Skip to content

Twinings Green Tea Review

April 12, 2012

Hello! Thank you for your helpful comments about evening exercise. I’m running 11 miles again this evening, so I’m on a mission to fuel right, set myself up for a quicker recovery, and critically, to get a good night’s sleep. I’ll let you know how I get on.

A little while ago Twinings sent me some Green Tea to try out and I’ve been enjoying drinking it over the past few weeks

Green_tea_2

{Disclaimer: Twinings asked me to review their product, but I have received no compensation other than the tea. My views are my own}

I first got into drinking green tea when I visited China, which is over six years ago now (time certainly flies!).

Beijing

In China green tea is definitely the drink of choice, with most people taking flasks of the stuff to work with them. They mostly use whole leaves to make their tea, which means that they can refill the water all day without losing too much of the flavour. I grew to love the refreshing qualities of green tea and started to prefer it over black tea and coffee. I also tried some whacky flavours that were local specialities, such as pea tea, which was made out of green tea leaves and dried peas. I loved it so much that I brought some back to the UK with me, but I couldn’t persuade anyone else to try it!

Twinings haven’t caught on to the potential of pea tea yet, but they have got an amazing range of other flavours. I was sent the Earl Grey to try. If I’m honest, Early Grey isn’t a flavour of tea that I usually go for because I find the bergamot oil a bit sickly. However, I have to say that I’m impressed with how subtle and balanced the flavours are and the bergamot doesn’t totally override the flavour of the tea. One disadvantage of green tea bags over loose-leaf is that you can’t refill your mug and it can get bitter if you leave the bag in too long. I found it was best to take the tea bag out after 30 seconds of so, which ensures that the drink remains light and refreshing.

This tea has been a very nice addition to my collection (my work drawer is mostly full of herbal teas and not a lot of work!) and I would definitely buy it again. I’m also curious to try some of the other interesting flavours – the fruity ones look particularly good. You can find out more about the range on the Twinings Facebook page.

Do you like green tea?

What’s the most unusual drink you’ve tried? (not restricted to tea)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2012 6:06 pm

    I am on a lifelong quest to make myself like herbal/green tea with no milk. It’s not going so well thus far! Although I have never tried Earl Grey, so perhaps I should give it a go, simply because I am the sweet-toothed fiend and if you describe bergamot oil as ‘sickly’ to your tastebuds, then it might be just right for mine. Thanks for the review!

    Strangest drink I’ve tried? Hmm, I’m pretty conventional with them to be honest, but I think the most disgusting was a spirulina smoothie (just spirulina, almond milk and Stevia. Ugh!)

    xxx

  2. April 12, 2012 7:16 pm

    Sarah, I very much like green tea. In fact I’m about to make tea for Ralph and myself and I think my choice will be green!

  3. April 12, 2012 9:24 pm

    My work only buys semi skimmed milk for people to have and I’m a bit too cheap to bring in my own dairy free milk so I drink a lot of green tea. Clipper do a Green tea with lemon that I quite like, although I find it makes me go to the toilet quite a lot! Definitely a natural diuretic. I also love lemon and ginger tea and I have one every morning as soon as I wake up. Pukka teas do an amazing sleepy time tea that really works, and I love the flavour of that too!

    I’m not sure the weirdest thing I’ve drunk, probably a dirty pint random concotion at University!

  4. runningcupcake permalink
    April 13, 2012 8:14 am

    I LOVE Earl Grey tea 🙂 I don’t brew it for very long though, but I find it very refreshing.
    I cannot get into green tea- I don’t mind it, but I don’t really like it that much, so would always choose another type of tea over that. Although the lemon one I have is nice.

  5. April 13, 2012 8:46 am

    Hope your run went ok last night! I love Earl grey tea and I was sent that blend to try as well, I love it! I have so many teas to review at the moment I’m thinking of doing a vlog for them all. I can’t really think of anything that unusual although to most people in the UK I guess kombucha and my apple cider vinegar cocktails would be considered fairly unusual!

Leave a Reply

