Skip to content

Cookie Exchange

March 28, 2012

Look what arrived in the post today!

P3280242

Cookies!

P3280238

Marijke @ Beauty in the Balance sent me these delicious-looking chocolate chip cookies as part of the cookie exchange organised by Tamzin. I ripped into the parcel as soon as I got in from work and one of these lovelies very quickly found their way into my mouth. It was so soft and sweet – I’m going to have to be very careful not to consume them too quickly!

Of course it was an exchange, so I had to get baking to send some goodies to Marijke. If you’ve been reading for a while you’ll know that I don’t “do” baking, even though I gawp at all the lovely recipes that my blogger friends make. I thought this exchange was the perfect opportunity to have a go. I trawled the internet for recipes and ended up making blueberry and pecan oaties using this recipe.

P3250266

And cranberry, cherry & almond flapjacks based on this recipe.

P3250234

I used almonds instead of the suggested hazelnuts and left out the coconut. They lacked a bit of structural integrity, so hopefully they got to Marijke safely and didn’t turn into granola.

I really enjoyed baking and I’m already planning what else I can make. I never really baked as a youngster because my Mum, by her own admission, doesn’t enjoy cooking and has never baked. Occasionally I would bake fairy cakes with a relative, but I didn’t do much more than lick the bowl clean. I had a brilliant food technology teacher at school who did get me quite excited about bread and cakes, so I baked a bit while I was in high school, but then I got out of the habit.

Making these cookies reminded me of the therapeutic benefits of baking. I think I’ve mentioned before that I used to be the bakery manager at a large supermarket. It was a really stressful job that I hated, so when it all got too much and my evil boss had made me cry again (sadly a regular occurrence) I used to hide myself at the back of the bakery and bake cookies. They came in frozen (shhh … don’t tell anyone the secret) and I would spend hours traying up hundreds of cookies and then filling the store with the sweet smell of cookies baking. After that, another customer shouting at me didn’t seem too bad.

Thank you to Tamzin for organising the exchange and thanks again to Marijke for the delicious cookies!

Do you like baking? Do you find it relaxing?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 6:07 pm

    Cookies would be so good right now, Ralph and I are about to have tea! But I’m behaving… 😉

  2. March 28, 2012 6:28 pm

    all of them looked good:)

  3. March 28, 2012 6:36 pm

    Wow, considering you don’t bake looks like you did a fab job! Yum they all look delicious, thank you for taking part I’m glad you enjoyed it x x

  4. March 28, 2012 6:57 pm

    I’m not a baker by any means but I do try cupcakes occasionally, with the kids help 😉

  5. beautyinthebalance permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:01 pm

    Yay! So pleased they all got to you more or less in one piece! And I’m also really pleased that you posted the links to the recipes for your cookies and flapjacks; they are just too delicious! I’m already dreading the day that these disappear from my kitchen 🙂

  6. March 28, 2012 7:25 pm

    Mmm all of those baked goods look fantastic, I can’t wait to be home so that I can bake properly again, I love it – I find it extremely therapeutic! Your blueberry and pecan oaties sound and look particularly delicious, I’d love some of those 🙂

    You’ve spoken about your old job before and it truly does sound awful! The smell of cookies baking is lovely though.

    Hope you’re having a great week!

  7. March 28, 2012 8:46 pm

    All those batches look so good and so professional! what a brilliant idea the cookie exchange was.
    I love baking, especially for other people, and always have – and I still lick the bowl clean, every time 🙂

  8. March 28, 2012 8:48 pm

    I didn’t realize you had that job and yeeshe it really does sound terrible! For someone that does not bake too often, you did a wonderful job! Seriously they look professional 🙂 And I sure as heck LOVE to bake and definitely find it relaxing

  9. Errign permalink
    March 28, 2012 10:56 pm

    I do really like to bake. I made banana bread this week, early in the morning, just for fun and it was very relaxing!

  10. March 29, 2012 7:11 am

    Wow they look fantastic (the ones you received and the ones you made).
    I love baking (but you knew that answer already!)- it really is very relaxing and satisfying. I often change up ingredients too (sometimes works, sometimes doesn’t) but it is fun to have a go at changing things. I have so many baking books but with the internet there are just unlimited recipes that I want to still try.

  11. March 29, 2012 7:13 am

    Those cookies look amazing! I’m making mine this weekend and really looking forward to it! I love baking, we did a fair bit of it when we were little and I always find it a lot of fun and very relaxing!

  12. March 29, 2012 2:20 pm

    I enjoy baking but I really love cooking more! But I’m having Easter dinner at my house for the first time so I’m really looking forward to doing both for my family! Attempting to bake a carrot cake from scratch 🙂

  13. March 29, 2012 7:21 pm

    Oh my gosh those cookies look good!
    I’m pretty rubbish at baking. Every Tuesday I try to bake something to take to my evening study class. I end up baking at least 3 different things, in the hope that one will actually work out! That was why I was so elated that last week’s orange & almond cake turned out well because it’s such a rare occurence for me! .

  14. March 30, 2012 8:29 pm

    Those cookies look delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Cookie exchange! « Beauty in the balance

Leave a Reply

