Skip to content

You Know It’s Going To Be One Of Those Days When …

October 25, 2012

I’ve finished work for 11 whole working days (imagine me dancing round the room like some kind of maniac). Despite my giddy happiness, this morning did not start out well. First of all, the front door handle snapped off in my hand – doh! It took me a couple of minutes to work out that I should probably go out of the back door, so I turned up to the bus stop bang on time, unfortunately this is the one morning the bus driver decides to be early. This bus is always five minutes late – grr!

I decided to walk up to the next bus stop to give myself something to do in the 25 minutes until the next bus was due. When that bus came it was full so the driver didn’t stop – bugger! By this time I was getting stressed so I decided not to waste more time and just walked to work. It’s about four miles and I normally don’t walk it because a) it takes time, and b) I turn up to work hot and sweaty with my hair like a bird’s nest. Today I didn’t care, I just needed to take out my frustration on the pavement.

By the time I got to work I was much calmer and also pleased that I got my daily exercise in first thing. I was thinking of going to the gym tonight, but I really need to pack and walking fits in better with my regime of taking it easy for a few weeks.

My legs are actually much better and I don’t think I’ve done anything serious. My IT band is very tight, but rest, stretching and more massage will hopefully improve that. I’ve had some foot pain too, so I’ve been wearing my trainers non-stop, damaging my persona of a stylish career woman (in my dreams … the stylish bit anyway). Both my legs and my feet stood up well to the walking, so I’m optimistic.

Last night I headed to the gym to do my first Body Balance class. It’s another Les Mills class, like Cambat, Pump and Attack. I really enjoyed it, but it wasn’t quite like I expected. It was much faster than my usual yoga class, which is ashtanga-inspired. Yet, in some ways it was less challenging. In my regular yoga class we hold the poses for longer which really leaves me feeling stretched and worked out. I also wasn’t sure about it being choreographed to music because it took my mind off my breathing, which for me is one of the main benefits of yoga. The pilates sections were super-challenging though. I guess it’s because I don’t do pilates very much – my abs were sore afterwards! I will definitely do it again as an enjoyable fitness class, but it won’t replace yoga.

So, this is my last post for two weeks – see you when I get back (expect lots of photos for a change).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2012 5:55 pm

    Have a good couple of weeks and enjoy your time off!

  2. October 25, 2012 7:29 pm

    Shame about Body Balance – the things you dislike about it are the very reasons I prefer it to yoga! Holding poses for ages doesn’t personally challenge me and I find it really boring just breathing with no music – must be my terrible attention span again.

    I hope tomorrow is a much better day!

    xxx

  3. October 25, 2012 8:00 pm

    Enjoy your break!

  4. October 26, 2012 6:24 am

    Have a wonderful time, I am looking forward to the photos 🙂

  5. October 27, 2012 8:33 am

    Have a fantastic time in the USA you lucky thing! What a beautiful time of year to visit. Can’t wait to see the pics on your return 🙂 xx

  6. October 28, 2012 8:49 am

    Sarah, I’ve been having some trouble getting on some blogs lately and yours is one. It’s from my end I’m sure! Hope you truly enjoy your time off. So glad you were able to turn around the not so good start to your day! Have fun!!

  7. October 30, 2012 6:54 am

    Urgh, I know how days like that feel! Hope you’re having a brilliant time x

  8. November 15, 2012 6:50 pm

    Hope you’re having a fantastic time! I can’t wait to see all of the photos 🙂 Enjoy the break – you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

