Skip to content

Week Off Work

September 21, 2012

Happy Friday! This Friday is actually a little bitter-sweet for me because it’s the last day of my week off work, but at least I have the weekend to look forward to before returning to the office on Monday. It’s been a really relaxing week and I’ve been mostly recovering from the Great North Run. I’ve not really been sore at all, but I have been very tired and I’ve been in bed by 10pm most nights, which is a bit shameful considering I didn’t have to get up for work in the mornings.

I took Monday and Tuesday as total rest days, but since Wednesday I’ve been easing back into my normal exercise routine. On Wednesday I did Jillian Michels’ “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism”, which I love because it’s guaranteed to make me feel like I’ve had a proper workout.

I started Thursday morning with a 6 mile easy run. Thursday is usually when I do either a tempo workout or a long run, so 6 easy miles should have been a doddle. However, my legs were still tired from Sunday and it felt a little bit like running through treacle. A farmer did me a favour by sending his cows across the road just as I was approaching, so I did have 5 minutes rest about halfway through.

This morning I did an hour or so of yoga practice to stretch out my legs. I swear that my parents have the house heated to 100 degress, so it was almost like Bikram (I imagine … I’ve never tried it).

One of the benefits of staying with my parents for a few days is that I can go shopping in Chester with my Mum. My housemate is getting married in a few weeks, so I wanted to by a dress for that. I chose this one from Zara in the end:

Zara dress

It’s made from a really pretty material with a diamanté collar and I just fell in love with it.

The wedding is in October, so we could be very lucky and there will be an Indian summer, or it could be freezing! So, I bought a lovely winter coat from Kaliko.

Kaliko coat 

It’s probably the nicest coat I’ve ever had, so I’ve sworn to my Mum that I’m going to look after it and brush it regularly.

The most exciting thing was that I bought a pair of heels from Hotter.

Hotter shoes

Ok, the heel is tiny, but I haven’t had any sort of heel for over 18 months, since I broke my foot. Even though they are tiny I still felt like I was tottering around because I’m so unused to heels! Hotter do extra wide fitting shoes and they might not be the height of fashion, but I thought that they were quite stylish.

Have a great weekend everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2012 9:55 am

    Hmm – must get my outfit put together, though it will be simple and predominantly black, so I don’t stick out too much when I’m standing with the choir!

    • September 21, 2012 10:06 am

      As I typed the above, my new skirt arrived! Must try it on.

      I really like your outfit 🙂

  2. September 21, 2012 2:31 pm

    Well, I am no fashionista but even I can appreciate how lovely this outfit looks, not just the individual components but as a whole. Very sophisticated indeed!

    Great news that your body’s holding up well. I’ve been so tired recently, but I was before the race so I guess I can’t blame it on that. The rest of my body’s fine but I think that last downhill trashed my quads and shins because I didn’t relax when I ran down it like I usually. do. I was trying not to slip over!

  3. runningcupcake permalink
    September 21, 2012 4:10 pm

    That dress is so pretty- I love it! And the shoes are fab too- I only ever venture up to a kitten heel for really special occasions as I find heels so hard to walk in, so a low heel like that is ideal I think.
    Glad you are pretty recovered from the GNR too- I am sure I have read before that it takes approx 1 day per mile to recover from a race, so you are bound to feel a little tired over the next week, but 6 miles is impressive.

  4. September 23, 2012 7:53 pm

    Beautiful outfit. Super stylish! You’re going to look stunning!

Leave a Reply

