Skip to content

On My Travels

March 25, 2012

Hello! Today’s post might be a bit random because I haven’t posted for a week, so I have lots of thoughts running around in my head. Plus, I’ve just been baking for the cookie exchange that Tamzin has organised, so I’ve got some crazy baking endorphins in my blood – honestly, I think it’s better than a runner’s high.

I’ve been travelling the country this week. I started out in Chester on Monday, recovering from Liverpool half marathon. I then drove down to Cambridge to meet up with Peter, and on Tuesday we drove over to Wiltshire to stay in a cottage for a few days. I didn’t take as many photos as I should have done, but we were so lucky with the weather because the sun shone the whole time, and continues to shine now.  We were able to go out in short sleeves, which is amazing at this time of year!

I think I’ve mentioned that as I was growing up my parents wanted me to explore as many parts of the UK as possible and learn about the country that I live in. It’s something that I continue to do, so I chose to go to the Wiltshire/Somerset area because it’s a place I’ve not really been to before. I dragged Peter to Bath and went to the Roman Baths.

P3210235

I really enjoyed the museum and the audio guide, but Peter wasn’t so enamoured, which goes to show that your experience of museums is so very personal. He doesn’t like listening to audio guides and there wasn’t enough information about the engineering side of the baths. He loves to know how things work and there really wasn’t any explanation. We both enjoyed basking in the sunshine though, although I got a bit warm!

You probably know me well enough by now to know that I sought out as much tea and cake as possible.

P3220249

This was a delicious slice of orange polenta cake from a local tea rooms in a walled garden.

P3220254

On our way home on Friday we stopped off at the New Forest Wildlife Park. Peter took some amazing photos that might need a post for themselves! It was only a small park, but we managed to spend five hours there, at least two of which must have been looking at the lynx, because they are one of Peter’s favourite animals. Personally, I liked the otters because they were so boisterous and playful.

I took the whole week off from exercise, apart from walking around the various sights and a few short walks in the countryside. I think I needed it because I was feeling a bit beaten up by the half marathon. I felt sore for a couple of days after the half, particularly my backside and my quads, which is a bit strange because my quads never normally cause me any bother. I know that my glutes are weak though, so I’m going to search out some strengthening exercises to incorporate into my routine.

I was desperate to go on a run yesterday after six days without, especially since the weather was so good. I didn’t measure my run, but I think it was about 5.5 miles. I felt really good for the first half, and then my backside began to ache a bit, but nothing too bad. I also found that my breathing was a little bit laboured, but I think that was the warmth combined with my short break from any cardio.

What has been weird over the past week is my appetite. I would say that I usually have a very healthy appetite and I’m usually hungry for three meals and at least two snacks a day. I wasn’t very hungry after the half, which I was expecting, but my appetite never really came back. That really screwed with my mind because I wanted to eat as I normally do, and I actually ended up overeating a couple of times because I was trying to override my hunger signals. I didn’t eat that well while I was away, and had cake for lunch on at least two occasions, but I think that’s ok as long as it doesn’t turn into a habit.

After yesterday’s run, thankfully my appetite is returning back to normal. All I could think of while I was running was Greek food, so when I got back I made a salad of mixed leaves, cucumber, sweetcorn, hummus, stuffed vine leaves (shop bought) and pitta bread.

P3240258

This really hit the spot … as did the Domino’s pizza I had for dinner, but it’s all about balance, right?!

On a random note, I really want to swap kitchens with Peter because the lighting is so good!

Do you like visiting historic places and museums? Which one is your favourite?

Do you find that your appetite is closely related to exercise?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 2:04 pm

    Sounds like you’ve had a great week. I would love to visit Bath! I would really like a visit to London just to go round some of the museums and art galleries. My appetite seems to be completely unpredictable at the moment but generally I’m pretty ravenous!

  2. March 25, 2012 2:42 pm

    I LOVE Bath- one of my favourite places to go! We have been over New Year’s a few times, and we are going over the Easter weekend too. I think the Roman Baths are so interesting (and you can get the kids commentary on the headphones too) and there are so many lovely cafes and shops to wander around.
    I think my appetite is more closely related to exercise since I have not been doing any exercise and I have felt much less hungry. I always used to feel starving on Fridays which was the day after Body Pump, but I suppose as I did exercise most days I felt hungry at certain times most days. Although long runs did suppress my appetite. I will be interested to see how my appetite goes once I start exercising again.
    Glad you had a lovely time .

  3. March 25, 2012 3:13 pm

    What a great week to have off work! Glad you had fun; I’d love to go to the Roman baths too but I think I’d have to be dragged away; I love that sort of thing.
    I’m sure having a week off exercise was a good idea after the half and maybe that’s why your appetitie decreased? Like you say, cake for lunch on holiday isn’t going to do you any harm either but glad to hear you’re back to normal 🙂

  4. March 25, 2012 4:00 pm

    What an excellent, relaxing week you have had, bet its just what the doctor would have ordered if you had asked 🙂

    I’m not a museum fan, I can only really tolerate an hour or 2 if pushed … hubby LOVES them though.

  5. March 25, 2012 6:14 pm

    I love Bath, I grew up near there and it’s a lovely part of the world! 🙂

  6. March 25, 2012 7:52 pm

    I adore art galleries, but I’m not much of a museum person. Even with a piece of art I really like, though, my short attention span means that I go round places at double quick speed.

    Both the polenta cake (something I’ve always wanted to try) and salad look gorgeous, and very reflective of the summery weather. I agree that it’s actually easier to overeat when your appetite is ‘off’ for some reason..it’s frustrating not to be hungry and I always eat through things too, probably even more than I do anyway.

    xxx

  7. March 25, 2012 10:16 pm

    What a wonderful week you have been having! I loved reading this… so many lovely pictures and also a reminder of places i need to go to! I would adore to go to the roman baths.. definitely on my to do list

  8. March 25, 2012 10:20 pm

    Baking is rather wonderful isn’t it :-). Your travels sound so lovely, I’ve never been to Wiltshire but it sounds idyllic! I’m really glad that you had such a brilliant time.

    I love visiting historic places and learning about them. When I was little my mum would regularly take me to visit the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge to see exhibitions like the Ancient Egyptian mummies so I have a bit of a soft spot for it 🙂

    Visiting wildlife parks is one of my favourite things to do for a day trip, I love going with Tom. Otters are one of our favourite animals to see there too!

  9. March 26, 2012 7:20 am

    oh I love bath, me and my boyfriend went their for valentines day it was lush. I believe that everything is okay in moderation, a healthy lifestyle is all about balance. You ran a half marathon that deserves some treats.

  10. March 26, 2012 9:02 am

    I love visiting historic places or places of interest. Whenever I go somewhere new I always check out places to visit and draw up an itinerary surrounding them ha! I loved Bath, would like to go back again at some point! I definitely find my appetite is related to exercise, the day of long runs I’m usually not that hungry, but the days after I find myself absolutely starving hungry all day! I find that if I take it easy on the exercise front, or take a few days off it completely kills my appetite and I just don’t get hungry at all.

  11. March 26, 2012 4:35 pm

    Looks like you had a lovely time, Sarah. I’ve always been fascinated by the Roman baths. That cake looks incredible! I’m jealous! Glad you had a good time!

  12. March 26, 2012 4:53 pm

    So glad to hear that you had a great week with Peter! Great weather too!
    Wow there’s a lot of love for Bath from your blog friends! Reading their comments reminds me of how fortunate I am to live here.
    Like Peter, I’m not greatly enamoured with the Roman Baths (though I did love the sound & light festival that took place there earlier this year – very cool!) but, Lil’ L loves it… especially all those buttons that you get to press on the audio guide. He likes to listen to the children’s commentary, then the adult commentary. He’ll happily spend hours there. Next time we go I’ll make sure I take a book with me 😉

  13. March 26, 2012 7:28 pm

    Looks like you have been having a great time! I love Bath it’s simply stunning!¬

  14. March 26, 2012 9:56 pm

    At great risk of embarrassing/annoying Peter (please delete this, Sarah, if you think he might not speak to me again):

    At the age of seven, Peter’s retort to our suggestion that we go and explore Carisbrooke Castle, when we were on holiday on the Isle of Wight was,

    “No, there’s too much history in castles.” !!!

  15. March 27, 2012 7:37 am

    I love Bath, many a school trips were spent in those Roman baths! I love visiting historical places, and my boyfriend does too so we do try to visit a few when we go somewhere new. Particularly war history, I really enjoy learning about that. Your week off sounds wonderful, a perfect way to ride the half marathon high! I have a weak glute too which is causing me some hamstring problems, a physio gave me some stretches to do but I could probably do with some strengthening exercise for them too!

    • March 27, 2012 7:38 am

      Hate it when it calls me peanutbutternutter, it’s meeee!

Leave a Reply

