Skip to content

WIAW: Feeling a Bit Green

March 14, 2012
tags: ,

Hello and happy What I Ate Wednesday! I’ve sat out of the WIAW party for a few weeks now for one reason or another. Quite honestly, I was a bit fed up of taking photos and posting about my food and I was more interested in writing about other things. However, I feel more sociable today and seeing as the theme is green, I thought that I would make a special effort.

Peas and Crayons

Thank you to Jenn @ Peas and Crayons who hosts the weekly party.

Breakfast

Look, I even made my porridge green!

14Mar12_1

I made this porridge with a chopped braeburn apple, flame raisins, Kara coconut milk, agave and a shot of matcha tea. I topped it with cracked linseeds.

I love the combination of apple and raisin porridge. It’s probably because I’m obsessed by raisins in general. I know that a lot of people don’t like them, but I really don’t understand why, they are perfect to me.

Lunch

14Mar12_2

There is definitely some green hidden under this lot, you can just see it poking out. Yesterday’s salad consisted of mixed salad leaves, chopped cucumber, red pepper, sweetcorn, mixed olives, brown rice, and piri-piri hummus (shop bought).

Dinner

I absolutely adore green vegetables and eat them for dinner most days. I have a tough time deciding which are my favourites, but I would say that broccoli and courgette are in with a shout.

14Mar12_3

This is wholewheat pasta, carrots, broccoli, courgette, leeks, mushrooms, sweetcorn, and Cauldron veggie sausages, with some tinned tomatoes and chilli flakes.

I want to make clear that although I’ve shared all of my meals, I also ate plenty of snacks as well. My excuse for not taking photos is that they weren’t green!

Thank you for all your reassurances about my training plan for this week in advance of Liverpool Half Marathon on Sunday. I think it’s a bit of a mental shock to cut down on training, but I think that my body really needs the rest before I put it through a 13.1 mile ordeal.

I ended up running 3 miles yesterday instead of my planned 4, mainly because it was rush hour and I was having problems crossing the road (Leeds is not built with pedestrians in mind!). I didn’t feel like going for a run, but I knew that I needed to more than ever. I was having one of those days when my mind was whirring away at 100 miles an hour and I just couldn’t get any mental peace. I set off at a very sedate pace with my headphones in (I usually run without music) and the first half was a bit of a struggle. When I turned around, suddenly my mind stilled and I was able to just enjoy moving and listening to music. It’s times like that when I realise how the benefits of exercise stretch beyond improving fitness – it also helps me to clear my head of all those little anxieties that cling on and aren’t helpful in the least.

This morning I did a short yoga session to stretch out, and boy, am I stiff! My hips and hamstrings seem to be the main culprits, so I did plenty of downward dogs and hip opening moves. I’m hoping that I loosen off by the end of the week!

What green food have you had this week?

How do you like to de-stress and clear your head?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 6:52 pm

    Sarah, your pasta dish looks especially delicious!

  2. March 14, 2012 7:34 pm

    I find yoga really calming, I also love getting out for a run, that always clears the head. I’ve had lots of green smoothies this week, as well as lots of salad, broccoli, and spring greens. I love that you made your porridge green!

  3. Errign permalink
    March 14, 2012 8:28 pm

    I like to run or have large glasses of wine 🙂

  4. March 14, 2012 8:30 pm

    I love running to help clear my mind, it usually takes me a while before I get to the ‘zen’ state as I like to call it but its great when I get there! I’ve had plenty of lovely greens this week, this morning I had a lovely green smoothie!

  5. March 14, 2012 9:09 pm

    mmmm not sure about green porridge in the morning, a shot of matcha on the side I could visually stomach but not sure about green porridge 😉
    I think if you are not used to running with music it must take time to adjust, in the same way there is an adjustment period if you do listen to music when running (like I do); to start with my brain just won’t shut up and then all of a sudden you wonder where the miles went.

  6. March 14, 2012 9:42 pm

    Running does help to clear my head as well.. although the traffic might have stressed me out a bit! Also walking while listening to a book is just such a wonderful thing for me to do. I get lost in the book while enjoying the outdoors! Well when the weather is nice 🙂
    I am loving the green porridge! Very festive of you

  7. March 14, 2012 11:18 pm

    My greens have mostly come in smoothie form.

    I don’t understand how it’s possible to dislike raisins either – I adore them cooked into hot porridge so that they plump up and become uber-squishy (technical terminology right there).

    Running is the only way I can de-stress as well – your tapering plan sounds good by the way, I just know I’m probably the worst person to comment or advise on that kind of thing!

    xxx

  8. March 14, 2012 11:58 pm

    i 100% understand that taking picture of all your food gets old some days! i’ve found myself cutting back on posts that require me to take photos of food lately.

  9. March 15, 2012 12:22 pm

    I love raisins too! I never understand how people cannot like them- they are delish! sometimes people even pick them out of cookies! But they are best when they soak up the liquid and plump up- yum.
    A run ( or a walk) in the fresh air is the best way to clear my head- yoga I do not find good because I am at home and I find my mind wanders to all the things I could be doing instead of yoga, whereas if I am outside I have not choice but to get on and enjoy it, and get away from those jobs etc.

Leave a Reply

