Skip to content

Pleasure and Pain

October 15, 2012

I have to admit that at this precise moment I don’t feel my personal best. I’m lolling on the sofa surrounded by a mountain of tissues and feeling sorry for myself. Yes I have man flu a cold. There’s lots of different advice on whether it’s a good idea to exercise when you have a cold, but I tend to just go with my gut feeling and do what feels good without being hard on myself. Today I’ve felt really rough, so have taken a sick day from work,which is a very rare occurrence for me. I’m taking complete rest in the hope that I will feel better quicker and will be able to do some gentle exercise in the next day or so. It’s Bridlington Half Marathon on Sunday, so I definitely want to be right for then.

Despite starting this week incapacitated, last week was a good one when it comes to the Virgin Active #beyourpersonalbest challenge.

Monday – Level 1, 30 Day Shred DVD; Yoga class

Tuesday – running club (speed work)

Wednesday – Virgin Active gym programme

Thursday – rest

Friday – 3 mile run; Virgin Active gym programme

Saturday – Zumba

Sunday – 6 mile run/walk; Level 1, 30 Day Shred DVD

So, I did the gym programme that Adam designed for me twice last week and it went really well. It’s tough, which is good. In the past I’ve been disappointed that gym programmes haven’t been challenging enough. The idea is that they help to improve your fitness and strength, if that is your goal. The programme is for four weeks, but if it gets too easy or I get bored before then I can work with Adam to change it.

I’m rarely in Leeds at the weekend, but I found myself at a loose end on Saturday morning, so I decided to try out Zumba. I know that Zumba is amazingly popular, but it’s the first time that I’ve ever been to a class. It was a lot of fun and the class whizzed by, probably because I was so busy concentrating on not messing the steps up completely. I think I will probably get better with practice, but at the moment my booty shake leaves a lot to be desired!

My motivation has been challenged a couple of times though. On Friday I wanted to go to the gym after work, so I packed my kit and left it by the front door so that I wouldn’t forget it. Only I must have walked right over it because I did forget it! I had a busy day at work and finished later than I normally do. I could have easily given up on the gym, but instead I decided to to get changed and jog back into town.

On Sunday I made one of the basic running errors, I was very poorly dressed. I didn’t realise how cold it was outside until I’d been running 10 minutes or so and I wasn’t warming up.There was frost on the ground and I had capris and a thin jacket on, with no gloves or hat. The faster I ran the colder I got from the wind chill. In the end I power walked at least a mile. When I got home my arms were numb, so I did a fitness DVD to wake them up again!

The other thing I did this week was get a sports’ massage. I’ve wanted one for ages, but always thought it was a luxury. I was so tight on Wednesday that I rang up and made an appointment with a guy recommended by a running club mate. I have never given birth, so I can honestly say that it was the most painful thing I have ever done. I think that’s because my legs are super, super tight. The therapist was surprised that I was able to run at all.

Despite the pain, I can feel the benefits already and I’m going back for more this week! The one major thing that I took away from the appointment is that I need to warm-up better. I’ve started moving gently for 5-10 minutes to warm-up followed by dynamic stretching. We don’t do that at running club, so I’ll have to make time beforehand to make sure I’m loose and limber.

Have you tried any new activities or exercise classes lately?

Have you had a sports’ massage before?

Are you good at warming-up and cooling-down?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2012 6:02 pm

    Blimey that sounds like a very painful massage! I’ve had them before and I think if I was running I’d be trying to have them as often as I could afford to save on injuries. Hope you start feeling better soon!

  2. October 15, 2012 6:10 pm

    Oh Sarah I feel for you! I had several sports massages to try and help with my niggling injury – they brought tears to my eyes, but I found they did help to loosen me up!
    I’d love to try Zumba too, but I am SO unco-ordinated I really don’t know if I could manage it.

  3. October 15, 2012 7:17 pm

    Oh poor you! Yes I had some sports massages last year when I was training for the marathon, and boy did they hurt! I felt at times like she was tearing my muscles apart! Ouch! Although I think I might need to go because I am getting pain in my shoulder an awful lot now- it was a tight spot before and it is coming back again.
    Zumba sounds like my worst nightmare- I am rubbish at dancing anyway- I quite like my aerobic class as the instructor goes through each move step by step, plus we do other things, not just the dance stuff.
    And I am terrible at warming up! Before I go out in the cold I do the aerobics warm up in the living room- side steps, jogging on the spot, things like that, because otherwise my legs can go a bit numb!
    Hope you feel better soon.

  4. October 15, 2012 10:34 pm

    I am definitely getting a sports massage after my marathon. Sounds painful though! Hope you feel better 🙂

  5. October 17, 2012 6:36 am

    Not good, hope you feel better soon! I think you’re right about exercise when you’re ill; if you feel you can, do it but if not, listen to your body.
    It sounds like the challenge is going well and I’m glad the massage helps… I’ve done zumba too and felt exactly like that but have never managed to get back to another one… that and power-hooping are the most enjoyable exercise classes I’ve done 🙂

  6. October 17, 2012 10:09 am

    I sympathise and empathise completely on the sports massage. I’ve been having them regularly for a few months on my lower back – sadly to no avail as I’m now on the waiting list for an MRI scan but that’s another story.

    Anyhow – they are amazing so long as you have someone who knows what they’re doing 🙂

    And I know about frozen extremities! Went out on my bike on Sunday afternoon – my feet were white with cold when I got home. Ow!

  7. October 17, 2012 10:55 am

    I hope you feel better soon! I’ve never ad a sports massage before but I have heard that they can be very painful.

  8. October 18, 2012 9:37 pm

    Oh goodness I know exactly what you are talking about with these massages, they can be truly awful! Yet beneficial in the end! I have had ones before where I almosttt had to say something but i ended up gritting my teeth and finding my strength to keep it quiet lol

Leave a Reply

