!

  6. February 15, 2012 10:06 pm

    I tried that exact brand/type of cereal this week, too! Soooo good 🙂

  7. February 15, 2012 10:55 pm

    hey!! thanks for the link lovely! great eats….happy WIAW! 🙂 BIG HUGS XX

  8. February 16, 2012 12:18 am

    You dinner looks delicious!

  9. February 16, 2012 3:46 am

    i found your situation soooooo similar with myself…i used to finish a box of cereal or granola at one time, and there may be twelve servings if i ate them the speed the box typewritten. plz give me some advice on this, i don’t want to binge on these expensive stuffs anymore, i’m too tired of these.

  10. February 16, 2012 6:23 am

    I love that Kashi cereal. It’s one of my faves, but very addictive!

  11. February 16, 2012 8:54 am

    Urgh hope your course is OK- sounds hard going.
    I am the same with granola- I find it so easy to eat it by the handful- so I only get the bear granola now which comes in little packs, or Lizia granola because the pieces are too small to eat by the handful (it is not clumped like other granolas). Also, randomly, licorice (any flavour- apple/ strawberry/ cherry) is really moreish for me, so after I buy one packet and eat it in a couple of days I remember and stop myself buying it for the next few months. 🙂

  12. February 16, 2012 10:05 am

    Cereal for me too, I ate an entire box of weetabix mini’s in 24 hours last week. It was a sorry sight indeed. Are the trek flapjacks nice? I’ve not tried them but keep meaning too. Hope your course gets more interesting, there really is nothing worse than being so bored and still having to listen is there!

  13. February 16, 2012 10:27 am

    Wow another exam coming up! I bet you must be feeling pretty ‘examed out’ what with all the exams you’ve done lately. Have you got many more to go?
    Another day of beautiful eats! I can just imagine how yummy that porridge tasted!
    I’m so with you on the granola issue. I made a humungous batch of home made maple nut granola on Saturday… and by the end of Monday it had all gone! It was meant to be a breakfast cereal, but I kept going to the kitchen and eating handfuls of it! It is far healthier than the shop bought granolas as I didn’t use any fat but, even so, I definitely don’t need all those extra calories that I’m munching through. I’m going to make some more later today, but will have to work on the will power!
    Happy WIAW! xx

  14. February 16, 2012 2:03 pm

    Everything looks yummy! Great job on your run!

  15. Errign permalink
    February 16, 2012 3:50 pm

    Sometimes, salty foods are a no no for me because I just want them all! Good job on your run 🙂

  16. February 16, 2012 8:59 pm

    Urgh, hope the course and exam go by quickly for you!
    I know what you mean about boxes of cereal; I can’t buy them and leave them around because I’d grab “just a handful” at a time… next thing, the box would be empty 🙂
    Your food looks as great as always; I love salmon and stir-fries and the porridge looks so creamy!

  17. February 17, 2012 12:05 am

    That salmon pasta looks like exactly what I want for dinner! I love salmon and pasta…mmmm.

  18. February 17, 2012 10:30 am

    I am the same with granola, as much I would to be able to keep a box in I know it wouldn’t last less than a day. Thats why I like porridge lol, I do have some mueslis and cereals but also been known to eat them out the box!!! Oh I am having your dinner tonight. love salmon.

  19. February 17, 2012 2:39 pm

    Ahh.. so much good food! That Kashi go lean crisp cereal is addicting..

  20. February 17, 2012 10:04 pm

    You disappeared off my reader list …. what happened? Do I have to follow via email now ??

  21. February 21, 2012 1:13 pm

    Is there any chance that you could move in with me? Your food always looks so flipping delicious. I’ve had to make sure I’m actually eating whilst I read it or I always end up starving by the end.

    My danger food is most definitely big bags of what I call ‘dirty’ crisps – things like Doritos or Kettle Chips. If there is a bag of those open I just cannot stop myself eating them even though they make my tongue sore, my tum hurt and then the consequences the following day are not at all pleasant!

    Rosexx

  22. February 21, 2012 10:26 pm

    I love that Kashi!! I virtually ate a whole box within the space of a couple of days..its amazingly good!

Leave a Reply

