Skip to content

Sitting On Your Backside Is Bad For Your Health

April 27, 2011

… And apparently it doesn’t matter if you also exercise, if you have a sedentary job you have a higher risk of several serious diseases like bowel cancer and heart disease. Sucks huh?! My chosen career is most definitely desk-bound and I don’t expect to change anytime soon. I had an active job in retail management for a few years, but I hated that and I’m never going back.

My mostly sedentary lifestyle is already affecting my health. When I returned to the chiropractor last week he was pleased with the progress I’d made with my IT band and my back, but he wasn’t very happy with my pelvis, which is sore and stiff due to me sitting down most of the time.

I think exercising for an hour a day must be better than being a complete couch potato, but articles I’ve read lately suggest that a sedentary job is still a major risk factor. So, a major goal of mine, if only to improve my pelvic soreness, is to take regular breaks from sitting down. I’ve been taking little circuits of my building every hour or so with lots of trips to the loo (not a problem when you drink as much as I do!) and tea-making expeditions.

I made progress towards my goal this evening by going shopping! I bought lots of things I don’t really need like magazines, a soap bag, miniature shampoo for my trip to Edinburgh and socks (actually I really need socks!!). I had a healthy balanced dinner (ahem) – a giant tub of vanilla frozen yoghurt and granola. I was REALLY looking forward to their natural variety, but that machine exploded five minutes before I arrived. Vanilla was good as long as I try not to think about the sugar content Smile

I also had my nails done. I had a “ready-to-go manicure” using varnish that dries under UV light and is hard straight away. It’s soooo convenient – usually when I have a manicure I have to have someone with me to open doors, feed me, generally treat me like a baby.

27Apr11

Not the best photo, but you can see the cool purple colour, which will go really well with some of the clothes I bought at the weekend.

I can sometimes be so focused on fitness and maintaining a healthy diet that I can forget about other ways to do nice things for myself. A manicure was a real treat and not that expensive in the scheme of things, and I resolve to have them more often. I’m inspired to overhaul my spring/summer wardrobe and I’ve started enjoying wandering around the shops again after a few months of not being bothered. I’ve also managed to maintain a skincare routine for a month now (some sort of record) and although I still get a few spots I can definitely see the improvement. I think taking the focus off diet by being kind to yourself in other ways can be really positive.

Are you mostly sedentary? Are you aware of the potential health risks?

What do you do to be kind to yourself?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 7:57 pm

    That manicure sounds great, I don’t offen bother painting my finger nails as they tend to chip within 5 minutes! I have a desk job but I didn’t realise that there was research to suggest that those health risks are in place even when you are other wise active. Personally it doesn’t worry me in the slightest as I know I eat well and exercise – I think its more the people who have desk jobs combined with unhealthier lifestyles that are at the most risk. I think the biggest issue with desk jobs is more the problems with bad backs and what not – I’m the same as you though, my huge consumption of tea has me to the loo often enough!

  2. April 27, 2011 8:00 pm

    Love your nail colour! I’m the same as Laura, I rarely paint my nails as they chip too fast!

  3. April 27, 2011 9:05 pm

    Your nails look fantastic :-). I am very bad at looking after myself, if I remember to file my nails weekly I’m doing well.
    I think I balance sedentary behind the desk with running around after the kids, I only spend 4 or 5 hours a day behind the desk.

  4. April 27, 2011 9:36 pm

    Glad you pampered yourself a bit, it’s easy to forget to!
    Have you thought about taking an exercise ball to work to sit on? I’m sure that would help 🙂

  5. April 28, 2011 4:48 am

    When I’m at home, I’m really sedentary! I work at a daycare, but when it’s slow, I just sit down. Now I’m more inspired to get up and move!

  6. DonnyFan permalink
    April 28, 2011 9:01 am

    I have an office based job which can sometimes see me sat at my desk for the full 10 hours of my shift. On those days in particular I try to make sure I get out for a brisk 30 minute walk (I keep an old pair of trainers at work) and find that really helps.

    I’m planning on a manicure next week – can’t wait!!!

    🙂 x

  7. April 28, 2011 4:23 pm

    I think my job is fairly active (primary teacher)- I do sit for some lessons, but also going out on break duty, teaching PE, getting resources from around the school etc. SO not as still as a desk job.
    I love that purple colour- so pretty.
    I like to be kind to myself by treating myself to a haircut- I used to go only once a year as I hated it so much (hairdressers making me have layers in my hair when it was so hard to look after), whereas now I have a lovely hairdresser so it is a treat.

  8. April 30, 2011 12:48 pm

    Oh gosh, I am definitely mostly sedentary, and really should follow our example and try and move around more. I can sit for hours at a time (often slouching too), and I know that it causes problems with my pelvis and glutes. Good reminder to sort that out, thanks Sarah!

Leave a comment