Skip to content

Rays of Sunshine

September 24, 2012

Hello and welcome to a new week! I hope that everyone had a good weekend. Sunday was very rainy, but there were a few rays of sunshine on Saturday.

2012-09-22 16.26.27

2012-09-22 16.26.02

I was in Cambridge over the weekend and Saturday was one of those days when I had no expectations of doing anything exciting, but it turned out to be busy and very enjoyable. We ended up spending the day with some friends of Peter’s and went punting. I’ve been punting many times, but I’m the lazy type who likes to sit back and enjoy the scenery. Luckily Peter and his friends are really good at it. About halfway through I decided that some chilled white wine would just round off the experience, so Peter jumped out and bought some.

Here he is multi-tasking!

2012-09-22 17.37.39

In the evening we had a long slow meal at an Algerian restaurant. It was lovely food, but I’ve eaten out so much this week that I’m looking forward to some simple home-cooked meals when I’m back in my normal routine next week. I also enjoyed a few glasses of red wine over dinner.

I think that wine contributed to a no-so-great run on Sunday morning. I set out to do a 7 mile run with 4 tempo miles somewhere in the middle. The warm-up and first tempo mile were ok, but I felt like I needed to stop part way through the second tempo mile. Once I stopped I felt really woozy. I’m a bit of a fainter and didn’t want the indignity of passing out at the side of the road, so I paced up and down until the feeling subsided.

I made the decision to respect my body, the fact that I’m probably still recovering from the Great North Run, and that I ate a heavy meal and drank some wine the night before. Instead of carrying on with the plan I took the 5 mile route back and interspersed some easy running with plenty of walking breaks.

I felt more or less fine when I got home. I was glad that I didn’t push myself and happy that I got some fresh air to start the day. Over the past few weeks I haven’t been eating smartly. I’ve been eating a balanced diet, but I’ve been doing silly things like eating pizza the night before the Great North Run and drinking when I know I’ve got a training run in the morning. It’s not a big deal, but in the few weeks up to Bridlington half marathon I want to get back to basics and screw my head back on when it comes to making the right choices.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 4:56 pm

    I like the photographs! 😀

  2. September 24, 2012 9:44 pm

    Looks like a wonderful day. At least when you make mistakes you can learn from them and remember it for next time. I think realising when a run is not a good idea is also important- no point slogging on for a couple more miles if they will make you worse off in the end,

  3. September 25, 2012 6:08 am

    I bet your body is still recovering from the GNR and that it was sensible to do what you did… it looks like you had a great day and the pictures are gorgeous, I love the top one especially 🙂

  4. September 25, 2012 6:03 pm

    I love Cambridge, it’s so pretty!

  5. September 26, 2012 2:02 am

    Oh wow love the photographs, so beautiful! I think it’s sensible and smart what you did here.. challenging in a way, but so good for you in the end!

  6. September 26, 2012 4:02 pm

    Sounds like a lovely day! I wish I’d known you were in Cambridge, glad you had a nice time though 🙂

    I understand that you want to go back to basics for your running and your eating, you know what your body needs and I’m sure you’ll make the right decisions for you!

  7. Errign permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:06 pm

    I love getting back to basics sometimes – I feel so refreshed and calm when I am making the best exercise and eating choices for my body.

  8. October 7, 2012 9:11 am

    What a beautiful weekend! It’s wonderful this time of year when the sun’s shining. Yesterday was stunning! My hubbie’s doing a 100 mile bike race in the New Forest today so I’m just hoping the rain holds off for a little longer!

Leave a Reply

