Skip to content

Easter Weekend in Bullets

April 10, 2012

Hello! It’s been a while … again. At the moment I’m trying out “intuitive blogging”, which is basically something I’ve just made up, but to me it means only blogging when I feel like it and I’ve got something to say. Over the past week I’ve been very lazy with blogging and taking photos etc., so I haven’t written anything. However, today the urge to write a post has come over me, so I will go with the flow.

I’ve had an incredibly relaxing weekend, which has been much needed. Seeing as it was a gloriously long four-day weekend I think the best way to organise my thoughts is in bullet-point format. So here’s how Easter went for me:

  • Good Friday was a bit of a write-off really because I was so tired from the 11 mile run I did on Thursday night. I’ve done a quite a few runs of over 10 miles now, but I haven’t done one in the evening with running club since the summer. It felt really good at the time and we finished with an amazing 9:06 min/mile pace, which was made even more amazing by the fact that the first 4 miles were all uphill! I loved running faster and felt like I was keeping up with speedier runners. However, I did not sleep well on Thursday night and ended up getting up at about 2.30am to have a couple of painkillers, a drink, some cereal and watch some How I Met Your Mother to quiet my mind. I have another 11 miles on the schedule for this Thursday and I actually have to work on Friday – eek! I think I need to experiment with refuelling because I don’t think that eating a heavy meal late at night helped me. I’m going to try a calorie-dense smoothie instead.
  • After an uncharacteristic lie-in on Friday I did some spring cleaning. I’m definitely not big on household chores usually, but I quite enjoyed it for some reason. I’m frustrated that everything gets dirty again though! I also did 20 minutes of hatha yoga from yogadownload.com which helped with my post-run recovery.
  • On Friday afternoon I went shopping and mainly bought bras. I definitely mustn’t have been feeling myself on Friday because I usually despise bra shopping. It’s right up there with shopping for jeans and swimsuits. There’s something about trying on bras that really makes me scrutinise my body and be dissatisfied with it, especially as I see my back and sides as “problem areas”. However, I was able to see past all that and managed to find three much needed bras that fit and look ok. I was extremely proud of myself!
  • Despite getting up late I was ready for bed by 9:3o! It’s an exciting life I lead.
  • Peter arrived sometime in the early hours of Saturday morning. Our sleep schedules completely clash …

2012-04-09 14.31.40

  • I hopped out of bed bright and early-ish on Saturday to go for a very easy 5 mile run. I didn’t wear my Garmin, I just went at the speed my slightly tired legs wanted to move at.
  • Saturday was spent mostly watching Season 3 of Dexter. Peter and I are completely addicted to this show and many many episodes were viewed.
  • My Mum gave us some money to go for a meal for Easter, so we went out for Thai food at Thai Aroy Dee in Leeds. The restaurant was nothing to look at, but the food was good. I tried to take photos on my phone, but clearly I need more practice because they didn’t turn out that well. As a taster this is what I had for a starter:

2012-04-07 20.20.55

Hot and spicy prawn soup

  • On Sunday morning I went out for another run. This time I did 3 miles total with 2 miles of minute-long intervals. This was tough and I was extremely hot and sweaty when I got home. I then got out my yoga mat and did the 20 minute Yoga For Runners from yogadownload.com.
  • Sunday then consisted of watching nearly the whole of Dexter season 4! Yep there’s a serious addiction going on here.
  • On Monday we finally peeled ourselves away from Dexter and went to Roundhay Park in Leeds. I mainly wanted to go to Tropical World to see the new baby meerkats.

2012-04-09 14.24.31

  • We also saw lots of birds:

2012-04-09 14.27.55

  • … and butterflies:

2012-04-09 13.48.12

  • I think we were the only ones in there without a child, but I was a big enough kid to make up for it! We then had a rainy walk around one of the lakes and ate some chocolaty cakes.
  • Although I didn’t have any chocolate eggs, I do feel high on sugar thanks to lots of cakes and rice pudding. I’m fed up of so much sugar, if that’s possible, and have been craving more savoury things today.

Thanks for sticking with this post – it’s turned into a monster!

Does anyone workout in the evening, and if so do you have any tips for sleeping well after a hard workout?

Are you a big kid at heart?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 8:19 pm

    I’ve needed to go bra shopping for months, but I just can’t bring myself to do it: my back and sides never used to be problem areas but, if possible, I hate them just as much as my ‘classic’ flaws in my thighs and bum. I rationalise the latter by telling myself that they enable me to run – but what function does random underarm fat have? Not that I’ve ever seen any on you – I think you’re a lovely shape.

    I have been an insomniac my entire life, so sadly I’m not the person to ask about sleep.

    I am definitely a big kid. If it wouldn’t look weird, I’d probably spend most of my time in ‘kid’s’ places, swinging on swings, watching kiddie movies. Although as a fellow Dexter obsessive, I’d obviously need to remind myself of the perks of being older versus the prospect of missing it.

    xxx

  2. April 10, 2012 9:04 pm

    Looks like a great weekend and well done on getting those runs in even though you did a tough 11 on the Thursday, could have been SO easy to flip them off.
    I went off Dexter for some reason, just lot interest 😦

  3. amosthebordercollie permalink
    April 10, 2012 11:06 pm

    I like the picture of Peter 🙂
    When are you coming to see me again?
    Mum and Dad bought you a dark chocolate bunny. It’s very high up, so I can’t reach it.
    x

  4. April 11, 2012 1:29 am

    Great job on all of the miles this weekend Sarah! 11 miles is certainly no joke! I never workout in the evening… well I should not say never as it does happen sometimes, but I don’t particularly like, it does throw my schedule and sleeping off! I wish I had some better advice for this
    But looks like you had a nice weekend lady 🙂

  5. April 11, 2012 5:50 am

    Looks like you have had a great weekend full of dun. Love the animals-cute! Well done on such a high mileage too, such a great achievement!

  6. April 11, 2012 8:23 am

    I think you are amazing for being able to run 11 miles on an evening, I would just not be able to do that, I can’t seem to manage any serious cardio that late in the day! I think having a smoothie for recovery is a great idea as they should digest much quicker, plus you can make sure your getting enough calories in that way! Glad you found some bras you like, I know what you mean about those changing room mirrors. I’m actually happier with that part of myself since I’ve gained some weight back, not as saggy if you know what I mean! Hope you have a good week 🙂

  7. runningcupcake permalink
    April 11, 2012 12:06 pm

    Urgh I hate bra shopping too- I really need to get some new ones but keep putting it off! I usually work out in the evenings, but before dinner, so am normally tired by bed-time anyway.
    And aw to the baby meercats!

  8. April 11, 2012 3:55 pm

    Sounds like a lovely weekend 🙂 Tom and I having clashing sleep routines too – we’re the opposite from you, Tom goes to bed and gets up very early whereas I struggle to sleep and can’t handle mornings anymore… Somewhere in the middle is a compromise we haven’t found yet!

    I’m so impressed at your running Sarah, I think 11 miles is amazing and I have no idea how you have the energy for running in the evening. I tend to work out late afternoon if I still feel up to it, that way it doesn’t ruin my day but I have time to recover a little before I go to sleep.

    I love going to wildlife parks, Tom and I go every year and I always get excited like the children 😛

  9. April 11, 2012 7:52 pm

    I Love the baby meerkats! You should only blog when you feel like it. I love the photo of Peter at the Nocturnal Zone. So cute!

  10. April 11, 2012 8:45 pm

    I’m definitely doing the intuitive bloggin/only when I feel like it too – it seems there just aren’t enough hours in the day!
    I did similar at the weekend; went to a rare breeds centre and although my friend’s kids were there, I think I was more excited by the baby animals than they were 🙂
    Those baby meerkats are gorgeous 🙂

  11. April 12, 2012 11:39 am

    I work out in the evenings and find having a bigger lunch and a lighter dinner usually does the trick. I’m a big fan of omlettes at the moment because they’re quick to do and easy too. But smoothies sound a good idea too? I also find a hot shower and a sleepy time tea do the trick!

    I agree about intuitive blogging, otherwise you end up feeling like it’s a chore.

  12. Errign permalink
    April 12, 2012 4:00 pm

    Usually long workouts right before bed give me extra energy so I have to get right home, eat quick, shower and then get into bed and watch TV so I can get tired! I like to have salads with lots of toppings on nights like that because they digest easy, but pack a caloric punch (I like brown rice, corn and avocado the most!)

Leave a Reply

