Skip to content

Getting Funky

November 15, 2012

Hello – I’m back! Actually I’ve been back from my holidays since Sunday, but with jet lag and trying to settle back into normal life I haven’t got around to posting since. I had a fabulous time and I can’t wait to write more about it, but Peter has the camera with most of my photos on it, so that will have to wait until next week.

Part of getting back into normal life has been launching myself back into some sort of fitness routine. Before I left for America I was feeling sore and broken following Bridlington Half Marathon. The holiday was a perfect chance to try to rest and recuperate a little bit. I took loads of running gear with me, but none of it even made it out of the suitcase. I always fool myself that I’m going to exercise on holiday, but it rarely happens.

I did walk a ton though. I love seeing a place on foot and I ended most days with tired feet and aching legs. I especially walked a lot while I was in Chicago as there was so much to explore. I swear I had full-on DOMS the next day.

Now I don’t hurt in quite the same way as a couple of weeks ago, but I’m still sore and very tight, especially in my legs. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but somehow I feel injured, or at the very least I have niggles. It’s my IT bands, feet (under my toes, heels and in the arches) and calves mainly that feel rough. That means that I’ve been taking it quite cautiously for the past week and I certainly haven’t felt up to a full-on session with my running club. I still love to move and I get grouchy if I don’t do some sort of exercise, but I’ve been taking it slow.

Monday – yoga class

Tuesday – workout at gym, including 5k on treadmill

Wednesday – 30 mins yoga, sports massage

Thursday – 20 mins yoga, Urban Funk

Friday (planned) – yoga, workout at gym

Saturday (planned) – rest

Sunday (planned) – short-ish run (depending on how I feel)

I’ve been trying to get into the habit of doing some yoga every morning to ease my aches and pains and work on my flexibility which seems at an all time low at the moment (I swear that I used to be able to touch my toes!)

This evening I decided to try Urban Funk at my Virgin Active gym. I’m privileged to have a trial membership their as part of their #beyourpersonalbest campaign, so I want to try as many new classes as I can. Urban Funk is inspired by hip-hop moves and the class was based on learning a short routine that we danced in full a few times at the end. It perhaps wasn’t a class that I would have normally chosen, but I thought that it would be fairly low impact which is just what I need in my slightly fragile state at the moment. I was especially sore and fragile after last night’s sports massage, but this class worked wonders at loosening me up again.

As well as the physical benefits, Urban Funk lifted my soul. I found it much easier to follow than Zumba (I am challenged in the booty-shaking department), although my body-popping still needs some work. I love hip-hop and R&B to dance to (but not necessarily to listen to if that makes sense) and this class reminded me of all the good times I had in an R&B club when I was at uni. I loved the teacher as well, she made it easy to understand the moves without shouting at us, in fact she hardly spoke at all apart from singing and expressing her love for a particular tune. I might even go back next week at the risk of not trying a different class because it feels like just what I need at the moment.

As for running … I’m easing myself back into it and testing out my body. I really don’t want to mess it up more than it already is. I’ll see how it goes, but it might be a case of keeping my fitness ticking over during the winter before training for a spring half marathon (I’m already registered for Chester)

Have a great weekend everyone and stay funky Smile

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2012 7:25 am

    Glad you had a great holiday- looking forward to your pictures 🙂 We always walk loads on holiday too- more than we realise at the time often, until the evening when we are exhausted!
    Good idea to be careful with your foot though.

  2. November 16, 2012 8:17 am

    It great to hear that you had a fab holiday. I’ve been trying to get into the workout groove after the wedding too and have been taking it slow.

  3. November 16, 2012 9:41 pm

    Welcome back! It’s great to hear that you had such a fun time in the US 🙂 I look forward to seeing some of your favourite pics.
    Have a great weekend! xx

  4. November 17, 2012 8:57 pm

    Glad you had a good trip, can’t wait to hear about it! I’m feeling a little broken myself at the minute after the marathon, must try and do some more yoga and get a sports massage too!

  5. November 23, 2012 6:57 am

    Glad you had a good time, look forward to seeing photos, and I’m sure it was right not to do any running on holiday, you probably needed a break! Hope everything feels more normal soon…
    The urban funk dancing sounds brilliant – and I agree, I like dancing to R&B but not listening to it, at all!

Leave a Reply

