Skip to content

Thinking About Change

February 24, 2012

Hello – is everyone glad that it’s the weekend? I’ve had very busy week and it seems like the days have just whizzed past, but I’m tired today and I’m looking forward to some relaxing activities over the next few days. I’m getting a bit deep in today’s post (well, deep for me anyway) and I want to talk a bit about my relationship with change.

In the endless courses I’ve done whilst studying for my professional qualification we talk a lot about change management and it seems like the accepted wisdom that no-one likes change. To a certain extent I can see that this also applies to me in some aspects of my life. Certainly I’ve been doing some thinking about my future over the next 1-5 years – where I want to be living, what sort of job I want to be doing, what I want to achieve in my personal life – and it’s scary. Sometimes to easy option is to stay where you are, doing what you’re already doing.

On the other hand, I think I’m scared of not changing and of getting stuck where I am, although that’s not to say that I’m not prone to inertia every now and then. I’ve moved cities four times in the past six years, and I’ve also had a major career change. In some respects I think I’m ready to settle somewhere for a little while and really establish my life.

In terms of health and fitness, I’m also a fan of change. I love to change my workouts regularly so that I don’t get bored and to improve my fitness. I’ve done a ton of different exercise classes, I’ve been a dedicated gym bunny, I’ve swam (not well), ran, rowed, and hiked. I like to have a weekly routine, and I can get in a bit of a flap if I can’t do the workouts that I have planned, but on a longer timescale I dislike doing the same thing over again.

Throughout my weight loss journey I loved seeing the change on the scale. I felt like I was making a huge change for the better, improving my health, my appearance, and my ability to buy clothes from fashionable high street shops. However, this is an area of my life where I now need to focus on stability and steady maintenance, and that’s equally tough. From November to January I was back on the weight loss bandwagon to try to lose the 10 pounds or so that I’d put on in the course of the year. I was enthusiastic and really enjoyed seeing the numbers come down.

At the beginning of February I stopped counting calories again and have been trying to get back on an even keel, but I’ve found it difficult. I’ve eaten more than I should on a few occasions and felt out of control. Last weekend was a case in point – it got off on a bad start because I under-fuelled for my long run. I then spent the rest of the weekend more than making up for it. I didn’t feel good – I felt over-full and annoyed at myself.

I’m not giving up anything for Lent because a) I’m not religious, and b) I tend to be a bit all or nothing with this kind of thing (I gave up chocolate for “Lent” when I was 12 and didn’t eat it again until I was 18 … what was I thinking?). I have been inspired by other bloggers to re-focus on one of my goals for 2012, which was to find more stability in my daily eating habits and stop over-eating at the weekends. I’m not sure what I’m doing this weekend, but I have bought lots of healthy and filling snacks so I don’t get hungry and end up gorging myself on less nutritious stuff. That doesn’t mean that there won’t be treats, because I have a scone craving right now, but I will practice moderation.

Do you like change? Are there some aspects of your life where you’re more comfortable with change than others?

Have you got any big plans for the future?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 6:40 pm

    Andy always teases me because I am very very reluctant to change! The unknown is hard, and also the thought of the grass is not always greener etc. But also, I think you regret things you didn’t do more than the things you did do, so getting out of your comfort zone is good for you too.

  2. February 24, 2012 6:44 pm

    I think it goes with out saying I can relate to you on this one! 6 years go I spent about 3 years going through change after change (several jobs, moving cities, new relationships, new houses etc) which just wiped me out. It wasn’t until I had some stabilisation in the majority of my life that I could settle (which allowed me to focus on loosing weight). I tend to do best with a balance, I feel too restricted without some changes but when everything is overhauled I find it very unbalancing. I can feel you on the stable weight front too although I’m still looking to gain a little, keeping that gain under control is going to be the battle for me! The future for me is looking pretty scary / exciting depending on how you look at it! – I’m applying for a new job as well as wanting to start doing some freelance work and putting the flat up for sale hopefully, fun and games 😉 Good luck with all your plans x

  3. February 25, 2012 7:11 am

    Ahhh change is a toughie. We all get so settled into our lifestyles that the thought of change is scary. I’m going through a lot of changes at the moment: new job, finishing my PhD, getting married and eventually moving to a new town. So my future is looking very bright and exciting at the moment. I hope your changes turn out well. x

  4. February 25, 2012 11:27 am

    I think this is a really honest and open post and I really enjoyed reading it Sarah. I can totally relate to the feelings you’re having right now, I’ve even been blogging about similar topics lately.

    I really admire the attitude you have towards this, and the decisions you are making for your physical and mental health, deciding to work towards having more stability with your eating and exercising habits will definitely have a positive impact on your life 🙂

    Change for me is something I blow very hot and cold about. In some ways I love my routine, I love having structure in my life and knowing where I’m going and what my plans are. At the same time I really like doing spontaneous things, sometimes just little tiny things like having something I’d never normally try at the restaurant or it can be something bigger. I think through having all of my problems with my health deteriorating I’ve stopped being able to plan in advance and I can’t know what the future holds for me which I’ve found really scary. At the same time though it’s made me relax about plans so that’s been good!

    Good luck with everything 🙂

  5. February 26, 2012 1:51 pm

    Facing challenges with limited resolve is difficult. I’m that way far too often. I try to be strong and either do something or not do something and it’s difficult. With food, it is so, so hard. I had a terrible day yesterday and ate half a pizza!! What was I thinking?! I knew if it came into the house, I’d eat the entire half. Only reason I didn’t try to sweet talk Ralph out of some of his was because he had sausage on it…Thank Goodness!! You can’t always stop it, you just have to get through it and start again. It’s a new day for me today and I know I can do this. You can do it too, Sarah. Be strong sweetie, I have faith in you!

  6. February 26, 2012 5:00 pm

    Your posts are always so interesting and change is definitely an interesting one! I always joke “We fear change!” in an ominous voice but for me, it’s too true. I like my routine and any change is hard, especially at my job, where I’ve been four years and which I should leave- but I love it there so it’s going to be hard if I do!
    It’s weird because I can see myself living differently in “the future” but if that’s going to happen, I’ve got to be the one changing things, no one’s going to do it for me…
    I think the key is not “punishing” yourself when you do eat the wrong thing or whatever but just keep to the 80:20 rule… Hope you had a lovely weekend 🙂

  7. February 27, 2012 12:06 am

    I don’t really like change very much and I try to keep everything as steady and stable as possible. That being said, I would like to make some changes in my life over the next few years and am trying to put the wheels in motion now so it can be gradual as opposed to a sudden and difficult transition.

Leave a Reply

