Skip to content

Guess Who’s Back!

August 18, 2012
tags:

Hello! It’s been a while, a long while, but for some reason the urge to write a post has been building for the past few weeks until finally I have decided to put fingers to keyboard and blog.

I stepped away from blogging and commenting for a few months, but I’ve still been reading blogs regularly on my phone, so I feel that in a small way I have kept engaged. Reading some really good quality material from the community reminded me how much I enjoyed writing and missed it.

Earlier in the year blogging had become a chore, something that I rushed home from my full-time job to do before rushing to for an evening run or exercise class. I felt that I had to post to a schedule and I was diligent about commenting on every post by my favourite bloggers. I like to think that I’m quite a chilled out and relaxed person, but I also have a strong obsessive side that ruined the fun of it all.

I also started to become frustrated that I’m not very good at photography, and to be honest I don’t enjoy it that much. I felt the pressure to always post photos of my food or various random things in my life. I enjoy reading blogs with lots of photos, but I also like reading ones that are just words, so I don’t feel quite so ashamed about my photography confession.

That brings me to food. I love food, but I’m not a food blogger. I tried to be for a while, but it didn’t make me happy. I was inspired to start the blog in the first place because I wanted to develop a more “normal” relationship with food (whatever “normal” is, maybe a debate for another day), but it turned out that not posting for a while has helped even more. I’m happy with the way I eat now and feel like I’ve got a much healthier attitude.

Those last few paragraphs make it seem like there’s a lot of reasons not to blog, so why am I back? I miss sharing news and ideas with the community that other people in my life just nod and smile at. When I’m excited about a new running plan, down about a bad run, or enraged by a magazine article I think “I wish I could blog about that”. Of course I could have posted, but in my mind Every Day’s a Picnic was over.

Now I realise that there’s no reason why I can’t post when I feel like it, write about what I want to write about, and write a pile of words with no photos if I want to. This is an outlet for me to dump my random thoughts on the internet, no pressure. Of course, if someone out there reads it and says hello then that makes me happy too!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2012 10:50 am

    “Hello!” 😀

  2. August 18, 2012 2:04 pm

    Lovely to hear from you again! It sounds like you’ve found your own blogging groove – I think that’s what I love so much about blogs is that it is really up to you how you want to do it and what you want to write about and which ones you want to comment on – once you take that pressure off yourself anyway! Glad you are ok and doing well 🙂

  3. August 18, 2012 2:44 pm

    EXACTLY!!
    Welcome back xx

  4. Fifi permalink
    August 18, 2012 4:40 pm

    Welcome back!

  5. August 18, 2012 5:36 pm

    Nice to ‘see’ you back 🙂

    As you say, your blog is for you primarily, and I really hope that the blog is nothing but a positive outlet for you from now on.

    xxx

  6. runningcupcake permalink
    August 19, 2012 3:35 am

    Hello 🙂 I could not agree more- blog what you want I think and don’t worry if it does not fit in some sort of pigeon hole 🙂

  7. August 19, 2012 7:17 pm

    Great to see you pop up in my google reader again! Welcome back!

  8. August 20, 2012 11:37 am

    So very since to hear from you again Sarah!! I was quite excited when I saw you had commented on my blog, I could not wait to click over 🙂 I agree with your reasons to stop and then come back again… ultimately blogging comes down to something you chose to do that gives you pleasure, not anxiety or that takes up too much time!

  9. August 20, 2012 8:25 pm

    Welcome back! 🙂

  10. August 22, 2012 4:46 pm

    So excited to see that you have decided to come back to the world of blogging Sarah, it was lovely to have a new comment from you and it’s great to have an update!

    I completely understand how you felt about blogging, lately I’ve been neglecting mine a bit and it’s always important to remember that first and foremost you should blog for your own enjoyment. I’m really looking forward to reading your new posts and seeing what sort of shape your blog takes in the next couple of months 🙂

  11. August 26, 2012 11:58 am

    Hello! Glad you’re back 🙂
    Too right; blogging should be fun, not a chore. I always found your posts interesting and enjoyed reading them so don’t think they ever seemed just written for the sake of it… and you’re right; blogging when you want to and not when you don’t is the way to go x

  12. August 27, 2012 2:13 pm

    Welcome back! I needed to break from blogging too as I just didn’t know where I fitted in the blog world; am i a food blogger, healthy living blogger etc. Missed it though so I’m back to blogging about whatever I fancy (i.e. food) 🙂

  13. August 29, 2012 7:29 pm

    So glad you are back Sarah. I have missed reading your blog, I love this post and I think it’s great that you have found your blogging niche and feel comfortable with that. I’ve been too busy and haven’t had much time so have been updating sporadically lately, but I am trying to be more chilled about it too, and not try to post to a schedule or a certain number of times per week.

  14. August 30, 2012 10:37 pm

    Great to see you back in blogging world Sarah! Blogging should be fun, not a chore and this is something that we all need to remind ourselves now and then. It’s so easy to start putting pressure on ourselves to blog a certain amount of times a week or month. Blog whenever you feel the urge. I’ll always enjoy reading your posts 🙂

  15. September 2, 2012 11:34 am

    Sarah! So glad you’re back! I missed this because I was away. I’ve missed you!

Leave a Reply

