Skip to content

Things I Suck At

October 2, 2012

I came across this post format on Rachel’s blog and thought that it was a great idea. I like to keep things positive most of the time and I am an advocate of the power of positive thinking, but it’s therapeutic to get some of my flaws out there.

What’s perhaps telling is that I first drafted this post a few weeks ago and given some time to mull it over I’ve thought of more things that I suck at! When I think of yet another thing that I’m not particularly good at I don’t tend to be overly negative about it, but rather think of it as part of what makes me me. There are lots of opportunities for personal growth and development, but no-one is good at everything.

On blogs you only see one version of the truth, but no-one is perfect, and I am far from it! Maybe I can review these things and improve, or maybe I will be destined to always wear creased clothes, who knows …

1. Speaking on the phone

I loathe talking to people on the phone, which was probably why I hated the temporary job I had in a call centre a few years ago. The only people I really feel comfortable talking to are my parents and Peter. I think the main reason is that I’m worried that I’m going to be interrupting the person I’m phoning and they won’t want to talk to me. I know that’s irrational, but maybe I am just a little bit crazy.

2. Anything creative

At school I was always good at the more academic subjects, but I sucked at anything creative like art, textiles, woodwork etc. Once I messed up a hat that I was making so badly that my very kind teacher took it home to unpick it and sew it correctly for me – I was a bit of a lost cause.

I’m seeking some sort of redemption by learning to knit, but I haven’t got very far yet. I wish I was crafty. I look on jealously as my housemate is making all sorts of stuff for her wedding, but I would never have the competence or patience to do it.

3. Spatial awareness

I blame my astigmatism, but that’s probably a poor excuse. I can’t do any puzzles where you have to rearrange shapes or recognise patterns. I hate jigsaws with a passion for the same reason. My friends like to wind me up my doing them in front of me, so I have to escape to a darkened room.

4. Flexibility

I love yoga and there are all sorts of benefits that it has brought me over the past few years, but I have seen minimal improvement in my flexibility. I’m just not built that way. Sometimes I have to giggle at myself when I’m sat in a crumpled mess while everyone else is stretched out.

Of course there are bits that are more flexible than others, for example I enjoy forward bends and most twists. Back bends and anything involving hamstring flexibility are really tough for me. I also suck at balances, but I’m sure I can work on that.

5. Ironing

Most things don’t need to be ironed in my opinion. I’m only half ashamed to admit that if they do need ironing I take them home to my Mum. I’m 28 and she lives 80 miles away.

6. Living in the moment

I talked about this one in my meditation post, and it’s something that I’m actively working on.

7. Conflict

I will avoid any sort of conflict and very rarely get into arguments with anyone. Even as a teenager I didn’t really argue with my parents because it made me very uncomfortable. At the most there was an occasional door-slam. When I do get into disagreements I tend to get emotional rather than angry and I just want to run away. I suspect that Peter finds this a bit irritating and I can be passive aggressive sometimes.

Again, this is something I’m working on, so that if I’m genuinely not happy with something and it’s worth speaking up I will try to say something before I allow emotion and resentment to build up.

8. Organising events

I prefer being the guest rather than the host, because I find organising events very stressful and uncomfortable. What if nobody comes? What if it’s a disaster? I was volunteered to organise a networking event at work and it’s going ok, but I can’t say that I’m enjoying it.

Can you relate to any of these?

What do you suck at? (not too much self-flagellation though – you’re all awesome!)

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 4:06 pm

    Conflict, I don’t do that either; hate it! oh and ironing, only thing I iron is the kids school shirts ….. and only if they REALLY it 😉

  2. runningcupcake permalink
    October 2, 2012 4:46 pm

    Oh yes, I never iron! I hang my clothes up flat- my opinion is that by the time I have driven to work things are crumpled anyway, so why bother for the walk to the car?! I also hate speaking on the phone- even ringing up to speak to the plumber or something- like you I hate to feel I am interrupting (love texts/ emails because they get replied to when the person is free), plus I find it hard to speak to people when I cannot see their faces. It is something I have to get better at really!
    And I am very inflexible- I did start yoga at home and it helped a bit, but I can’t touch my toes with straight legs- my hamstrings are just so tight, so I do feel a bit self conscious during class cool-downs and things.

    • October 3, 2012 6:05 pm

      I’ve learned to love yoga without being flexible. There are so many good things about it and I might be even more stiff if I didn’t do it!

  3. October 2, 2012 4:51 pm

    Yes to a lot of these haha esp speaking on the phone, wishing I was crafty & not ironing!! 🙂

  4. October 2, 2012 5:02 pm

    Right, let’s get started then *cracks knuckles*…

    Haha, no seriously, this post was made for me. I actually share quite a few of your foibles (and perhaps spelling is not my strong point…), namely ironing (I don’t – good job I live in sports gear), conflict (oh my God, I will literally cry and let people kick me in the face before I will argue with them or shout – I let everyone walk all over me), talking on the phone (I won’t unless it’s my Mum or Dad – it’s bordering on a phobia) and living in the moment. I am also terrible at managing my emotions, being rational, the opposite stretches to you (love back bendy things and balances, hate twists and forward bends), crow pose (ARGH), cycling, swimming and the biggie for me: not eating my feelings. Oh, and I wish I wasn’t so jealous, bitter and resentful of people smaller/faster/more talented than me.

    That was so theraputic: I could’ve gone on forever!

    • October 3, 2012 6:04 pm

      It’s interesting that your yoga preferences are so different from mine – it just shows that everyone is different.

  5. October 2, 2012 6:50 pm

    I can identify with a lot here, especially the crafty – I’ve taught myself as an adult to crochet and embroider but my work is basic and I can’t create my own patterns or anything similar.
    I also don’t like conflict very much and it took some counselling over something else to help me see how to be assertive without getting upset or feeling aggressive. I think it’s good up to our weaknesses and understand ourselves, as long as we don’t beat ourselves up either! Thanks for sharing this honest post!

    • October 3, 2012 6:03 pm

      The idea definitely wasn’t to beat myself up, as I said my flaws are all part of my personality. I really would love to be more crafty though.

  6. October 2, 2012 6:52 pm

    I suck at talking on the phone too – I really hate it. I like to be able to see people’s reactions.

  7. October 2, 2012 11:02 pm

    I never iron unless its really necessary, and nine out of ten times I’ll just pick something else to wear instead. I don’t do conflict either, and usually allow the resentment to build up, which is something I need to work on!

  8. October 3, 2012 8:51 am

    Fun idea for a post as long as you are not too hard on yourself, but I do think its a good thing to know your weaknesses and be ok with them, no one is perfect by a long shot! I suck at spelling, if it wasn’t for spell check I’d be in serious trouble. I also suck at my finances although I am working really hard on getting better at it! I’m actually not to bad at conflict but in a positive sense – not many people see conflict as positive but it depends on the situation and how you define conflict of course!

    • October 3, 2012 6:00 pm

      I’m definitely getting better at conflict – it’s part of my job to a certain extent. However, it’s not something I’m naturally good at managing, especially in my personal life.

  9. October 3, 2012 4:08 pm

    What an interesting post. Ironing isn’t my most favourite chore. I’m an iron as needed kind of girl.

Leave a Reply

