Skip to content

Sunday Motivation

September 30, 2012

Hello! I hope that everyone is enjoying their weekend. I’m in Lincolnshire at the moment, and although it’s a bit chilly and breezy, so far it hasn’t rained. After the week we’ve had in the UK that really is something to be thankful for. My housemate is getting married next weekend, so I’ve got my fingers crossed that the weather is ok.

I went to London on Tuesday, which was the day after it rained very hard in Leeds. I was checking the news headlines at lunchtime and discovered that the beck at the bottom of my road was on flood alert – eek! Luckily there was no disaster to come home to, except for a massive slug that had made it’s way into the kitchen. Next door probably thought something very wrong had happened because I let out a huge shriek of shock and disgust.

Anyway … I’m obviously in a bit of a random mood today, so apologies for the stream-of-consciousness style post. I’ve been struggling a bit with my running motivation since the Great North Run a couple of weeks ago. My goal this year was to run under 1:53 at Bridlington Half Marathon. Well, I beat that at the GNR, and my motivation to better it in the near future has gone out of the window.

I’ve decided to take the pressure off myself by running without my Garmin and focusing on keeping my fitness so that I am able to finish a half marathon in three weeks without pushing myself and ending up not enjoying running.

This morning I wanted to run 10 miles, but I was dragging my heels. My aim was to get started at about 9am, but I didn’t drag myself out of bed until quite a bit later than that! Even though my legs felt fine, my lungs felt fine and I wasn’t that tired, I was in that sort of negative frame of mind where I wanted the run to be over about a minute after I started.

I managed to distract myself enough with daydreams to get through the first half, but I still wasn’t exactly enjoying myself. I decided to cut the run short by two miles and as I was running through the local town I passed an elderly man on a mobility scooter. As I stepped out of his way he flashed me a huge grin and said “I wish that I was as fit as you”.

Those few words completely changed my mind-set in an instant. I should be grateful that I can run, an activity that I truly enjoy 95% of the time. I could get injured or become ill tomorrow, something that happens to nearly everyone at some point, and then I was be really disappointed that I couldn’t get out there and pound the pavements. There are plenty of people who aren’t mobile and struggle to get around, never mind run.

I ran the last two miles home with a smile on my face and from unpromising beginnings, it turned out to be an enjoyable run.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2012 4:20 pm

    Glad that your run ended up being enjoyable in the end, what a nice thing of that man to say! I know I struggled with motivation after a race but it sounds like running sans garmin is the right move to make sure you don’t get too sick and tired of it!

  2. September 30, 2012 5:38 pm

    I’m glad that comment perked you up 🙂 When people say anything like that to me it makes me feel worse (!) because I’m worried about keeping up the pressure/expectation (plus I usually go on some ramble about not being fit at all which is probably very annoying). I’m glad you can recognise that you are awesome! I admire anyone who trains as you do while juggling a full time job and responsibilities at home – I would never be able to do that, I am sure.

    I reckon you’ll surprise yourself at your Half – sometimes removing pressure and expectation produces amazing results.

    xxx

  3. runningcupcake permalink
    September 30, 2012 8:05 pm

    I think that being thankful for being able to do these things is so important- I think that is partly why I am loving running so much right now- after taking an enforced break, and being rather under proper health, I have been raring to go, and just relishing in the fact that I can do these things. Glad you ended up enjoying it- sometimes that sort of perspective is just what you need, or maybe not perspective, but a reminder.
    And ew to the slug!

  4. October 1, 2012 4:19 pm

    Love that little bit of inspiration! I always go through a bit of a downer after any race, and I definitely find it helps to go technology-less for a while and just appreciate how lucky we are to simply be able to run!

  5. October 2, 2012 3:11 pm

    I love that that simple comment inspired a more positive mindset and helped you to have a good run in the end! Sometimes we just need a little reminder or tiny shove to put us back on track and feeling good about things 🙂 I know that when I manage to get to the gym, instead of wanting it over, I appreciate it knowing there are many days each week when I can’t manage it at all!

Leave a Reply

