Skip to content

I’ve Had a Revelation

September 27, 2012

I speak to one of my parents most days, usually while I’m on my lunchtime walk. Today the conversation started off on quite an exciting note:

“I’ve had a revelation” I said

However, my Mum knows me and my tendency towards exaggeration to know that the next sentence would probably be a let-down.

“All these years I thought that I hated liquorice, but it turns out that maybe I was wrong” I continued.

Ever since I was little I couldn’t even be in the same room as someone eating a Liquorice Allsort (you know how to get rid of me quickly now!), but I’ve long been frustrated that lots of delicious-sounding herbal teas contain liquorice root. I mentioned this to Maria when we met up on the day before the Great North Run and she assured me that the liquorice root didn’t taste of liquorice sweets, but made the tea lovely and sweet.

By coincidence, the week after I tried some Aveda liquorice and peppermint tea at their counter in Debenhams and loved it and couldn’t detect even a hint of the horrid flavour I detest. I took the plunge earlier in the week at bought some of the Teapigs version and I’m now officially addicted.

The lovely Maria sent me a couple of other teas with liquorice root to try, along with these yummy cakes as a thank you for sponsoring her.

2012-09-26 17.44.59

They are vegan pumpkin spice cakes and peanut butter crispy squares. Before I took this photo one of the crispy squares made it’s way into my mouth. I’ve now had a chance to taste both and they are yummy! Maria sent me the recipes so that I can try them out myself once I’ve finished these ones (which won’t take very long!)

One fact that Maria mentioned was that a lot of liquorice sweets are flavoured with aniseed. I know that I *really* hate aniseed, so maybe I’ve been giving liquorice a bad rep that it didn’t deserve?

Have you ever realised that you like a food that you thought that you hated?

I also thought that I hated coconut, but I use it a lot now. I still hate Bounty bars though.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. runningcupcake permalink
    September 27, 2012 4:52 pm

    Glad you like it! I like licorice sweets, but for ages I didn’t try the tea because I thought an aniseed flavour tea would be weird and strong- took me a while to realise it is used as a sweetener!
    There are loads of foods I like now that I never used to like- hummus was one, and that is because when I was little, I got out some (what I thought was honey) to have on toast, and it tasted not like honey at all! Turned out it was hummus, but because the flavour was not what I expected, it put me off for years and years. Plus sometimes they are a bit too garlicky. Avocados are another- again I think I tried them when I was little, and thought they would be sweet, and it was only when I realised that guacamole is made from them that I thought I might like them!
    I like coconut, but I don’t like the little bounty bars- I don’t think they taste right- maybe too sweet or something?

  2. September 27, 2012 5:21 pm

    Ugh, I am with you on the licorice – it absolutely grosses me out to the point of feeling quite sick even thinking about it. I can’t stand aniseed or fennel, and I’ve been put off those teas by the mention of licorice as well.

    Maria is just the best baker – those pumpkin spice cakes are to DIE for. I vote she goes on the Great British Bake-Off thingy that I always seem to miss when it’s on TV!

    Hmm, I think broccoli was the main food I hated as a kid but love now. Too bad my IBS isn’t on board with that one.

    xxx

  3. September 27, 2012 6:58 pm

    Those cakes look wonderful. I used to think that I hated custard but I actually quite like it. It always has to be the M&S version though it’s like melted vanilla ice cream, I sound like such a snob! ha!

  4. September 27, 2012 8:22 pm

    I’ve always thought I wouldn’t like liquorice tea as the flavour would be too overpowering, but I am going to seek some out this weekend!

  5. September 28, 2012 1:32 pm

    I love licorice tea, it’s amazing! Definitely my favourite type! My current fave is licorice and peppermint, so good! I used to think that I hated pears, but now I absolutely love them!

  6. September 29, 2012 4:28 pm

    😉 I eat so many things I never used to I’ve lost count; spinach, mushrooms, ALL pulses, stinky cheese, olives, the list goes on and on ……….

  7. October 7, 2012 9:07 am

    Wow those cakes looks amazing! I’ll have to check out Maria’s website and see if I can find the recipes.
    I used to really dislike olives, but over the course of 3 years I tried them every now and then in an attempt to ‘train’ myself to like them. In the beginning I’d be grimacing as I tried to chew and swallow even one tiny olive. Now I love them! I remember Super Nanny saying that it can take up to 20 tries before a kid may like a certain food type. I guess that goes for adults too!

Leave a Reply

