Skip to content

A Day Out in the Dales

September 2, 2012

One of the best things about living in Leeds is how close it is to the Yorkshire Dales. When I first moved here I joined a walking group and would go out with them nearly every weekend to explore and get my heart pumping with some hill walking. Then I injured my foot and couldn’t do any serious walking anymore. Now I don’t go nearly as much as I should considering that it’s so close. I tend to go away most weekends, and the ones that I spend in Leeds are usually spent relaxing.

Peter has come up to see me this weekend and the weather was actually half decent for a change, so we decided to head into Postman Pat country.

Postman Pat theme

We spent the first part of the day planning an exciting trip (more information to come if it all works out) and chasing around Bradford for a part for my toilet (Peter’s good at fixing broken things), so we didn’t get to Malham until after 3pm. You probably know me well enough by now to know that visiting a tearoom is a priority, so that had to happen before we even set out on a walk.

I had a huge and delicious Greek salad – a fantastic way to fuel a hike.

2012-09-01 15.16.41

Our original plan was to do the longer route up Gordale Scar to Malham Tarn and then back down via Malham Cove. I was a bit worried that we wouldn’t make it back before dark, but thought that we would probably make it if we walked briskly. When we got to Gordale Scar I chickened out though because the water was rushing down and it looked very scary, so we turned back and walked the shorter route to the Cove. It still took us two hours, although that included stopping for coffee and taking some pretty photos.

2012-09-01 17.29.25

2012-09-01 17.30.02

2012-09-01 17.46.19

2012-09-01 17.56.17

Yesterday was meant to be a rest day, so I was glad that we did the shorter walk in the end. Still, a walk in the Dales isn’t exactly easy, and my legs felt quite heavy. Even so, I was really pleased that we made the effort to get outdoors for the day and enjoy the last few weeks of summer.

Have a great week everyone!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. runningcupcake permalink
    September 2, 2012 6:02 pm

    That looks wonderful (and I agree about the Tea rooms- one reason why we got National Trust membership!)

  2. September 2, 2012 7:41 pm

    Good old Postman Pat, eh?

    That scenery looks like it would make for an amazing fell-type run. Although I’d have to put my big girl pants on to cross that flowing water!

    xxx

    • September 2, 2012 8:37 pm

      I actually went to Malham a few weeks ago on a navigation course with some fell runners. We were only walking, but it was tough! I’m not sure I’m ready for full-on fell running yet. I do like trail running though. Running through streams etc is good fun!

  3. September 2, 2012 9:56 pm

    Oh this looks lovely, your photos are beautiful! I’m with you on the tea rooms, I must find another little tea room for me to visit 🙂

    Looking forward to hearing more about the trip!

  4. September 3, 2012 5:33 am

    I was just saying to my dad this weekend that I’ve never been to Yorkshire and I’ve always wanted to see the Dales – it always reminds me of James Herriot and they’re so beautiful. I love the place names too!
    Lovely pictures, glad you had a good day 🙂

  5. September 3, 2012 8:44 am

    I keep forgetting about how lovely the Yorkshire Dales are, we have the Durham Dales right on our doorstep and should really make more of them! It looks so beautiful where you were 🙂

  6. September 3, 2012 12:23 pm

    Oh wow, what simply stunning pictures Sarah! I have never been to a tea room but I would adore too! Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  7. September 3, 2012 4:14 pm

    It all looks stunning! I have never been to Yorkshire, definitely need to change that!

  8. Rob permalink
    September 4, 2012 8:45 pm

    Best time of the day to go to malham – when it’s quietened down a bit!

    Being pedantic, but I think Postman Pat was ostensibly set in the lakes 😉

  9. September 8, 2012 8:55 am

    What beautiful pics! Years ago, when I lived in Nottingham and M lived in Leeds, we used to our little walking adventures in the Dales. It really is time that we took a trip back there and showed Lil’ L this stunning part of the country.

Leave a Reply

