Skip to content

First Check-in of the Year

January 26, 2013

Urm … hello, Happy New Year …

Yes, I know it’s the 26th January and memories of sherry and mince pies have long faded into the distance, but it’s the first time that I’ve checked in during 2013. As usual, I’ve been avidly reading my favourite blogs, but writing a post myself hasn’t been high on my list of priorities. However, whenever I take a break from inhabiting this little piece of cyberspace I eventually feel the pull back towards writing and interacting with the community.

One reason that I’ve avoided posting is that I feel that my life and my focus have changed quite a lot in the past few months, especially in regards to my health and how that’s impacted on my lifestyle. At the end of last year I wrote about discovering that I have a vitamin B12 deficiency and I was hopeful that with regular injections I would start to feel back to normal.

In many respects I do feel better, but not quite firing on all cylinders. I feel exhausted less frequently, which is good news, but I still have days where I feel like gravity is pulling me forcibly into a heap on the ground and everything is fuzzy and doesn’t quite make sense. I also have occasional recurrence of classic B12 deficiency symptoms like tinnitus, heart palpitations and pins and needles.

I’m hopeful that as time goes on these symptoms will become less and less frequent and I’ll feel more like my sparky bright self of a few years ago. Sometime I feel like I’m 28, going on 50, which is not helped by the pesky grey hairs I found over Christmas (another annoying symptom of deficiency)

All of this has made me reassess my priorities, and at the moment that means being healthy enough to cultivate my relationships, make a contribution at work and make the most of my free time. As a result, I’ve dramatically cut down on exercise. I love working out and in many ways I miss the endorphin rush and the sense of satisfaction that comes with a great run or circuits class, but I don’t believe that’s what’s best for me right now. Intense exercise increases B12 requirements and leaves me feeling like I need to vegetate on the sofa for a long time afterwards.

My main forms of exercise have been yoga and walking. Yoga practice has become important to me, both to build strength and to relax and let go of anxiety. I get on my mat most weekday mornings and I hope to develop my practice further over the next year. I’ve always loved walking and have been out for at least half an hour each day. Once the snow and ice have finally melted I want to do even more walking and take the opportunity to enjoy the countryside.

I would like to build up the amount of exercise I do and I would love to run again soon. However, I doubt that I’ll be doing as much as I have been in recent years. I want to exercise for health and enjoyment rather than chasing an ideal of fitness. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy running long distances – I really did, but the overall impact on my life isn’t worth it. I just want to be able to approach every morning with energy and verve.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. runningcupcake permalink
    January 26, 2013 2:37 pm

    Happy New Year to you too 🙂
    I think there is no point in exhausting yourself when you don’t need to- so finding those types of exercises that fit with you is so important. Do you think you will go back to your running club? Just wondering really.

    • January 26, 2013 8:06 pm

      I miss the running club, so yes I would like to go back at some point. There are different ability groups and I could go out with the new runners who do 3-4 miles, although pretty slow. I think I’ll try a few runs on my own first to see where I’m at.

  2. January 27, 2013 8:51 am

    Happy New Year! It’s great to have an update on your goings on. I agree with Maria, there is no point pushing yourself and trying to fit everything in. I’ve very much gone through the same thing as you and my whole approach to exercise has changed. I’m much mire relaxed about it and only do exercises that I enjoy. Yoga and strength make me so happy right now.

    • January 27, 2013 11:19 am

      I think that for the majority of people exercise should support a healthy and happy life, not become it. Obviously there are professionals (athletes, trainers etc.) and very keen amateurs, but I’m not one of them, so my priorities are different.

  3. January 27, 2013 3:04 pm

    Happy New Year! I think rebalancing exercise seems to be quite a theme at the moment. I’ve definitely reevaluated the role of exercise in my life and I’m feeling all the better for it. Hope that you start to feel back to 100% soon!

    • January 27, 2013 3:21 pm

      It’s great that you’re feeling better 🙂 It does seem like a theme, but it’s been good to read about others who are healthy without going ott with exercise

  4. January 28, 2013 2:32 pm

    Happy New Year. Great to hear from you again. Obviously there is no point exercising lots if it ultimately affects your enjoyment of life, it looks like exercising moderately works well for you. I hope your B12 levels get better: is it something that can take awhile to build up?

    • January 29, 2013 5:38 pm

      Thank you! I think it can take a while to build up and it can cause all sorts of other vitamin/mineral imbalances that can take a while to sort out.

  5. January 28, 2013 11:05 pm

    Happy New Year 😛 Glad to hear things are improving for you, hope you feel back to yourself soon! I think walking and yoga are definitely great things to be doing!

    • January 29, 2013 8:10 am

      Thanks Lauren! I love both yoga & walking at the moment – totally different from more intense exercise, but I feel it doing me good 🙂

Leave a Reply

