Skip to content

Wednesday Brain Dump

February 22, 2012

Well, that was an impromptu blogging break … I haven’t written a post since last Wednesday. It wasn’t planned, but I decided that my computer and I needed a short break from one another. Now that we’re reunited we’re best of friends again. I’ve been keeping up with all of my favourite blogs, but I’ve not been great about commenting, so apologies if you haven’t heard from me for a while.

I’m usually a big fan of What I Ate Wednesday, but I haven’t managed to take photos of all my food this week. I did manage to take a photo of one of my breakfasts because it looked so colourful and fruity.

22Feb12_1

I soaked some oats, chia seeds and goji berries in apple juice overnight. In the morning I heated it up for 30 seconds to take the chill off and then stirred in a chopped nectarine and some blueberries.

Instead of WIAW I’m going to bombard you with what’s been going on with my life and some random thoughts in a handy bullet point format.

  • Last Tuesday it was the 5k time trial at running club. I really dislike running 5k races because it seems like such hard work and I was dreading it. I force myself to do the time trials though because I think it’s a good way to measure my progress and push myself a bit. I wore my Garmin, but I didn’t look it at all, instead I just ran at a pace that I thought that I could keep up. During the last lap I thought that I was going to die, but I kept going. When I finished I was delighted that I PRed with a time of 24:43! My goal for this year is to work towards 24 minutes, so I’m on my way.
  • My long run at the weekend was 11 miles and it was really, really tough. I was staying at Peter’s parents’ house in Lincolnshire, and although that county is famous for being flat, the part that they live in is definitely not. There are rolling hills, so I was either running up or down and it got very wearing over 11 miles. It was incredibly windy as well, so it felt like I was running through treacle. I also got my fuelling wrong because I didn’t eat enough beforehand. I wanted to get out as early as possible because rain was forecast, so I just had a banana and a Nakd bar. I also had some Clif Shot Blocks on my way round. I was running on empty by the end though, so lesson learned.
  • My tummy hasn’t been a happy bunny (that almost rhymes!) over the past week. I’ve been bloated and gassy (sorry – TMI), with discomfort and lots of gurgling. I’ve had symptoms like this before, but not for a long time. It could be hormonal, so I’m hoping it will subside soon. I also over-indulged in bread over the weekend, which probably hasn’t helped. I’m trying to eat more simply this week, so hopefully it will resolve itself.
  • I went on a short run before work yesterday and when I stopped to cross the road I felt really light-headed. Later in the day I was suffering with postural hypotension more than usual, so I decided to have a proper coffee … my first in over a year probably. I wasn’t bouncing off the walls and I just felt normal. My dizzy spells also improved after I drank it. However, last night I had the worst headache of my life. I never suffer from headaches, even when I’m hungover (I’m lucky, I know), so it was actually quite scary. It went away after a couple of paracetamol, so it wasn’t serious, but I wonder if caffeine was the culprit. I also had a glass of red wine yesterday evening, which probably didn’t help. I think I’ll stick to black tea and matcha for a lower dose of caffeine for the time being.

I’m hoping to be back on schedule with blogging now that I’ve had a bit of a break and I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone else’s WIAW posts.

Do you ever feel like you need a break from blogging and technology in general?

What makes you feel better if you’re feeling bloated?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 7:40 pm

    I think its a really good idea to have some time away from the internet and blogs in general. I usually try and make a point of staying off blogs and blogging when I’m on holiday to give me a break. When I feel bloated I drink kuricha tea (which is green tea twigs and low in caffeine) I always makes me feel much better!

  2. February 22, 2012 8:30 pm

    I’m sorry you’ve been having a bunch of irritating stuff going on 😦 The postural hypotension doesn’t sound like fun and I’m sorry about the headache! Also sorry for your tummy, that happens to me sometimes but I’m afraid I don’t really have a solution 😦

    Well done on your 5k PR though, that’s fantastic 🙂 Your breakfast looks delicious by the way!

    • February 22, 2012 8:52 pm

      Thank you. I guess there have been some minor irritations, but life hasn’t been all bad 🙂 I think the tummy problems will sort themselves out (fingers crossed)

  3. Sweet Potato Sarah permalink
    February 22, 2012 9:25 pm

    I really like the odd break from the internet, i feel like i enjoy blogging much more afterwards 🙂
    Massive congrats on the PR, i can’t even imagine being able to run that fast!!

  4. Catalina @ Cake with Love permalink
    February 22, 2012 10:45 pm

    I wanted to let you know after I read your post, that i do get headaches from cafeine sometime, because it dehydrates your body, and it is also because of the blood pressure, if you have low blood presure it may go up when you drink coffee and sometimes to get headaches, try to massage the back and front of your head, also the neck, and drink camomille tea, it helps! Also, on the tummy thing, I get bloated sometimes too, I see you had oatmeal, it wont help, you have to avoid hard whole grains and also dont eat a lot of veggies (fiber), I usually try to drink juices, smoothies, and to have carbs that are much easies to digest! Hope this helps!

    • February 23, 2012 5:00 pm

      Thanks for the tips. I think that I will definitely have to look at my diet if I get that kind of bloating again (it’s subsided a lot now thankfully). It’s so difficult though, especially as I adore the foods that are full of fibre!

  5. February 22, 2012 11:01 pm

    It’s a really tricky balance trying to manage the dizziness, I know. The caffeine issue really confuses me in terms of ‘how much is too much?’ I’m a total coffee addict, but I was drinking so much of it that I was becoming so twitchy all the time…then I cut it out completely in characteristically rash fashion, and my dizziness became almost unbearable. That could have been severe caffeine withdrawal, but I never had any headaches at all. Moderate amounts of coffee and copious amounts of coconut water seem to work well for me. Plus the old standby of chocolate soy milk after long runs, which I’ve only just decided to try. Very sugary, but very stabilizing and delicious too 😉

    Wheat and excess fibre seem to cause the most bloating for me, plus (ironically) not drinking enough. I have no idea of the potential science behind that though.

    Glad you had a relaxing ‘uplugged’ week, but also happy to see you back ❤

    xxx

    • February 23, 2012 4:59 pm

      I’ve experimenting with caffeine at the moment. I think that taking in a little through tea etc. help with my dizzy spells, but I won’t be trying coffee again in a hurry after that headache.
      I think excess fibre could be an issue for me when I have these flare ups – maybe I love my veggies a little too much!

  6. February 22, 2012 11:17 pm

    If only I had a cure for bloating! Time really is the only cure for me. Hope it gets better soon!

    I took a week off from blogging last week, too, and it was much needed since I just had too much going on. I’m definitely a proponent of blogging when it’s convenient and not forcing out a post when you don’t really want to or have much to say.

  7. February 23, 2012 2:41 am

    We all need a break sometimes.. that is sooo totally fine and when you come back, it feels better and you are refreshed!
    I am sorry about the bloating as well… I wish I knew of something to help out 😦

  8. February 23, 2012 8:37 am

    Time away is always good- even if it is for a day or two. When we went down to Brighton this weekend I had no internet and it was nice to just have a break from it.
    And well done on your time trial- you are getting even speedier!

  9. February 23, 2012 11:30 am

    So sorry to hear that you’ve been having tummy troubles. It’s often so difficult to work out what’s causing these problems. Hopefully it’ll just go away on it’s own (fingers crossed!)
    I think it’s a good idea to take a break from blogging now and then. I would hate the thought of blogging become a ‘chore’. To keep up my enthusiasm for it, I’ve cut down to blogging twice a week. Those days come round quickly (the week’s fly past don’t they?) so I’m sure 2 posts a week is enough for my readers. I also take breaks during the school holidays so I can give Lil’ L my full attention. He mentioned last year that I’m ALWAYS on the computer and that comment was enough for me to change my ways!

  10. February 23, 2012 2:04 pm

    The idea of soaking the oats, etc in apple juice sounds so tasty, Sarah! What a good idea. Probably adds lots of extra flavor!

  11. February 23, 2012 2:38 pm

    FANTASTIC 5km time, I agree with you that it is a great way to track progress. I use my 3miles on the treaddie as a way of keeping track.

  12. February 23, 2012 3:34 pm

    Nice job on the 5k Sarah!

  13. February 23, 2012 9:18 pm

    Congratulations on the time! And brilliant to do the 11 miles in that wind, it was serious at the weekend… sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling good; peppermint tea is supposed to be good for bloating, as is cinnamon and I should think the headache was a caffeine/wine reaction… hope you’re feeling better now 🙂

Leave a Reply

